$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Sun Suites of Gulfport

2 stars
9145 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
91 reviews
Getaway

I had a excellent stay nice and clean and friendly staff See full review

  • Michelle 37
  • Mar 17, 2014
9/8-9/10

I enjoyed it all!! Great customer service, cleanliness, & it was an overall good stay!!! See full review

  • Ms.Richmond
  • Sep 11, 2012
Gulf Coast hotel with apartment-style living

Sun Suites, a leading economy lodging chain, features clean, convenient rooms specially designed for the extended-stay guest. Sun Suites Gulfport features 128 guestrooms, complete with apartment-size kitchens and comfortable living areas. Guests enjoy easy access to the interstate, airport, and nearby restaurants and shops.

Highlights
  • Rooms with kitchens and living areas
  • Convenient access to airport and interstate
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

All 128 rooms, equipped with either a queen bed or two double beds, feature a full kitchen with refrigerator and stovetop, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes, and utensils. Other amenities include free high-speed Internet access (wireless and dataport), cable television with free HBO, an alarm clock/radio, and personal voicemail.

Features

Coin-operated laundry adds to the extended-stay appeal of in-room kitchens. Pets up to 20 pounds are allowed (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gulfport-Biloxi International Airport (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Mobile Regional Airport (66.5 mi/109 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Beauvoir House (7.5 mi/12.3 km)
  • Gulfport Premium Outlets (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Gulfport Sportsplex (4 mi/6.6 km)
  • Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art (17.6 mi/28.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Suites of Gulfport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Sun Suites of Gulfport Rooms

1 King Bed Studio Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
Two Double Beds Suite
2 Doubles-Kitchen w Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee
Queen Suite
1 Queen-Kitchen Full Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee
Run of House
Run of House
1 Full Bed Studio No Smoking
Full bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 King Bed Studio No Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
King Suite
1 King-Kitchen Full Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Suites of Gulfport

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 91
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.8

31% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hattiesburg,ms
Dec 8, 2010

unbeatable place for the price

very nice rooms,clean,an had lots of room. the staff was very helpful an nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hit man
Business
Fort Bragg, NC, USA
Sep 29, 2011

Had a blast!

Stayed there for a weekend,it was great for the price nothing to complain about. The staff was nice and helpful I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Not even a mile from the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pass Christian, Ms.
May 21, 2011

Hell yeah

Everything was perfect. Couldn't ask for a nicer room for 60 bucks. No shampoo, but not a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Bridesmaid
Business
Birmingham, AL
Apr 4, 2010

Weekend Wedding

The hotel is Great! I was visiting for a weekend wedding, and the price fit my buget. The location is wonderful. It was quiet and the staff was extremely helpful and professional. The full kitchen was another amenity that helped save some money during my trip. The one negative thing was that the hotel is an extended stay, so they do not have daily cleaning services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anna-Luise
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 17, 2007

Maintenance an issue...

I chose Sun Suites Gulfport because of its proximity to the local airport. After arriving, I was advised by family members that it was not in an ideal part of town but should be relatively safe. Check-in was great - staff service was very good. When I returned that night to enter my room for the first time, a man I've never seen before came out of MY room...at which point I turned around, went back to the front desk and advised them there was someone else in my room. I was given another room on the dark side of the hotel, lower level. Upon entering, the door closed behind me and I was in total darkness. Ceiling light didn't work. Lamp in the corner flickered when I turned that on...fire waiting to happen so I turned it back off. The bedside lamp also didn't work. As I locked the door for the evening, I realized that the fold-over bolt on the door didn't work - the door had apparently been forced open from outside at some point and the hardware was ripped out of the door and just hanging. Thankfully, the deadbolt was operational. The room was clean, nice kitchenette, lovely bathroom...which would have been lovelier had I had an operational shower at 5:00 a.m. the next morning when I attempted to get a shower. No water from the shower nozzle, but lots of water from the tub spigot...which is where I ended up, on my knees with my head under the spigot to wash my hair. The difficulties in the morning caused me to be 30 minutes late for an appointment I had...not a good way to start the day... All in all, not a pleasant experience. Had I not been many hours on planes the day I arrived and too tired to care, I would not have stayed. In the future, I've been warned...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east liverpool,ohio
Jul 2, 2009

just ok

my room was outside off the employee lounge, so there was always employees hanging around ,even at two in the morning,making plenty of noise.Guest would hang around my room all hours of the day and night to smoke and just gather because my room was under shelter from the sun and rain..No one freshened up the room the entire time of my stay had to go find garbage bags and fresh towels, the staff wouldn,t give them to me, had to go to the office to get what I needed, even though it stated that the staff would clean and freshen up the room once during the week while i was there.Had a wonderful vacation, didnt let the hoel ruin my time spent in gulfport....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to the beaches,restraunts and other attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patricia on the Road
Business
Alaska
Mar 7, 2014

Pretty nice room, with bugs!

The room was actually pretty nice. Smelled ok, appeared clean, bed was comfortable. No insulation between floors, so you can hear every footstep. But I can live with that too. But I woke in the morning covered in bug bites! Not just one or 2, dozens! The front desk thought perhaps the previous guest had a dog with fleas. But these were definitely not fleas. They got in my clothes and continued to bite me that day on my road trip! I don't know what kind of bug it was. By the time I felt a bite, it would be gone. Never did see the little boogers. Just the large welts that appeared with itching. The next night, I had to spend hours de-bugging my suitcase and clothes. I've stayed at over 3 dozen budget motels on this road trip. This is the first one with bugs. And THAT is unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jacksonville fl
Nov 26, 2010

handy for airport travel

very basic,could use a little updating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

handy for airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kdenso
Business
Houma, LA
Oct 12, 2014

Okay, at best

I saw a couple of tiny roaches in my room just as I arrived. No breakfast to be found. Shady characters at the gas station nearby. Did not have a non-smoking room available as I requested. Tub drained very slowly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Ole Biloxi Scooner is an excellent hidden gem of a restaurant that was nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Heather B.
Business
Bay City, MI
Jul 4, 2009

I wouldn't recommend it to any one

Upon arrival room appeared to be clean, open, and pleasant even though it was not the type of room my reservations stated. When locking up the first night the chain lock was broken and unsure if handle lock was operational. I had placed a chair in front of the door for security. Next morning called and reported lock broken to the front desk. Desk clerk stated if maintance was available she would have them repair it. Also when asked about cleaning services, I was told no cleaning services available to guest staying less than a week. Second night in the room came back to find a dead cockroach on the kitchen counter and another live 3 inch cockroach under the kitchen table. Also the lock was still unrepaired. Third and final night came back to room to find a 3 inch spider crawling on the kitchen floor. And the lock was still unrepaired. When checking out relayed on my experience to desk clerk and he stated there was nothing he could do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top