$117 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

3 stars
200 N. Fourth Street, St. Louis, MO 63102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
124 reviews
Good Price - Good View

I had a corner room with a FANTASTIC view of The Arch! Was at a convention ... walking distance... See full review

  • thewarner
  • Jul 19, 2014
Work Trip

I had to go down to STL for work. When permutable, I bring my wife. I opted for a King Suite... See full review

  • KGDesigns
  • Feb 12, 2014
Riverfront views and crisp, clean guest rooms in downtown St. Louis
Located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown provides convenient access to the Gateway Arch and Busch Stadium. A lobby lounge offers ample gathering space with a refined atmosphere, with mahogany wood, high ceilings and contemporary furnishings. An on-site restaurant features riverfront views. Guests at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown take advantage of complimentary Internet access. Extensive function and meeting space is available.
Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • Across the street from the Gateway Arch
  • Seasonal rooftop swimming pool with city views
Rooms
Crisp duvets, neutral decor and entertainment armoires give guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown a relaxed, smart feel. All rooms include cable TV with in-room movies, coffee makers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature balconies and views of the Gateway Arch or Busch Stadium. Suites have separate living and sleeping areas, microwaves and refrigerators.
Features
A 24-hour fitness center at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown features a range of cardiovascular and weight machines, most of which have personal LCD monitors. A rooftop pool features city views. Self and valet parking are available for a fee.

The Union Grill at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown features floor-to-ceiling windows with views of the Gateway Arch and riverfront. At the Atrium Lounge, the focal point is a painting depicting Mississippi River steamboats. Room service is available.
Transportation
  • Lambert-St. Louis International Airport (13 mi/20.2 km)
  • Adjacent to I-70
  • 8th & Pine MetroLink Station (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-64 (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Gateway Transportation Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Attractions
  • Gateway Arch (Across the Street)
  • Busch Stadium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Edward Jones Dome (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • America’s Center convention complex (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Scottrade Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Anheuser-Busch brewery (2 mi/3.7 km)
  • Forest Park (5 mi/8.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 16,000 square feet of function space
  • 17 meeting rooms
  • Catering menus available

Hotel Map

38.6269 -90.1873
Nearby airports
St. Louis Lambert International Airport, (STL), 15.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Busch Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 0.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.8 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.8 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.8 mi
  • City Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.5 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.8 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.5 mi
  • Busch Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 0.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.8 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.8 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.8 mi
  • City Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.5 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.8 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.5 mi
  • The Muny: 5.1 mi
  • Missouri History Museum: 5.5 mi
  • St. Louis Zoo: 5.7 mi
  • Saint Louis Art Museum: 5.9 mi
  • The Tivoli Theater: 6.7 mi
  • Jefferson Barracks Historic Park: 8.8 mi
  • The Magic House: 12.3 mi
  • Laumeier Sculpture Park: 13.2 mi
  • Lone Elk Park: 19.7 mi

Dining

Union Grill
Restaurant that overlooks the Mississippi River and the majestic St. Louis Arch. The Union Grill severs breakfast, lunch and dinner, along with room service to all the guest of the hotel. The Union Grill features several daily specials , so please come an

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 124
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rissa Jo
Columbia, MO
Mar 31, 2014

Great Place

We went to St. Louis for a sporting event over the weekend. The hotel was so accommodating. We got great parking, checked in early, and were treated spectacular by all the staff! Great experience. Would return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Highlandcheercoach
Ewing, MO
Nov 18, 2013

Very impressed!

Some friends and I came stayed here for my birthday and were VERY impressed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcannon123
Peoria, IL
Dec 26, 2012

Good value

I've been to this hotel before and like it because of it's location. Hotel is clean and staff is very friendly. The room was spacious, but the bathroom lacked space. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is close to several good bars and restaurants.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
woman
IL
Aug 20, 2012

Trip to game in St. Louis

Overall the employees were very nice. We used the valet parking and a nice man took our bags to our room for us. Both of these gentlemen were very nice. The rooms were very big, had refrigerator, coffee machine and such. Only had one bath towel but I called down and they brought more to us. The location was good we could walk to anywhere downtown, to the game, casino, shopt & restaurants. We didn't try the hotel food. This hotel was a little older but we still enjoyed our stay. There is a roof top pool I thought was pretty cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was within walking distance.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cwhittney
Missouri
Jul 10, 2012

DON'T DO IT!

Three friends and I tried to check into the Crowne Plaza hotel in downtown St. Louis at 5:00 P.M. Friday afternoon. We were told that they were behind and that they did not have a room available for us. We were asked to try to check in again at 6. Many other people were also waiting on rooms. During our wait, we spoke to another guest of the hotel who had been waiting since 2:00 P.M. (3 hours!). We tried to check in again at 6 and were successful. Unfortunately, the people sitting next to us, for some reason were STILL not given a room even after a 3 hour wait! It was an incredibly hot day with temperatures over 100 degrees. We turned the air down in our room so that it would be nice and cool after the scorching baseball game. Upon returning from the game that evening, our room was still relatively warm. We first attributed it to the temperatures being so ridiculously high, but later found the air unit was not blowing air. We slept rather uncomfortably on top of the too hot blankets with pillows smaller than the throw pillows on my couch. As we prepared to shower, we found that our hotel room did not have a single towel. Makes me wonder what the cleaning crew was doing for that extra hour we had to wait. I called down to the front desk and asked for towels and was told they would be right up. My boyfriend jumped in the shower expecting a towel when he got finished. After about 15 minutes, the towels had still not arrived and his shower was more than done. I called the front desk again and was told for the second time they would be right up. After another 15-20 minutes the towels had STILL not arrived and my boyfriend had completely air-dried. I was not about to air-dry, so I walked down to the lobby to get the towels myself. The woman at the front desk said, "I bet he's at your door right now." I replied, "Im positive he is not" Sure enough, she got him on the walkie and he appeard at the front desk within seconds with arms full of towels. He was not possibly "at my door" on the seventh floor. I took the towels and commented that they would have been nice to have 30 minutes ago with which he responded the third shift crew was incredibly busy fixing the problems of the day crew. As if the wait for the towels wasn't bad enough, the shower itself wasn't exactly pleasant. The soap made my skin incredibly dry and shampoo and conditioner left my hair feeling worse than before. Unfortunately, I had forgotten to bring my own. I won't make that mistake again, but then again I won't make the mistake of staying at a Crown Plaza again, either. After being incredibly disappointed in our stay, all we wanted to do was leave the next morning. Unfortunately for us, even that took more than a 30 minute wait. Upon checking out we asked the lady at the front desk to call Valet and have our car brought around. She kindly obliged. We waited, and waited. After quite a while, we asked if she had called and she told us that she had. We waited some more. After still not seeing our vehicle, we asked the gentleman who seemed to be running the valet how much longer until our number. He checked his list and said our number was not even on the list. We relayed this message to the woman at the front desk and she informed us that those gentlemen were not in charge of valet. We gave the gentleman our valet number anyway and finally had our car pulled around about 5 minutes later. Overall, our stay at the Crowne Plaza was uncomfortable and unpleasant. We waited more than an acceptable amount of time to check in and check out. The room was uninviting, warm, and not fully prepared for our stay. I will not stay at the Crowne Plaza again, and I most certainly will not recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Landing Larry
STL
Jul 9, 2012

Batch party

Great staff, poor maint, temp was 108 this day and a/c was not working. Waking up in a pool of sweat. Maint solution, they put a fan in the room. To say the least it didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BenF
New York City
May 29, 2012

Spend the extra few dollars and go to the Hyatt next door

Very dated hotel. Good location- steps from the Arch, and baseball stadium, but for a hotel in the same family as the Intercontinental Hotels- this is an embarrassment. Everything is at least 30 years old and wearing thin. Air conditioning system in our room kept the room slightly cooler than a sauna, and was missing it's cover. The bathroom was smaller than most NYC apartment bathrooms and everything in it seemed like it was installed when the hotel was first built. Towels were all ragged and falling apart- first day there half the complementary toiletries were missing. Regret was after walking next door for dinner at the Hyatt we should have spent the extra few dollars for a much more recently renovated hotel that was quite nice looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If in St Louis- and want to do the Budweiser Tour- make plans in advance and do the BrewMasters Tour. It costs money instead of the Free tour they give. But is well worth it! Much smaller group- no lines or waiting, and more access than the large group.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mer Bear
St Louis, MO, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Great location

Wonderful view of the Arch and walking distance to great food, the City Museum and the Arch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jemmie
Nashville, TN, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Perfect Escape

We aren't very needy girls so we didn't request a lot. We took advantage of the in-room dining service and the food was delicious. The staff was really friendly and helpful with all of our crazy tourist-y questions. The view from our "standard" hotel room was absolutely beautiful and the rooms were so spacious and clean. Overall, I recommend this hotel. I'll be booking with Crowne Plaza again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Definately need cabs to get places but everyone is super friendly.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jemmie
Nashville, TN, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Great weekend getaway

The hotel was big, clean, with super friendly staff. We stayed in a standard room, which was spacious, and had an amazing view of the arch. The restaurant in the hotel had delicious breakfast. Definately recommend this hotel. I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Definately take advantage of the taxis!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search