$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Sun Suites of Gulfport

2 stars
9145 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
90 reviews
Getaway

I had a excellent stay nice and clean and friendly staff See full review

  • Michelle 37
  • Mar 17, 2014
9/8-9/10

I enjoyed it all!! Great customer service, cleanliness, & it was an overall good stay!!! See full review

  • Ms.Richmond
  • Sep 11, 2012
Gulf Coast hotel with apartment-style living

Sun Suites, a leading economy lodging chain, features clean, convenient rooms specially designed for the extended-stay guest. Sun Suites Gulfport features 128 guestrooms, complete with apartment-size kitchens and comfortable living areas. Guests enjoy easy access to the interstate, airport, and nearby restaurants and shops.

Highlights
  • Rooms with kitchens and living areas
  • Convenient access to airport and interstate
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Pet friendly
Rooms

All 128 rooms, equipped with either a queen bed or two double beds, feature a full kitchen with refrigerator and stovetop, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes, and utensils. Other amenities include free high-speed Internet access (wireless and dataport), cable television with free HBO, an alarm clock/radio, and personal voicemail.

Features

Coin-operated laundry adds to the extended-stay appeal of in-room kitchens. Pets up to 20 pounds are allowed (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Gulfport-Biloxi International Airport (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Mobile Regional Airport (66.5 mi/109 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Beauvoir House (7.5 mi/12.3 km)
  • Gulfport Premium Outlets (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Gulfport Sportsplex (4 mi/6.6 km)
  • Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art (17.6 mi/28.9 km)

Hotel Map

30.4168 -89.0949
Nearby airports
(GPT), 2.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sun Suites of Gulfport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Sun Suites of Gulfport Rooms

1 King Bed Studio Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
Two Double Beds Suite
2 Doubles-Kitchen w Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee
Queen Suite
1 Queen-Kitchen Full Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee
Run of House
Run of House
1 Full Bed Studio No Smoking
Full bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
1 King Bed Studio No Smoking
King bed/Kitchen/Refrigerator/Microwave/Dishes Coffeemaker/Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access
King Suite
1 King-Kitchen Full Fridge-Stovetop-Microwave Dishes-Utensils-Free WIFI-Work Area-Coffee

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
Microwave
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Sun Suites of Gulfport

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.2

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle 37
Laurel Mississippi
Mar 17, 2014

Getaway

I had a excellent stay nice and clean and friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Golden correal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kdenso
Business
Houma, LA
Oct 12, 2014

Okay, at best

I saw a couple of tiny roaches in my room just as I arrived. No breakfast to be found. Shady characters at the gas station nearby. Did not have a non-smoking room available as I requested. Tub drained very slowly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Ole Biloxi Scooner is an excellent hidden gem of a restaurant that was nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DABOO
Business
BAY SPRINGS, MS
Jul 29, 2014

Don't recommend anyone stay here

WE WERE THERE FOR A FAMILY REUNION AND THERE WERE SEVERAL ISSUES. FIRST WE HAD NO CLEAN TOWELS. WE HAD TO GO TO THE OFFICE TURN IN OUR DIRTY TOWELS WAIT FOR THEM TO WASH AND DRY THEM AND GO BACK AND GET THEM ONLY TO BE TOLD THEY FORGOT TO PUT THEM IN THE DRYER. SECOND THERE WERE GNATS AND ROACHES IN ALL OUR ROOMS. KEY CARDS DIDN'T WORK AT SOME ROOMS. SOME WERE QUOTED ONE PRICE THEN CHARGED ANOTHER UPON ARRIVAL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelers Dallas
Business
Dallas TX
Jun 24, 2014

ROOMS CIVEN AWAY BEFORE WE ARRIVED

We did not stay at this hotel because the day front desk clerk gave our rooms away before we arrived. The manager was unavailable but we were able to get a credit on our visa card for a refund through our booking company. I would suggest you delist this hotel for short term stays. it looked as thought there were many permanent residents Michael Frank

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
anakin12
Business
gulfport,ms
Mar 26, 2014

poor stay

this was a poor visit, room wasnt that clean, had hair on the floor and on toilet seat, remote for tv never worked and staff wasnt friendly about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spent
Business
Mississippi
Mar 21, 2014

Would stay again

If your on a budget this hotel is OK. In our room the freezer part of the refrigerator did not work, the TV had lines in the viewing area, one eye on the stove did not work. Check-in was a nightmare, it took almost 40min. The good stuff: Cheap, hot water never ran out, microwave, fridge and one stove eye worked perfect. The room and bed were clean, a/c worked good. We feel like we got our monies worth but if your trying to find something wrong... there's plenty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle 37
Business
Laurel Mississippi
Mar 17, 2014

Getaway

I had a excellent stay nice and clean and friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Golden correal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad Mad Angry
Business
Tampa
Mar 14, 2014

STUCK AND LEFT

This hotel closes at 11 pm. I selected late check in and notified them. I arrived at 11:05 and they were already gone and I could not check in. There was NO ONE on the premises to help any guest and several people were requesting assistance. The hotel had a note tapped to the office door that said full. If a hotel is full, and no one is in the office to assist customers, WHAT IN THE WORLD is going on here ! Awful hotel and the customer service line was even shut down, for the corporation of hotel chain itself. No one could help, anywhere, at any time. WASTE OF MONEY I want a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
annoyed and unimpressed
Business
Gulfport, mississippi
Mar 10, 2014

needs improvement

When we arrived we were told that we could have a queen or double, not the king that we had booked. We chose the queen, but I believe we were given a double. The lights did not work on the three lamps. When I informed office I was told maintenance would fix it next day.....after we checked out. The bed and pillows were like rocks and the room had a stale smell to it. While it was cheap, it was not worth what I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Patricia on the Road
Business
Alaska
Mar 7, 2014

Pretty nice room, with bugs!

The room was actually pretty nice. Smelled ok, appeared clean, bed was comfortable. No insulation between floors, so you can hear every footstep. But I can live with that too. But I woke in the morning covered in bug bites! Not just one or 2, dozens! The front desk thought perhaps the previous guest had a dog with fleas. But these were definitely not fleas. They got in my clothes and continued to bite me that day on my road trip! I don't know what kind of bug it was. By the time I felt a bite, it would be gone. Never did see the little boogers. Just the large welts that appeared with itching. The next night, I had to spend hours de-bugging my suitcase and clothes. I've stayed at over 3 dozen budget motels on this road trip. This is the first one with bugs. And THAT is unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sun Suites of Gulfport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tacomaker
Business
Kenner, La
Mar 1, 2014

disorganized

This location seemed very disorganized. The room was missing a reflector under the large burner on the stove.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top