$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

The Cheshire

4 stars
6300 Clayton Road, St. Louis, MO 63117
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
23 reviews
Good experience

I think it was a little pricy for what I got. The bathroom had alot of long hair on the floor and... See full review

  • BabyJ96
  • Feb 11, 2013
Pleasant Stay

Overall the stay was very nice. The hotel theme is very neat as is the decor throughout the rooms... See full review

  • Crin
  • Jun 1, 2013
3 Reasons to Stay:

  • Exciting and newly restored AAA resort
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Cozy, warm and English ambiance

Newly restored Cheshire hotel in heart of St. Louis
The newly restored Cheshire St. Louis Hotel offers guests a prime location in St. Louis. The cozy English style ambiance features a collection of rare art and hardwood floors. The motif here is British country style living, and this ambiance continues with the Fox and the Hound tavern, and novelty themed suites. A hearty English breakfast awaits guests each morning. Enjoy access to a wellness centre or take a dip in the outdoor pool. The Cheshire St. Louis Hotel is across the street from the lush St. Louis Forest Park.
Cheshire St. Louis Rooms:
Hearty amenities recreate the look and ambiance of an upscale and sophisticated English style country home. Living rooms feature hearty wood fireplaces in the living areas and marble entranceways. Guests appreciate the country villa with hardwood floors, stained glass windows and cozy amenities. Upscale toiletries and pleasant stays, along with warm timeless hospitality, leave guests here very relaxed. Guests can keep in touch thanks to Internet access provided in all guest rooms.
Things to Do:

  • St. Louis Art Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • St. Louis Zoo (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Washington University (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Forest Park (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Missouri History Museum (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Componere Gallery (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Cathedral Basilica of St. Louis (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Missouri Botanical Gardens and Arboretum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • St. Louis University (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Pulitzer Foundation for the Arts (4 mi/6.4 km)

Policies and fees

The property charges $7/night for self parking and $14/night for valet parking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Cheshire Rooms

Standard
Room offers one King or Two Queen beds along with Iron and Ironing Boards, Blow Dryers, TV with Cable Dial Up Internet Service in All Rooms, Free Local Calls. Rooms are Non-Smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Cheshire also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.6332 -90.3069
Area served
St. Louis.
Nearby airports
St Louis Airport (STL).
Area description
In the heart of St Louis, centrally located, just minutes from the airport, on the edge of the Clayton Business District and the Zoo, Art Museum, Arch and shopping.

Nearby points of interest

  • St. Louis Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Saint Louis Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Missouri History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • The Muny: 1.5 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 2 mi
  • The Tivoli Theater: 2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 2.9 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 4.1 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 4.2 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 4.3 mi
  • Savvis Center: 5.7 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 5.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 5.7 mi
  • City Museum: 5.7 mi
  • St. Louis Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Saint Louis Art Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Missouri History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • The Muny: 1.5 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 2 mi
  • The Tivoli Theater: 2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 2.9 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 2.9 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 4.1 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 4.2 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 4.3 mi
  • Savvis Center: 5.7 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 5.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 5.7 mi
  • City Museum: 5.7 mi
  • City Garden: 6.1 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 6.2 mi
  • Busch Stadium: 6.2 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 6.4 mi
  • The Magic House: 6.6 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 7.1 mi
  • Laumeier Sculpture Park: 8 mi
  • Jefferson Barracks Historic Park: 8 mi
  • Lone Elk Park: 13.7 mi

Dining

Fox and Hound
The Fox & Hounds Tavern is the perfect place for an intimate rendezvous where flickering gaslight and the soft glow from a stone hearth cast a romantic spell. Live piano music is featured most nights and offerings from the cheese cellar, spicy sausages, rare scotches and the full or half yard of ale are just a few of the unique touches that add up to an adventurous visit. Our full and varied menu offers cocktails not seen in any other establishment in St. Louis. Experience one of our 25 scotches imported from distilleries all over Great Britain. The impressive wine list features some of the best and most distinctive. Come hear the legendary Dick Zelle tickle the ivories Wednesdays through Saturdays from 9 pm until 1 am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for The Cheshire

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Cheshire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham, AL
Jan 23, 2008

BAD CONSTRUCTION

The Chesire was a nice hotel. The loud noices in the morning was very horrible. You could hear jack hammering as early as 8:00. The fox and hound was the best thing. If you like real breadkfast this is not the place. Every morning there was donuts, coffee, box cereal and canned peaches thats all. The T.V is very small and for the money I paided, there was not any type of fridge in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Galleria is very close and a nice mall. Clayton has many things to do.

Review of The Cheshire

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Knoxville, TN
Sep 9, 2007

In a Rework State

The hotel appears to be in a midst of a total overhaul. The entrance is not readily discerable. You really have to hunt to find it. Apparently there is an underground parking garage that is in poor repair. It has caused much of the area adjacent to the lodge to be roped off from car trafic; and it is closed. Thus you have to carry your lugage a long way to the desk when you find it; and parking is at a premium. The rooms were OK, but not great. The TV was had a very small screen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Cheshire

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Knoxville, TN
Sep 9, 2007

In a Rework State

The hotel appears to be in a midst of a total overhaul. The entrance is not readily discerable. You really have to hunt to find it. Apparently there is an underground parking garage that is in poor repair. It has caused much of the area adjacent to the lodge to be roped off from car trafic; and it is closed. Thus you have to carry your lugage a long way to the desk when you find it; and parking is at a premium. The rooms were OK, but not great. The TV was had a very small screen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Cheshire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
big santa
USA
Aug 31, 2007

Very friendly from the time I checked in until I checked out.

The person at the desk was very pleasent and made me feel at home from the start. The hotel is very clean even though it is going through remodeling. The whole staff always greeted me with a smile and a hello. The rooms were large and decorated appropriately in the English theme of the hotel. I will stay here again on my next trip to St. Louis MO for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Louis Zoo and Forest Park.

Review of The Cheshire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
big santa
USA
Aug 31, 2007

Very friendly from the time I checked in until I checked out.

The person at the desk was very pleasent and made me feel at home from the start. The hotel is very clean even though it is going through remodeling. The whole staff always greeted me with a smile and a hello. The rooms were large and decorated appropriately in the English theme of the hotel. I will stay here again on my next trip to St. Louis MO for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Louis Zoo and Forest Park.

Review of The Cheshire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 16, 2007

nice

The place is nice.. a little strange and old middleage, but nice. People who's working there never smile..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Park with museums, zoo, ecc.

Review of The Cheshire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 16, 2007

nice

The place is nice.. a little strange and old middleage, but nice. People who's working there never smile..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Park with museums, zoo, ecc.

Review of The Cheshire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 27, 2007

My review of Cheshire Lodge

We were very pleased with the hotel. We had two rooms (ajoining) Only disappointment was that becaouse of a crack in the underground garage the swimming pool and resturant had to be shut down. It was very close to St. Louis Zoo and Forest Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The St. Louis Zoo and Forest Park were near by. Centerly located Just off highway 40. Short distance from Washington University. Did have morning coffee and doughnuts.

Review of The Cheshire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 27, 2007

My review of Cheshire Lodge

We were very pleased with the hotel. We had two rooms (ajoining) Only disappointment was that becaouse of a crack in the underground garage the swimming pool and resturant had to be shut down. It was very close to St. Louis Zoo and Forest Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The St. Louis Zoo and Forest Park were near by. Centerly located Just off highway 40. Short distance from Washington University. Did have morning coffee and doughnuts.

Review of The Cheshire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 26, 2007

Nice room, bad shape

I was happy to get a reservation, but I found out that the hotel was far away from my client's office. The outside was almost falling apart! It was nice that they had free internet access, though. There was no food and no swimming pools. The area around the hotel is a little sketchy..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top