$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

3 stars
811 N. 9th Street, St. Louis, MO 63101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
98 reviews
2 days in St Louis

Busy hotel, everything was good. I appreciated the hard working staff and it's location. See full review

  • Philly Baseball Fan
  • Aug 12, 2014
Good hotel

Great hotel. Nice rooms and breakfast buffet. Great downtown location. Very close to the ballpark. See full review

  • packerpug
  • Jun 6, 2013
Fresh, modern spaces at the America’s Center convention complex
Renovated in January 2010, the Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown Convention Center features fresh, modern guest rooms and complimentary Wi-Fi. An on-site restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel lobby features a stone fireplace and spacious areas for relaxing or gathering with friends. The Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown is located across the street from the America’s Center convention complex. Attractions such as the Gateway Arch and Busch Stadium also are nearby.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • AAA 3 diamond rating
  • Indoor swimming pool under four-story atrium
Rooms
All guest rooms at Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Convention Center include cable TV channels, in-room movies, coffee makers and complimentary Wi-Fi. Hair dryers, irons and ironing boards also are provided. Suites feature separate living and sleeping areas, dining areas and sofa beds. Microwaves, refrigerators and Jacuzzis also are included in suites. Many rooms at the Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis overlook the atrium swimming pool area.
Features
The hotel lobby features a floor-to-ceiling stone fireplace, LCD TVs and quiet conversation areas with retro modern seating. A 24-hour fitness center is located near the indoor swimming pool. Self parking is available adjacent to Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown Convention Center (fees apply). A 24-hour convenience center offers snacks for purchase. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the 9th Street Restaurant and Lounge.
Transportation
  • Lambert-St. Louis International Airport (12 mi/19.5 km)
  • Convention Center MetroLink Station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-70 (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • I-64 (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Gateway Transportation Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Complimentary local area shuttle available
Attractions
  • America’s Center convention complex (across the street)
  • Edward Jones Dome (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Laclede’s Landing (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Gateway Arch (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Scottrade Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Busch Stadium (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Anheuser-Busch brewery (3 mi/4 km)
  • Forest Park (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Seven meeting rooms
  • Catering menus available

Hotel Map

38.6325 -90.1922
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.2 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.4 mi
  • City Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Busch Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.7 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 1.1 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.1 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.5 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.2 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.4 mi
  • City Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Busch Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.7 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 1.1 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.1 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.5 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • The Muny: 4.8 mi
  • Missouri History Museum: 5.2 mi
  • St. Louis Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • Saint Louis Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • The Tivoli Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Jefferson Barracks Historic Park: 9 mi
  • The Magic House: 12.1 mi
  • Laumeier Sculpture Park: 13.1 mi
  • Lone Elk Park: 19.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 98
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jrod0264
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 4, 2014

Location

The location was great for our stay, the room itself was OK, not great, but no poor. old school bubble TV was a nice retro touch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Polie
Business
Chicago
Oct 26, 2013

Great stay

Had 1 problem but it was fixed right away with great accomadations and the staff was really nice and professional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat Arts
Business
North Carolina
Nov 19, 2012

Excellent for the Price

This is an older hotel in the downtown St. Louis area, right across from the convention center. It was very cheap and the room and bath were large and comfortable. Excellent for handicap or wheelchair people. Beds were comfortable. Very large hotel that is half the price of Renaissance a block away. It was perfect for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants within a short walking distance. Really good: Pi, Mango

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AsleepBy10
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Safe and Reasonably Priced Accommodations

The Holiday Inn is conveniently located downtown with easy access to Busch Stadium, the arch, the nearby casino and of course, the convention center. Lots of restaurants to chose from on nearby Washington street. The staff is friendly if you need help. The hotel itself is a Holiday inn template, which isn't a bad thing, so you know just what you're getting. If you have an inward facing room, there is noise from the pool area at times. Completely acceptable and reasonably priced for the area. It's not the Ritz, but you're not paying Ritz room rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Culinaria market at 319 N. 9th has a good selection of take out food items to enhance your in-room dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Medic2410p
Business
Louisville, KY, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Very close to America Convention Center

Needed a close room to my conference and this one turned out at least $50 cheaper per night and literally across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Over/Under club has great food and is just a few blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
antoneg
Business
Providence, RI, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Good Stay

Only stayed one night but it was not bad. Staff was helpful and friendly. Location was great. The hotel provides shuttle service if you need a ride to a nearby attraction. Pool looked nice. No problems. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Extended Business Traveler
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 28, 2011

Hot Mess

I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights for an extended business trip and there were so many issues, I don't even know where to start. I had to switch rooms twice. My first room was freezing and after they examined the problem, they realized the A/C unit was broken. I stayed in my next room for two nights and came back one day to a sauna! Turns out the A/C in this unit was broken as well. I went from freezing to scorching! They did then upgrade me to a suite in the other section of the building, but still- what a hassel! Packing up all my stuff and moving twice! I travel for business so I rely on free WIFI access to do work at night. Their WIFI did not work. I occasionally could get it to come up for a couple of minutes, but that was all. After complaining several times, they said there was something wrong with their connection and they needed to get it fixed. The bar/restaurant was bare bones and not very good. The exercise room consisted of 5 treadmills/ellipticals, 3 of which were broken. Not that you would want to work out on one of the three machines because there was no A/C in the room. Not good in 110 heat index weather! The rooms themselves were fine, however almost all of them face the indoor pool, which means you have non-stop noise all day long and no windows. I asked twice if I could get my bed linens changed and they never did. I would definitely recommend staying somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 9, 2010

Great convention center location

Good location near the convention center. Good restaraunt in the building. Room service was friendly. Noticed a work out room and a gym but did not get to take advantage. Friendly staff although housekeeping did not come on the day I stayed they did come the morning I was checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Mar 9, 2010

Met or Exceeded Most Expectations

Stayed at the hotel while looking for housing in downtown St. Louis. With that goal in mind the location was superb, everything in the downtown area is in easy walking distance. The front desk as well as cleaning staff was very friendly and had quite a warm welcome. The rooms themselves were standard issue Holiday Inn and were comfortable. Not a lot of luxury here but the prices are reasonable. One of the disappointing aspects of our stay was the tiny pool, this thing was SMALL. Even worse, the pool is surrounded on all sides by windows of guest rooms...... kind of creepy. Don't bother staying for breakfast, while the food is alright the service of the wait staff was TERRIBLE. I was given a free coupon for a breakfast buffet and when I got down there on Monday the waiter abruptly told me that the buffet is on Tuesday (?). Our waiter was a guy who NEVER should have become a waiter and he was very lucky we tipped at all. Overall it was a pleasant stay and I would recommend it as a low cost option!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a delicious breakfast alternative to the terrible hotel restaurant go to Cafe Mattino (712 N 2nd St) in Laclede's Landing. It is a bit of a walk but the food and portions are great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 9, 2008

Very Clean

The Holiday Inn Select was very comfortable. The bed was wonderful. The location to the convention center was superb. The breakfast was nothing to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top