$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Sun Suites of Gulfport

2 stars
9145 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
90 reviews
Getaway

I had a excellent stay nice and clean and friendly staff See full review

  • Michelle 37
  • Mar 17, 2014
9/8-9/10

I enjoyed it all!! Great customer service, cleanliness, & it was an overall good stay!!! See full review

  • Ms.Richmond
  • Sep 11, 2012
Gulf Coast hotel with apartment-style living

Sun Suites, a leading economy lodging chain, features clean, convenient rooms specially designed for the extended-stay guest. Sun Suites Gulfport features 128 guestrooms, complete with apartment-size kitchens and comfortable living areas. Guests enjoy easy access to the interstate, airport, and nearby restaurants and shops.

Highlights
  • Rooms with kitchens and living areas
  • Convenient access to airport and interstate
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

All 128 rooms, equipped with either a queen bed or two double beds, feature a full kitchen with refrigerator and stovetop, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes, and utensils. Other amenities include free high-speed Internet access (wireless and dataport), cable television with free HBO, an alarm clock/radio, and personal voicemail.

Features

Coin-operated laundry adds to the extended-stay appeal of in-room kitchens. Pets up to 20 pounds are allowed (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gulfport-Biloxi International Airport (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Mobile Regional Airport (66.5 mi/109 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Beauvoir House (7.5 mi/12.3 km)
  • Gulfport Premium Outlets (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Gulfport Sportsplex (4 mi/6.6 km)
  • Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art (17.6 mi/28.9 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Suites of Gulfport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Sun Suites of Gulfport Rooms

1 King Bed Studio Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
Two Double Beds Suite
2 Doubles-Kitchen w Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee
Queen Suite
1 Queen-Kitchen Full Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee
Run of House
Run of House
1 Full Bed Studio No Smoking
Full bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 King Bed Studio No Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
King Suite
1 King-Kitchen Full Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Suites of Gulfport

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.2

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blue Knight Rider
Business
Philadelphia Ms
Aug 2, 2011

weekend getaway

Hotel was clean and staff was very nice. The only complaint i have is that this is a suite with a kitchen but no plates, or coffee cups or coffee!!! But there was a coffee pot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

seafood buffet at Beau Rivage Casino in Biloxi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BLESSED MAN
Business
PENSACOLA, FL
Mar 26, 2011

SUN SUITES GULFPORT

I requested Handicaped rooms,I was not given them. The rooms were good, The service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Motel is centrally located near gas,dinning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr crabs
Business
La
May 1, 2011

Great deal

We've stayed here about six times and have enjoyed staying for nearly half of what other chains charge. This particular trip we rented two rooms. One was great. The other smelled terrible. Had a putrid moldy smell. If I had never been before I would have thought different about going back. I guess nowhere is perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monroe, MI
May 15, 2010

decent rooms

good location. Right near anything travelers may want to do. Not a far drive to New Orleans or Biloxi. Decent sized rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The outlet mall by the interstate is a must-visit!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Margaret Cuellar
Business
Gulfport, MS
Dec 8, 2014

Good enough for the money

This hotel was pretty cheap, and it was fairly well maintained. It wasn't amazing, but it wasn't bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anna-Luise
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 17, 2007

Maintenance an issue...

I chose Sun Suites Gulfport because of its proximity to the local airport. After arriving, I was advised by family members that it was not in an ideal part of town but should be relatively safe. Check-in was great - staff service was very good. When I returned that night to enter my room for the first time, a man I've never seen before came out of MY room...at which point I turned around, went back to the front desk and advised them there was someone else in my room. I was given another room on the dark side of the hotel, lower level. Upon entering, the door closed behind me and I was in total darkness. Ceiling light didn't work. Lamp in the corner flickered when I turned that on...fire waiting to happen so I turned it back off. The bedside lamp also didn't work. As I locked the door for the evening, I realized that the fold-over bolt on the door didn't work - the door had apparently been forced open from outside at some point and the hardware was ripped out of the door and just hanging. Thankfully, the deadbolt was operational. The room was clean, nice kitchenette, lovely bathroom...which would have been lovelier had I had an operational shower at 5:00 a.m. the next morning when I attempted to get a shower. No water from the shower nozzle, but lots of water from the tub spigot...which is where I ended up, on my knees with my head under the spigot to wash my hair. The difficulties in the morning caused me to be 30 minutes late for an appointment I had...not a good way to start the day... All in all, not a pleasant experience. Had I not been many hours on planes the day I arrived and too tired to care, I would not have stayed. In the future, I've been warned...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east liverpool,ohio
Jul 2, 2009

just ok

my room was outside off the employee lounge, so there was always employees hanging around ,even at two in the morning,making plenty of noise.Guest would hang around my room all hours of the day and night to smoke and just gather because my room was under shelter from the sun and rain..No one freshened up the room the entire time of my stay had to go find garbage bags and fresh towels, the staff wouldn,t give them to me, had to go to the office to get what I needed, even though it stated that the staff would clean and freshen up the room once during the week while i was there.Had a wonderful vacation, didnt let the hoel ruin my time spent in gulfport....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to the beaches,restraunts and other attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cotton Top
Business
Mobile, AL
Aug 4, 2009

Restless In Gulfport

Thank goodness we only stayed ONE night! We thought we'd never get to sleep because the beds sqeeked loudly every time movement was made trying to get comfortable, the refrigerator POPPED every few minutes during the night and there were waterbugs in the bathroom. Hopefully next time we stay in Gulfport we can make a better choice in motels. Also, the accomadations requested were not the same as the accomadations we got! We asked for one queen bed and got two double beds. Since we are use to a queen at home, we slept in two separate beds trying for more comfort(but that didn't happen).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We were here to play at the casinos so the distance to the casinos was very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shrumper
Business
tupelo
Oct 23, 2011

get a vacum that works

glad it was just for a brief night. room needed cleaning bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jcpr
Business
gulfport, ms
Aug 13, 2012

insulation

The room lacked insulation severly. You could hear every foot step from the room overhead, people walking and talking right outside and in the rooms next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top