$72 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 7, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

3 stars
200 N. Fourth Street, St. Louis, MO 63102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
131 reviews
Business trip

The hotel is very nice. Nice lobby, great bar. Very open. I know not everyone can get the view I... See full review

  • Barry Stafford
  • Nov 28, 2015
day away

Had a great time in and around this hotel. Only negative was a terrible breakfast system. See full review

  • jason b.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Riverfront views and crisp, clean guest rooms in downtown St. Louis
Located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown provides convenient access to the Gateway Arch and Busch Stadium. A lobby lounge offers ample gathering space with a refined atmosphere, with mahogany wood, high ceilings and contemporary furnishings. An on-site restaurant features riverfront views. Guests at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown take advantage of complimentary Internet access. Extensive function and meeting space is available.
Highlights
  • Free Internet access
  • Across the street from the Gateway Arch
  • Seasonal rooftop swimming pool with city views
Rooms
Crisp duvets, neutral decor and entertainment armoires give guest rooms at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown a relaxed, smart feel. All rooms include cable TV with in-room movies, coffee makers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Some rooms feature balconies and views of the Gateway Arch or Busch Stadium. Suites have separate living and sleeping areas, microwaves and refrigerators.
Features
A 24-hour fitness center at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown features a range of cardiovascular and weight machines, most of which have personal LCD monitors. A rooftop pool features city views. Self and valet parking are available for a fee.

The Union Grill at the Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown features floor-to-ceiling windows with views of the Gateway Arch and riverfront. At the Atrium Lounge, the focal point is a painting depicting Mississippi River steamboats. Room service is available.
Transportation
  • Lambert-St. Louis International Airport (13 mi/20.2 km)
  • Adjacent to I-70
  • 8th & Pine MetroLink Station (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • I-64 (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Gateway Transportation Center (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Attractions
  • Gateway Arch (Across the Street)
  • Busch Stadium (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Edward Jones Dome (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • America’s Center convention complex (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Scottrade Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Anheuser-Busch brewery (2 mi/3.7 km)
  • Forest Park (5 mi/8.5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 16,000 square feet of function space
  • 17 meeting rooms
  • Catering menus available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Busch Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 0.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.8 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.8 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.8 mi
  • City Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.5 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.8 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.5 mi
  • Busch Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • City Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Edward Jones Dome: 0.4 mi
  • Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Park: 0.7 mi
  • Peabody Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Scottrade Center: 0.8 mi
  • Shrine of St. Joseph: 0.8 mi
  • Savvis Center: 0.8 mi
  • City Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Chaifetz Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Powell Symphony Hall: 2.5 mi
  • The Fox Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis: 3.8 mi
  • Missouri Botanical Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Saint Louis Science Center: 4.5 mi
  • The Muny: 5.1 mi
  • Missouri History Museum: 5.5 mi
  • St. Louis Zoo: 5.7 mi
  • Saint Louis Art Museum: 5.9 mi
  • The Tivoli Theater: 6.7 mi
  • Jefferson Barracks Historic Park: 8.8 mi
  • The Magic House: 12.3 mi
  • Laumeier Sculpture Park: 13.2 mi
  • Lone Elk Park: 19.7 mi

Dining

Union Grill
Restaurant that overlooks the Mississippi River and the majestic St. Louis Arch. The Union Grill severs breakfast, lunch and dinner, along with room service to all the guest of the hotel. The Union Grill features several daily specials , so please come an

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stephen Stix Josey
Business
Irvine, California
Jul 28, 2013

Awesome for the family

I enjoyed my Stay at the Crown Plaza. Awesome location. Great Staff. Clean rooms. Management and the Staff was awesome. All of my needs was met. Thank you for sending me there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mom to2
Business
St. Louis
Jun 28, 2013

One day away

The staff was friendly and went out of their way to make sure our stay was great. The swimming pool was a plus, but for children as it was filled with small children when we went up. Still, it was a beautiful view of the arch. We got what we came for, a place to sleep close to the Arch and right in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not miss out on eating at Pappy's, the best ribs that we have ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ossip
Business
ny, ny
Jun 20, 2013

a solid value

My experience may not be very meaningful, because my stay was brief, and I made no special demands. Staff was pleasant. Location near Metro. Business room with computer--important to me, because I don't carry a laptop, more comfortable than computer service at some other hotels. Breakfast good. At the rate I got as part of a package, a very good buy, and I was satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Nickmeister
Business
St Louis, MO
Jun 17, 2013

Family Getaway

The Hallway on the 17th floor was a bit dark and the carpet in the hallway had seen better days. Due to smoke coming out of an electric outlet, we were upgraded to a suite on the 28th floor, where the hallway was brighter and the carpet felt fresh. We had a sweeping view of the Mississipi river and the Arch. It felt like home. One evening some unruly guests were smoking (and running with their Kids) in the hallway, we called security, they took care of the problem immediately. Given the economically priced package including both hotel and car for 3 days and 2 nights for only $192, it makes it a good buy. In short we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cafe Osage, they serve the best Chicken Pot Pie and Bison burger. www.bowoodfarms.com 4605 Olive Street, St Louis, MO 63108

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elevator Professional
Business
St. Louis, Mo.
May 28, 2013

Great Business Trip

Great atmosphere and location to conduct business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcannon123
Business
Peoria, IL
Dec 26, 2012

Good value

I've been to this hotel before and like it because of it's location. Hotel is clean and staff is very friendly. The room was spacious, but the bathroom lacked space. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is close to several good bars and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wade Grant
Business
Jackson, TN.
Aug 27, 2012

STL Baseball

This place had a great staff and nice rooms. Parking was a pain, but location of hotel was great, and lots of places to eat, and site see... One of the better rooms we've had for the price we paid in the downtown area..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great sport bar and grill across the street, recommend trying their burger. Best burger I've ever had..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
woman
Business
IL
Aug 20, 2012

Trip to game in St. Louis

Overall the employees were very nice. We used the valet parking and a nice man took our bags to our room for us. Both of these gentlemen were very nice. The rooms were very big, had refrigerator, coffee machine and such. Only had one bath towel but I called down and they brought more to us. The location was good we could walk to anywhere downtown, to the game, casino, shopt & restaurants. We didn't try the hotel food. This hotel was a little older but we still enjoyed our stay. There is a roof top pool I thought was pretty cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cwhittney
Business
Missouri
Jul 10, 2012

DON'T DO IT!

Three friends and I tried to check into the Crowne Plaza hotel in downtown St. Louis at 5:00 P.M. Friday afternoon. We were told that they were behind and that they did not have a room available for us. We were asked to try to check in again at 6. Many other people were also waiting on rooms. During our wait, we spoke to another guest of the hotel who had been waiting since 2:00 P.M. (3 hours!). We tried to check in again at 6 and were successful. Unfortunately, the people sitting next to us, for some reason were STILL not given a room even after a 3 hour wait! It was an incredibly hot day with temperatures over 100 degrees. We turned the air down in our room so that it would be nice and cool after the scorching baseball game. Upon returning from the game that evening, our room was still relatively warm. We first attributed it to the temperatures being so ridiculously high, but later found the air unit was not blowing air. We slept rather uncomfortably on top of the too hot blankets with pillows smaller than the throw pillows on my couch. As we prepared to shower, we found that our hotel room did not have a single towel. Makes me wonder what the cleaning crew was doing for that extra hour we had to wait. I called down to the front desk and asked for towels and was told they would be right up. My boyfriend jumped in the shower expecting a towel when he got finished. After about 15 minutes, the towels had still not arrived and his shower was more than done. I called the front desk again and was told for the second time they would be right up. After another 15-20 minutes the towels had STILL not arrived and my boyfriend had completely air-dried. I was not about to air-dry, so I walked down to the lobby to get the towels myself. The woman at the front desk said, "I bet he's at your door right now." I replied, "Im positive he is not" Sure enough, she got him on the walkie and he appeard at the front desk within seconds with arms full of towels. He was not possibly "at my door" on the seventh floor. I took the towels and commented that they would have been nice to have 30 minutes ago with which he responded the third shift crew was incredibly busy fixing the problems of the day crew. As if the wait for the towels wasn't bad enough, the shower itself wasn't exactly pleasant. The soap made my skin incredibly dry and shampoo and conditioner left my hair feeling worse than before. Unfortunately, I had forgotten to bring my own. I won't make that mistake again, but then again I won't make the mistake of staying at a Crown Plaza again, either. After being incredibly disappointed in our stay, all we wanted to do was leave the next morning. Unfortunately for us, even that took more than a 30 minute wait. Upon checking out we asked the lady at the front desk to call Valet and have our car brought around. She kindly obliged. We waited, and waited. After quite a while, we asked if she had called and she told us that she had. We waited some more. After still not seeing our vehicle, we asked the gentleman who seemed to be running the valet how much longer until our number. He checked his list and said our number was not even on the list. We relayed this message to the woman at the front desk and she informed us that those gentlemen were not in charge of valet. We gave the gentleman our valet number anyway and finally had our car pulled around about 5 minutes later. Overall, our stay at the Crowne Plaza was uncomfortable and unpleasant. We waited more than an acceptable amount of time to check in and check out. The room was uninviting, warm, and not fully prepared for our stay. I will not stay at the Crowne Plaza again, and I most certainly will not recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ST. LOUIS - DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Landing Larry
Business
STL
Jul 9, 2012

Batch party

Great staff, poor maint, temp was 108 this day and a/c was not working. Waking up in a pool of sweat. Maint solution, they put a fan in the room. To say the least it didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top