$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 12, 2014 Check-out: Nov 14, 2014

Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

3 stars
811 N. 9th Street, St. Louis, MO 63101
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
98 reviews
2 days in St Louis

Busy hotel, everything was good. I appreciated the hard working staff and it's location. See full review

  • Philly Baseball Fan
  • Aug 12, 2014
Good hotel

Great hotel. Nice rooms and breakfast buffet. Great downtown location. Very close to the ballpark. See full review

  • packerpug
  • Jun 6, 2013
Fresh, modern spaces at the America’s Center convention complex
Renovated in January 2010, the Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown Convention Center features fresh, modern guest rooms and complimentary Wi-Fi. An on-site restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel lobby features a stone fireplace and spacious areas for relaxing or gathering with friends. The Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown is located across the street from the America’s Center convention complex. Attractions such as the Gateway Arch and Busch Stadium also are nearby.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • AAA 3 diamond rating
  • Indoor swimming pool under four-story atrium
Rooms
All guest rooms at Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Convention Center include cable TV channels, in-room movies, coffee makers and complimentary Wi-Fi. Hair dryers, irons and ironing boards also are provided. Suites feature separate living and sleeping areas, dining areas and sofa beds. Microwaves, refrigerators and Jacuzzis also are included in suites. Many rooms at the Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis overlook the atrium swimming pool area.
Features
The hotel lobby features a floor-to-ceiling stone fireplace, LCD TVs and quiet conversation areas with retro modern seating. A 24-hour fitness center is located near the indoor swimming pool. Self parking is available adjacent to Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown Convention Center (fees apply). A 24-hour convenience center offers snacks for purchase. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the 9th Street Restaurant and Lounge.
Transportation
  • Lambert-St. Louis International Airport (12 mi/19.5 km)
  • Convention Center MetroLink Station (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-70 (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • I-64 (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Gateway Transportation Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Complimentary local area shuttle available
Attractions
  • America’s Center convention complex (across the street)
  • Edward Jones Dome (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Laclede’s Landing (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Gateway Arch (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Scottrade Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Busch Stadium (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Anheuser-Busch brewery (3 mi/4 km)
  • Forest Park (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Seven meeting rooms
  • Catering menus available

Hotel Map

38.6325 -90.1922
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.2 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.4 mi
  • City Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Busch Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.7 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 1.1 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.1 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.5 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.2 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.4 mi
  • City Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Busch Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.7 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.7 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 1.1 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 1.9 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.1 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.5 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.2 mi
  • The Muny: 4.8 mi
  • Missouri History Museum: 5.2 mi
  • St. Louis Zoo: 5.4 mi
  • Saint Louis Art Museum: 5.6 mi
  • The Tivoli Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Jefferson Barracks Historic Park: 9 mi
  • The Magic House: 12.1 mi
  • Laumeier Sculpture Park: 13.1 mi
  • Lone Elk Park: 19.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JenJen1222
Business
Frankfort, IL, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Think Twice

We stayed at the hotel that was in the heart of the city. Apparently so were all the retreaters. The hotel was dirty and run down. Customer service was no where to be seen. Pool was green and all the hotel rooms were not sound proof. I did not feel clean here or have a quick night sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the beer master tour! Budweiser was a fantastic time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
leisure traveler in town
Business
st. louis
Mar 28, 2013

Less than expected

when we got to hotel we did not know that the pool going to be closed. They did not even tell us when we checked in. The next day we found out pool was closed for the week and didn't give us our money immediately right back they said it might be a credit maybe for business days laterand a heating was not good in the room feels a little square hole in the ceiling in the wall he's a whole room yet thermostat on wall. the entire stay and it never got really really hot in there at all it's just stayed warm. The thing that was adequate about it was that it was downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Mom and Grandma
Business
St. Louis MO
Sep 16, 2013

Horrible,horrible, horrible

That was the worst experience I have ever at any hotel I have stayed at. We could not check in at 4 finally got checked in at 7 and our rooms which where suppose to be together were not even close to each other and we were told we had 4 rooms which were together. The manager hid in his office because of all the uproar at his hotel. Will never ever stay at a Ramada again and would not recommend anyone else to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Decatur Illinois
Jul 3, 2009

Iterribleexperience

I had a terrible experience at the holiday inn . All they had for parking was a parking lot across the street and after 7:00 in the evening they have no attendants. I had knee replacement surgery so I parked in a handicap parking area. The next morning the front desk called my room and told me there had been several breakends to the cars during the night. They broke my drivers door window out and stole my GPS and some tapes and went through my car. I was with my two grandchildren to watch a 4H day at Cardinal stadium. I had to drive back to Decatur Illinois where I live without a window and I still have piecs of glass in my car. I would never stay there again .There parking accomidations are terible. JUdy Moyer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
and still having nightmares about it
Business
USA
Jul 14, 2009

Terrorized

As a single woman traveling alone, the most important thing to me is my feeling of safety. At this hotel, I was terrorized by a group of males staying in an adjoining room. It started when I called the front desk to complain about the noise from the room. The hotel sent someone from security up to speak to the occupants. I don't know how the occupants figured out that I had initiated the complaint, but they then proceeded to not only be louder, but to also begin tapping at my door, as well as going out to the 'pool' and tossing things at the glass wall in my room that overlooked the pool area. I called the front desk to let them know the situation had escalated, the neighboring occupants heard me making the call and things got still worse, AND the hotel did not do anything effective to deal with the problem. At that point I felt absolutely powerless, as the neighboring occupants room was between mine and my only escape route out of the hotel. I was left to huddle alone in my room, frightened to do anything until the middle of the next morning when the Clockwork Orange crew had evidently evacuated the premises. I then called the front desk again asking for a security escort down (just in case) and explained to the manager that after having notified the front desk of the situation twice, that I had been terrorized throughout the night. [As a side note, this security person was the only staff person who seemed to 'get it'. So, while I will give the staff a poor rating below, this one person is excepted from that rating. Too bad he wasn't on duty the night of the terrorization, or the manager responsible for making it right!] They then *after the fact* moved me to another room. I only accepted that because I had pre-paid for my stay, and did not have the discretionary funds to pay for another hotel in addition. While they would not refund me the whole stay, they did assure me that I would be refunded for the night that I had been terrorized. Though I would not have found that entirely satisfactory, if they had followed through, I would have been able to say something at least a little different in this review. It is now more than two weeks later, and I still have not received that nominal refund. Even if I did, I could not recommend this hotel to anyone, because it does not matter if it is in a central location and the room is clean when you are not only unable to sleep, but have fear-related adrenaline coursing through your veins for hours on end. Whatever 'deal' you think you might be getting, believe me, it is not worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Extended Business Traveler
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 28, 2011

Hot Mess

I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights for an extended business trip and there were so many issues, I don't even know where to start. I had to switch rooms twice. My first room was freezing and after they examined the problem, they realized the A/C unit was broken. I stayed in my next room for two nights and came back one day to a sauna! Turns out the A/C in this unit was broken as well. I went from freezing to scorching! They did then upgrade me to a suite in the other section of the building, but still- what a hassel! Packing up all my stuff and moving twice! I travel for business so I rely on free WIFI access to do work at night. Their WIFI did not work. I occasionally could get it to come up for a couple of minutes, but that was all. After complaining several times, they said there was something wrong with their connection and they needed to get it fixed. The bar/restaurant was bare bones and not very good. The exercise room consisted of 5 treadmills/ellipticals, 3 of which were broken. Not that you would want to work out on one of the three machines because there was no A/C in the room. Not good in 110 heat index weather! The rooms themselves were fine, however almost all of them face the indoor pool, which means you have non-stop noise all day long and no windows. I asked twice if I could get my bed linens changed and they never did. I would definitely recommend staying somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oklahoma Standard
Business
Oklahoma
Jul 10, 2014

Pretty good location, but that's where it stopped

We checked in on July 4th, it was rather busy that afternoon. The first encounter was pleasant but somewhat misinforming. The clerk asked us to have a seat and she would let us know when a double room was available. After around 30 minutes of waiting, we asked again if there was a room. We were told no, but to "keep checking back", which was confusing for us. After seeing several families check in and get room keys, we asked one more time and a room was suddenly available. At the time of check in we purchased a $15/day parking pass that granted us unlimited entrance/exit from the parking garage. It was not at all made clear to us how this parking pass worked and we ended up having to pay for our parking when we left. When we returned that evening and inquired about how the pass worked, the staff was very rude and very unprofessional. Our problem was resolved before leaving. Our room was a non-smoking room, but it wreaked of cigarette smoke. We let the front desk know, but nothing ever resulted from it. The room was tiny, the beds are full-size, not queen, and the bathroom was super small. Our shower curtain didn't function properly, which made showering challenging. We didn't spend much time in our room, so it was fine; however, the hotel should really consider a major renovation and possibly some staff development about working under stress! The hotel was bustling with people, so I'm a little interested in why they haven't made the much needed renovations. As far as location goes, it was pretty centrally located and about 10 minutes away from several downtown attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rafolimen
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 7, 2014

Not worth the low price

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and it was a terrible experience. The bathroom ceiling had a water leak and I reported the problem the first day and no one showed up to fix it. The last day, they simply did not clean the room. I got back at night and the room had not been cleaned. When I reported the problem, the front desk supervisor told me that I had to report the problem to the Housekeeping manager so there is clearly no communication between them. As far as amenities is concerned, the Internet service is not reliable, the TV was old and the cable channels signal was not great, also it was noisy. Finally, they charge $10 per day for parking in an adjacent lot. I picked the hotel due to the reasonable price. I should've paid more and stay at a better hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DissapointedCardinals Fan
Business
Tennessee
Jul 7, 2014

Aweful Experience

This past weekend, my friends and I stayed at this hotel and had one of the worst experiences ever. The first room we were put in reeked of tobacco smoke, even though it was marked as non-smoking. The second room had stains and hair everywhere, and was completely disgusting. The parking was unsuitable for a motel... and I paid way to much to leave my car in such a dilapidated garage. I will never go back to this hotel, or any other Ramada for that matter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ramada Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown/At Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
leecheryl
Business
St Louis, MO
Sep 23, 2012

leecheryl

For the price this hotel left a lot to be desired. No hot tub, parking was off site, had to pay for parking, felt like we were staying at a Super 8 or Motel 6. Thought the price was way to much for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top