$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 23, 2015

Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 200 N. Fourth Street, St. Louis, MO 63102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
134 reviews
Business trip

The hotel is very nice. Nice lobby, great bar. Very open. I know not everyone can get the view I... See full review

  • Barry Stafford
  • Nov 28, 2015
day away

Had a great time in and around this hotel. Only negative was a terrible breakfast system. See full review

  • jason b.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Riverfront views and crisp, clean guest rooms in downtown St. Louis
Located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown provides convenient access to the Gateway Arch and Busch Stadium. A lobby lounge offers ample gathering space with a refined atmosphere, with mahogany wood, high ceilings and contemporary furnishings. An on-site restaurant features riverfront views. Guests at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown take advantage of complimentary Internet access. Extensive function and meeting space is available.
Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • Across the street from the Gateway Arch
  • Seasonal rooftop swimming pool with city views
Rooms
Crisp duvets, neutral decor and entertainment armoires give guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown a relaxed, smart feel. All rooms include cable TV with in-room movies, coffee makers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature balconies and views of the Gateway Arch or Busch Stadium. Suites have separate living and sleeping areas, microwaves and refrigerators.
Features
A 24-hour fitness center at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown features a range of cardiovascular and weight machines, most of which have personal LCD monitors. A rooftop pool features city views. Self and valet parking are available for a fee.

The Union Grill at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown features floor-to-ceiling windows with views of the Gateway Arch and riverfront. At the Atrium Lounge, the focal point is a painting depicting Mississippi River steamboats. Room service is available.
Transportation
  • Lambert-St. Louis International Airport (13 mi/20.2 km)
  • Adjacent to I-70
  • 8th & Pine MetroLink Station (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-64 (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Gateway Transportation Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Attractions
  • Gateway Arch (Across the Street)
  • Busch Stadium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Edward Jones Dome (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • America’s Center convention complex (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Scottrade Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Anheuser-Busch brewery (2 mi/3.7 km)
  • Forest Park (5 mi/8.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 16,000 square feet of function space
  • 17 meeting rooms
  • Catering menus available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Busch Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 0.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.8 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.8 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.8 mi
  • City Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.5 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.8 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.5 mi
  • Busch Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 0.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.8 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.8 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.8 mi
  • City Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.5 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.8 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.5 mi
  • The Muny: 5.1 mi
  • Missouri History Museum: 5.5 mi
  • St. Louis Zoo: 5.7 mi
  • Saint Louis Art Museum: 5.9 mi
  • The Tivoli Theater: 6.7 mi
  • Jefferson Barracks Historic Park: 8.8 mi
  • The Magic House: 12.3 mi
  • Laumeier Sculpture Park: 13.2 mi
  • Lone Elk Park: 19.7 mi

Dining

Union Grill
Restaurant that overlooks the Mississippi River and the majestic St. Louis Arch. The Union Grill severs breakfast, lunch and dinner, along with room service to all the guest of the hotel. The Union Grill features several daily specials , so please come an

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BenF
Business
New York City
May 29, 2012

Spend the extra few dollars and go to the Hyatt next door

Very dated hotel. Good location- steps from the Arch, and baseball stadium, but for a hotel in the same family as the Intercontinental Hotels- this is an embarrassment. Everything is at least 30 years old and wearing thin. Air conditioning system in our room kept the room slightly cooler than a sauna, and was missing it's cover. The bathroom was smaller than most NYC apartment bathrooms and everything in it seemed like it was installed when the hotel was first built. Towels were all ragged and falling apart- first day there half the complementary toiletries were missing. Regret was after walking next door for dinner at the Hyatt we should have spent the extra few dollars for a much more recently renovated hotel that was quite nice looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If in St Louis- and want to do the Budweiser Tour- make plans in advance and do the BrewMasters Tour. It costs money instead of the Free tour they give. But is well worth it! Much smaller group- no lines or waiting, and more access than the large group.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cwhittney
Business
Missouri
Jul 10, 2012

DON'T DO IT!

Three friends and I tried to check into the Crowne Plaza hotel in downtown St. Louis at 5:00 P.M. Friday afternoon. We were told that they were behind and that they did not have a room available for us. We were asked to try to check in again at 6. Many other people were also waiting on rooms. During our wait, we spoke to another guest of the hotel who had been waiting since 2:00 P.M. (3 hours!). We tried to check in again at 6 and were successful. Unfortunately, the people sitting next to us, for some reason were STILL not given a room even after a 3 hour wait! It was an incredibly hot day with temperatures over 100 degrees. We turned the air down in our room so that it would be nice and cool after the scorching baseball game. Upon returning from the game that evening, our room was still relatively warm. We first attributed it to the temperatures being so ridiculously high, but later found the air unit was not blowing air. We slept rather uncomfortably on top of the too hot blankets with pillows smaller than the throw pillows on my couch. As we prepared to shower, we found that our hotel room did not have a single towel. Makes me wonder what the cleaning crew was doing for that extra hour we had to wait. I called down to the front desk and asked for towels and was told they would be right up. My boyfriend jumped in the shower expecting a towel when he got finished. After about 15 minutes, the towels had still not arrived and his shower was more than done. I called the front desk again and was told for the second time they would be right up. After another 15-20 minutes the towels had STILL not arrived and my boyfriend had completely air-dried. I was not about to air-dry, so I walked down to the lobby to get the towels myself. The woman at the front desk said, "I bet he's at your door right now." I replied, "Im positive he is not" Sure enough, she got him on the walkie and he appeard at the front desk within seconds with arms full of towels. He was not possibly "at my door" on the seventh floor. I took the towels and commented that they would have been nice to have 30 minutes ago with which he responded the third shift crew was incredibly busy fixing the problems of the day crew. As if the wait for the towels wasn't bad enough, the shower itself wasn't exactly pleasant. The soap made my skin incredibly dry and shampoo and conditioner left my hair feeling worse than before. Unfortunately, I had forgotten to bring my own. I won't make that mistake again, but then again I won't make the mistake of staying at a Crown Plaza again, either. After being incredibly disappointed in our stay, all we wanted to do was leave the next morning. Unfortunately for us, even that took more than a 30 minute wait. Upon checking out we asked the lady at the front desk to call Valet and have our car brought around. She kindly obliged. We waited, and waited. After quite a while, we asked if she had called and she told us that she had. We waited some more. After still not seeing our vehicle, we asked the gentleman who seemed to be running the valet how much longer until our number. He checked his list and said our number was not even on the list. We relayed this message to the woman at the front desk and she informed us that those gentlemen were not in charge of valet. We gave the gentleman our valet number anyway and finally had our car pulled around about 5 minutes later. Overall, our stay at the Crowne Plaza was uncomfortable and unpleasant. We waited more than an acceptable amount of time to check in and check out. The room was uninviting, warm, and not fully prepared for our stay. I will not stay at the Crowne Plaza again, and I most certainly will not recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bestmd
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Mar 23, 2011

Must avoid by all means!!

The entire stay was an utter disaster!! From the hotel itself that was shabby, run down, by no means renovated as they advertise, not even in the last 20 years, to no towel in the bathroom, not working AC, to the absolute filthy hotel restaurant where Sunday evening we all saw (including our waitress [...]) at least 2 mice walking between tables. That place needs to be closed for sanitary reasons! Stay away from it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Jul 19, 2010

July 16 & 17, 2010

Wait staff was very nice and cordial, however the room decor was very outdated..Perhaps dating to the 70s. Wallpaper was peeling off various walls as well. After returning from the ballgame where the heat index was 105 we had no towels in our room. It took two phone calls and an hour waiting to get laundry service. We were very disappointed in this hotel and its highly unlikely that we will ever stay here again even though the location was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Survtech
Business
West Memphis, AR
Aug 17, 2009

Disappointing stay at hotel

I was sadly disappointed in the quality of a well known Hotel ie. Crown Plaza. The amenities were either nonexistant or over-priced. Single cup coffee makers in rooms are a pain. On the last night the cleaning crew left only one towel set-up, no new soap, shampoo,ice bucket liner,or 2nd coffee cup. Overall, very disappointing hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
danville,ca.
Jun 8, 2009

never again

had no control of the room temp.we were very cold as it was 62 deg.outside.drain stopper in bathtub did not work unable to take a hot bath for my sore back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Aug 22, 2010

Nothing newly renovated

The rooms are old and you can not control the air in each room. We had to change rooms 3 times before the air worked or no trash in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Aug 13, 2009

Bad experience

Overpriced and dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aunt Dono
Business
Columbia, MO
Jun 21, 2010

Not what we expected.

When checking in we found out that we did not get the double Queen rooms that we had reserved, we got King rooms. I had to share my one bed with my niece and her three small children. A roll away was an extra cost. It was as if we weren't recognized becasue we booked through [...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York , New York
Jun 20, 2010

CROWNE PLAZA NOT THE SAME ANYMORE.

I love the location and the staff was very friendly and professional. The hotel was in need of repairs , like carpeting in rooms and hallways were dark and dull. Poor lighting in hallways as well. My co-worker stayed at the Hilton across the street and that hotel was exceptional and very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the St.Louis arch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top