$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 200 N. Fourth Street, St. Louis, MO 63102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Nickmeister
Business
St Louis, MO
Jun 17, 2013

Family Getaway

The Hallway on the 17th floor was a bit dark and the carpet in the hallway had seen better days. Due to smoke coming out of an electric outlet, we were upgraded to a suite on the 28th floor, where the hallway was brighter and the carpet felt fresh. We had a sweeping view of the Mississipi river and the Arch. It felt like home. One evening some unruly guests were smoking (and running with their Kids) in the hallway, we called security, they took care of the problem immediately. Given the economically priced package including both hotel and car for 3 days and 2 nights for only $192, it makes it a good buy. In short we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Osage, they serve the best Chicken Pot Pie and Bison burger. www.bowoodfarms.com 4605 Olive Street, St Louis, MO 63108

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elevator Professional
Business
St. Louis, Mo.
May 28, 2013

Great Business Trip

Great atmosphere and location to conduct business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcannon123
Business
Peoria, IL
Dec 26, 2012

Good value

I've been to this hotel before and like it because of it's location. Hotel is clean and staff is very friendly. The room was spacious, but the bathroom lacked space. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is close to several good bars and restaurants.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wade Grant
Business
Jackson, TN.
Aug 27, 2012

STL Baseball

This place had a great staff and nice rooms. Parking was a pain, but location of hotel was great, and lots of places to eat, and site see... One of the better rooms we've had for the price we paid in the downtown area..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great sport bar and grill across the street, recommend trying their burger. Best burger I've ever had..

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
woman
Business
IL
Aug 20, 2012

Trip to game in St. Louis

Overall the employees were very nice. We used the valet parking and a nice man took our bags to our room for us. Both of these gentlemen were very nice. The rooms were very big, had refrigerator, coffee machine and such. Only had one bath towel but I called down and they brought more to us. The location was good we could walk to anywhere downtown, to the game, casino, shopt & restaurants. We didn't try the hotel food. This hotel was a little older but we still enjoyed our stay. There is a roof top pool I thought was pretty cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was within walking distance.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cwhittney
Business
Missouri
Jul 10, 2012

DON'T DO IT!

Three friends and I tried to check into the Crowne Plaza hotel in downtown St. Louis at 5:00 P.M. Friday afternoon. We were told that they were behind and that they did not have a room available for us. We were asked to try to check in again at 6. Many other people were also waiting on rooms. During our wait, we spoke to another guest of the hotel who had been waiting since 2:00 P.M. (3 hours!). We tried to check in again at 6 and were successful. Unfortunately, the people sitting next to us, for some reason were STILL not given a room even after a 3 hour wait! It was an incredibly hot day with temperatures over 100 degrees. We turned the air down in our room so that it would be nice and cool after the scorching baseball game. Upon returning from the game that evening, our room was still relatively warm. We first attributed it to the temperatures being so ridiculously high, but later found the air unit was not blowing air. We slept rather uncomfortably on top of the too hot blankets with pillows smaller than the throw pillows on my couch. As we prepared to shower, we found that our hotel room did not have a single towel. Makes me wonder what the cleaning crew was doing for that extra hour we had to wait. I called down to the front desk and asked for towels and was told they would be right up. My boyfriend jumped in the shower expecting a towel when he got finished. After about 15 minutes, the towels had still not arrived and his shower was more than done. I called the front desk again and was told for the second time they would be right up. After another 15-20 minutes the towels had STILL not arrived and my boyfriend had completely air-dried. I was not about to air-dry, so I walked down to the lobby to get the towels myself. The woman at the front desk said, "I bet he's at your door right now." I replied, "Im positive he is not" Sure enough, she got him on the walkie and he appeard at the front desk within seconds with arms full of towels. He was not possibly "at my door" on the seventh floor. I took the towels and commented that they would have been nice to have 30 minutes ago with which he responded the third shift crew was incredibly busy fixing the problems of the day crew. As if the wait for the towels wasn't bad enough, the shower itself wasn't exactly pleasant. The soap made my skin incredibly dry and shampoo and conditioner left my hair feeling worse than before. Unfortunately, I had forgotten to bring my own. I won't make that mistake again, but then again I won't make the mistake of staying at a Crown Plaza again, either. After being incredibly disappointed in our stay, all we wanted to do was leave the next morning. Unfortunately for us, even that took more than a 30 minute wait. Upon checking out we asked the lady at the front desk to call Valet and have our car brought around. She kindly obliged. We waited, and waited. After quite a while, we asked if she had called and she told us that she had. We waited some more. After still not seeing our vehicle, we asked the gentleman who seemed to be running the valet how much longer until our number. He checked his list and said our number was not even on the list. We relayed this message to the woman at the front desk and she informed us that those gentlemen were not in charge of valet. We gave the gentleman our valet number anyway and finally had our car pulled around about 5 minutes later. Overall, our stay at the Crowne Plaza was uncomfortable and unpleasant. We waited more than an acceptable amount of time to check in and check out. The room was uninviting, warm, and not fully prepared for our stay. I will not stay at the Crowne Plaza again, and I most certainly will not recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Landing Larry
Business
STL
Jul 9, 2012

Batch party

Great staff, poor maint, temp was 108 this day and a/c was not working. Waking up in a pool of sweat. Maint solution, they put a fan in the room. To say the least it didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gkokos5
Business
dunlap illinois
Jun 18, 2012

cardinals trip

Average place with great location. Very close to both riverfront arch and busch stadium.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BenF
Business
New York City
May 29, 2012

Spend the extra few dollars and go to the Hyatt next door

Very dated hotel. Good location- steps from the Arch, and baseball stadium, but for a hotel in the same family as the Intercontinental Hotels- this is an embarrassment. Everything is at least 30 years old and wearing thin. Air conditioning system in our room kept the room slightly cooler than a sauna, and was missing it's cover. The bathroom was smaller than most NYC apartment bathrooms and everything in it seemed like it was installed when the hotel was first built. Towels were all ragged and falling apart- first day there half the complementary toiletries were missing. Regret was after walking next door for dinner at the Hyatt we should have spent the extra few dollars for a much more recently renovated hotel that was quite nice looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If in St Louis- and want to do the Budweiser Tour- make plans in advance and do the BrewMasters Tour. It costs money instead of the Free tour they give. But is well worth it! Much smaller group- no lines or waiting, and more access than the large group.

Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Blitz111
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Apr 30, 2012

place needs some work

first, a positive. the staff were extremely nice, polite and well mannered. now the rest. stayed from Tuesday to Sunday morning, the big bath bar was never replaced, shower spigot was aiimed towards the cieling, one twist and it pointed to the tub, but it leaked in the wall, television remote did not work, advertized a health center/gym, more than half the treadmils/cardio equipment did not work, and the universal gym set up ony had the lat attachment in working order, the rest of the cables had been snapped. one tiny rack of dumbells from 15-50 place is REALLY in need of some tlc on another note, the hotel restaurant was well staffed and the food was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the arch is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel

Back to menu Return to top