$114 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

3 stars
200 N. FOURTH STREET, ST. LOUIS, MO 63102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
196 reviews
Work Trip

I had to go down to STL for work. When permutable, I bring my wife. I opted for a King Suite... See full review

  • KGDesigns
  • Feb 12, 2014
Awesome for the family

I enjoyed my Stay at the Crown Plaza. Awesome location. Great Staff. Clean rooms. Management and... See full review

  • Stephen Stix Josey
  • Jul 28, 2013
Riverfront views and crisp, clean guest rooms in downtown St. Louis
Located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown provides convenient access to the Gateway Arch and Busch Stadium. A lobby lounge offers ample gathering space with a refined atmosphere, with mahogany wood, high ceilings and contemporary furnishings. An on-site restaurant features riverfront views. Guests at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown take advantage of complimentary Internet access. Extensive function and meeting space is available.
Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • Across the street from the Gateway Arch
  • Seasonal rooftop swimming pool with city views
Rooms
Crisp duvets, neutral decor and entertainment armoires give guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown a relaxed, smart feel. All rooms include cable TV with in-room movies, coffee makers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature balconies and views of the Gateway Arch or Busch Stadium. Suites have separate living and sleeping areas, microwaves and refrigerators.
Features
A 24-hour fitness center at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown features a range of cardiovascular and weight machines, most of which have personal LCD monitors. A rooftop pool features city views. Self and valet parking are available for a fee.

The Union Grill at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown features floor-to-ceiling windows with views of the Gateway Arch and riverfront. At the Atrium Lounge, the focal point is a painting depicting Mississippi River steamboats. Room service is available.
Transportation
  • Lambert-St. Louis International Airport (13 mi/20.2 km)
  • Adjacent to I-70
  • 8th & Pine MetroLink Station (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-64 (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Gateway Transportation Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Attractions
  • Gateway Arch (Across the Street)
  • Busch Stadium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Edward Jones Dome (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • America’s Center convention complex (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Scottrade Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Anheuser-Busch brewery (2 mi/3.7 km)
  • Forest Park (5 mi/8.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 16,000 square feet of function space
  • 17 meeting rooms
  • Catering menus available

Hotel Map

38.6269 -90.1873
Nearby airports
Saint Louis Downtown Airport, (CPS), 4.00, MI; St. Louis Lambert International Airport, (STL), 15.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Busch Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 0.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.8 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.8 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.8 mi
  • City Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.5 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.8 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.5 mi
  • Busch Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 0.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.8 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.8 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.8 mi
  • City Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.5 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.8 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.5 mi
  • The Muny: 5.1 mi
  • Missouri History Museum: 5.5 mi
  • St. Louis Zoo: 5.7 mi
  • Saint Louis Art Museum: 5.9 mi
  • The Tivoli Theater: 6.7 mi
  • Jefferson Barracks Historic Park: 8.8 mi
  • The Magic House: 12.3 mi
  • Laumeier Sculpture Park: 13.2 mi
  • Lone Elk Park: 19.7 mi

Dining

Union Grill
Restaurant that overlooks the Mississippi River and the majestic St. Louis Arch. The Union Grill severs breakfast, lunch and dinner, along with room service to all the guest of the hotel. The Union Grill features several daily specials , so please come an

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (196)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kentucky
Aug 22, 2010

Nothing newly renovated

The rooms are old and you can not control the air in each room. We had to change rooms 3 times before the air worked or no trash in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Survtech
West Memphis, AR
Aug 17, 2009

Disappointing stay at hotel

I was sadly disappointed in the quality of a well known Hotel ie. Crown Plaza. The amenities were either nonexistant or over-priced. Single cup coffee makers in rooms are a pain. On the last night the cleaning crew left only one towel set-up, no new soap, shampoo,ice bucket liner,or 2nd coffee cup. Overall, very disappointing hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BenF
New York City
May 29, 2012

Spend the extra few dollars and go to the Hyatt next door

Very dated hotel. Good location- steps from the Arch, and baseball stadium, but for a hotel in the same family as the Intercontinental Hotels- this is an embarrassment. Everything is at least 30 years old and wearing thin. Air conditioning system in our room kept the room slightly cooler than a sauna, and was missing it's cover. The bathroom was smaller than most NYC apartment bathrooms and everything in it seemed like it was installed when the hotel was first built. Towels were all ragged and falling apart- first day there half the complementary toiletries were missing. Regret was after walking next door for dinner at the Hyatt we should have spent the extra few dollars for a much more recently renovated hotel that was quite nice looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If in St Louis- and want to do the Budweiser Tour- make plans in advance and do the BrewMasters Tour. It costs money instead of the Free tour they give. But is well worth it! Much smaller group- no lines or waiting, and more access than the large group.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aunt Dono
Columbia, MO
Jun 21, 2010

Not what we expected.

When checking in we found out that we did not get the double Queen rooms that we had reserved, we got King rooms. I had to share my one bed with my niece and her three small children. A roll away was an extra cost. It was as if we weren't recognized becasue we booked through [...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aunt Dono
Columbia, MO
Jun 21, 2010

Not what we expected.

When checking in we found out that we did not get the double Queen rooms that we had reserved, we got King rooms. I had to share my one bed with my niece and her three small children. A roll away was an extra cost. It was as if we weren't recognized becasue we booked through [...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York , New York
Jun 20, 2010

CROWNE PLAZA NOT THE SAME ANYMORE.

I love the location and the staff was very friendly and professional. The hotel was in need of repairs , like carpeting in rooms and hallways were dark and dull. Poor lighting in hallways as well. My co-worker stayed at the Hilton across the street and that hotel was exceptional and very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the St.Louis arch.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bestmd
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 23, 2011

Must avoid by all means!!

The entire stay was an utter disaster!! From the hotel itself that was shabby, run down, by no means renovated as they advertise, not even in the last 20 years, to no towel in the bathroom, not working AC, to the absolute filthy hotel restaurant where Sunday evening we all saw (including our waitress [...]) at least 2 mice walking between tables. That place needs to be closed for sanitary reasons! Stay away from it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Jul 19, 2010

July 16 & 17, 2010

Wait staff was very nice and cordial, however the room decor was very outdated..Perhaps dating to the 70s. Wallpaper was peeling off various walls as well. After returning from the ballgame where the heat index was 105 we had no towels in our room. It took two phone calls and an hour waiting to get laundry service. We were very disappointed in this hotel and its highly unlikely that we will ever stay here again even though the location was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Aug 13, 2009

Bad experience

Overpriced and dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa
Jul 19, 2010

July 16 & 17, 2010

Wait staff was very nice and cordial, however the room decor was very outdated..Perhaps dating to the 70s. Wallpaper was peeling off various walls as well. After returning from the ballgame where the heat index was 105 we had no towels in our room. It took two phone calls and an hour waiting to get laundry service. We were very disappointed in this hotel and its highly unlikely that we will ever stay here again even though the location was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top