$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

3 stars
200 N. FOURTH STREET, ST. LOUIS, MO 63102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
111 reviews
Work Trip

I had to go down to STL for work. When permutable, I bring my wife. I opted for a King Suite... See full review

  • KGDesigns
  • Feb 12, 2014
Awesome for the family

I enjoyed my Stay at the Crown Plaza. Awesome location. Great Staff. Clean rooms. Management and... See full review

  • Stephen Stix Josey
  • Jul 28, 2013
Riverfront views and crisp, clean guest rooms in downtown St. Louis
Located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown provides convenient access to the Gateway Arch and Busch Stadium. A lobby lounge offers ample gathering space with a refined atmosphere, with mahogany wood, high ceilings and contemporary furnishings. An on-site restaurant features riverfront views. Guests at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown take advantage of complimentary Internet access. Extensive function and meeting space is available.
Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • Across the street from the Gateway Arch
  • Seasonal rooftop swimming pool with city views
Rooms
Crisp duvets, neutral decor and entertainment armoires give guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown a relaxed, smart feel. All rooms include cable TV with in-room movies, coffee makers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature balconies and views of the Gateway Arch or Busch Stadium. Suites have separate living and sleeping areas, microwaves and refrigerators.
Features
A 24-hour fitness center at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown features a range of cardiovascular and weight machines, most of which have personal LCD monitors. A rooftop pool features city views. Self and valet parking are available for a fee.

The Union Grill at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown features floor-to-ceiling windows with views of the Gateway Arch and riverfront. At the Atrium Lounge, the focal point is a painting depicting Mississippi River steamboats. Room service is available.
Transportation
  • Lambert-St. Louis International Airport (13 mi/20.2 km)
  • Adjacent to I-70
  • 8th & Pine MetroLink Station (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-64 (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Gateway Transportation Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Attractions
  • Gateway Arch (Across the Street)
  • Busch Stadium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Edward Jones Dome (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • America’s Center convention complex (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Scottrade Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Anheuser-Busch brewery (2 mi/3.7 km)
  • Forest Park (5 mi/8.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 16,000 square feet of function space
  • 17 meeting rooms
  • Catering menus available

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.6269 -90.1873
Nearby airports
Saint Louis Downtown Airport, (CPS), 4.00, MI; St. Louis Lambert International Airport, (STL), 15.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Busch Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 0.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.8 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.8 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.8 mi
  • City Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.5 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.8 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.5 mi
  • Busch Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 0.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.8 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.8 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.8 mi
  • City Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.5 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.8 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.5 mi
  • The Muny: 5.1 mi
  • Missouri History Museum: 5.5 mi
  • St. Louis Zoo: 5.7 mi
  • Saint Louis Art Museum: 5.9 mi
  • The Tivoli Theater: 6.7 mi
  • Jefferson Barracks Historic Park: 8.8 mi
  • The Magic House: 12.3 mi
  • Laumeier Sculpture Park: 13.2 mi
  • Lone Elk Park: 19.7 mi

Dining

Union Grill
Restaurant that overlooks the Mississippi River and the majestic St. Louis Arch. The Union Grill severs breakfast, lunch and dinner, along with room service to all the guest of the hotel. The Union Grill features several daily specials , so please come an

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.6 / 5
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
Jemmie
Nashville, TN, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Great weekend getaway

The hotel was big, clean, with super friendly staff. We stayed in a standard room, which was spacious, and had an amazing view of the arch. The restaurant in the hotel had delicious breakfast. Definately recommend this hotel. I'll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Definately take advantage of the taxis!

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Kansas City MO
Jul 18, 2010

Okay Place to Stay Downtown

The hotel was okay - had reservation for room with king size bed. Arrived at 8:00 on Friday evening to be told we need to come back in an hour to see if there was a room available. Seems the staff couldn't get the rooms cleaned in time. If we wanted to change to a room with 2 queens we could check in right away. Needless to say, we changed. Rooms are HUGE - loved it - the A/C though seemed to have the same problem as the cleaning staff. Couldn't keep up. They did find a fan for our room. Feel sorry for thye folks that couldn't get a fan. We heard a lot of people saying their rooms were hot. But, to defend the hotel. It's an older building, hence the atmosphere - and it was 100 degrees outside. Otherwise - the place was nice - just not alot of places to eat nearby -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
AKACY
Battle Creek, MI
Jul 17, 2010

Good time in "The Lou"

The staff was pleasant and helpful. We were there for a conference and the restaurant was not prepared for the crowd, so the service was slow. I was able to get to restaurants, the convention center and stores within a ten minute walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
Jess the Average Mom
Lily Lake, Illinois
Jul 8, 2010

Older hotel, friendly staff, good deal

Very close to Arch, balcony available is great for view, esp. fireworks, close to lots downtown, older rooms in need of some repair, but ok for our needs. Very friendly staff, slow to respond with problem lock, but it was the 4th of July weekend - reduced parking rate given for inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Short drive, long walk to City Museum - you'll be amazed! Great for kids between 5 and 18, don't bring backpack, purse or bulky items - very physical museum.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
Aunt Dono
Columbia, MO
Jun 21, 2010

Not what we expected.

When checking in we found out that we did not get the double Queen rooms that we had reserved, we got King rooms. I had to share my one bed with my niece and her three small children. A roll away was an extra cost. It was as if we weren't recognized becasue we booked through [...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Springfield Mo
Jun 21, 2010

Hot days of summer

went to baseball game. very hot rooms were not cool enough

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
New York , New York
Jun 20, 2010

CROWNE PLAZA NOT THE SAME ANYMORE.

I love the location and the staff was very friendly and professional. The hotel was in need of repairs , like carpeting in rooms and hallways were dark and dull. Poor lighting in hallways as well. My co-worker stayed at the Hilton across the street and that hotel was exceptional and very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the St.Louis arch.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 8, 2010

Great view and nice staff

I was in town for a weekend wedding. The staff was very friendly and always said hello in the halways. My room had a great view of the arch and the baseball stadium. The rooms were clean, but on the older side. The elevators were a bit slow, but with 6 of them there was never too long of a wait. The Parking garage attached to the hotel was set up weird and was a hassle to get in and out of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Knoxville TN
Jun 6, 2010

Good trip!

great location, easy to park, nice front desk person, very clean, nice big room, nice lobby and bar. resturant was not so good: slow and slower.However there are lots of other far better dining options very close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel is in a great location for down town St louis activities, IE baseball, Casino, Football,Arch, food and drink...you can walk to everything.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Chicago, Il.
Jun 3, 2010

St. Louis

We enjoyed our stay, I think mainly because our room had a balcony. It was great to be able to sit out and enjoy views of the arch and some of the ball park. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay another night, If not for the balcony we would not have. The staff was friendly but not in any hurry to help you. The hotel was just across from the arch and only blocks away from the ball park and many restaraunts. The room itself was dated but sufficient, the rooftop pool was small but nice. If we could not be assured a room with a balcony, we would probably try another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Be patient if you stay here, everyone moves at their own pace.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
Retiree Wantabe
Cincinnati, OH
May 25, 2010

Great Location!

The Crowne Plaza is in a great location. We were able to walk to a lot of places. The room was clean and the bed was large and comfortable. Both, checking-in and checking out were quick and easy. This hotel is very affordable. We were dissappointed that the pool was not open yet. We stayed the week before Memorial Day. The pool is located on the roof with a view of the Arch. Since the pool was not open yet, they wouldn't even let us out on the roof to see the view. They did not offer free continental breakfast. Their restruant is way too expensive. The meals there were more expensive than the nice restraunts around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on going up into the arch, buy your tickets ahead of time on the internet. It costs $3 service fee but is worth it. We showed up at the Arch at noon for our 1:00 tram ride. They were already sold out for the rest of the day and were turning people away.

Back to menu Return to top