$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

4 stars
View map of 1 East Pershing Road, 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
134 reviews
Weekend getaway

They allowed us an early check-in. Room was perfect, bed super comfy *we're picky! Good location to... See full review

  • kdsunshine
  • Jun 23, 2015
Business Trip

Even though this was a business trip, this really turned into a little R&R!!!! Everything was... See full review

  • Katherine S.
  • Feb 17, 2015

Westin Crown Center, overlooking the city and adjacent Penn Valley Park, combines city convenience and peaceful green space with an on-site outdoor heated pool and track and tennis courts. This AAA Four Diamond city resort is within walking distance of Hallmark's Crown Center, where guests enjoy 85 acres of shopping, restaurants, theaters, a public outdoor ice rink (seasonal), and Union Station, another of Kansas City's renowned entertainment districts.

Rooms

Floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or park make the spacious blue and beige rooms seem even larger. Each of the 724 guest rooms and suites assures a good night's rest with Westin's signature Heavenly Bed, featuring a pillow top mattress, down duvet, and linens with a 250 thread count. Relax with an in-room movie or catch up on work at the large, moveable desk equipped with Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Property features

Westin's pet policy welcomes dogs weighing less than 40 pounds at no additional charge and provides each pooch with its own Westin Heavenly Dog Bed.

 

Choose from two in-hotel restaurants or in-room dining, available 24 hours. The Brasserie serves contemporary American cuisine with a local accent -- it would be a shame to miss the Kansas City-style BBQ ribs -- in a casual atmosphere, where children are welcome and eat for $1 every day with the purchase of an adult entrée. Spectacular views from the 20th-story Benton's Prime Steakhouse vie with a menu featuring dishes such as hot smoked Alaskan sablefish and seared lump crab cakes. Brunch includes made-to-order omelets and carving stations, and live jazz warms the setting on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings.

 

After a swim, jog around the track, or workout, guests can relax in the whirlpool and sauna or enjoy an in-room spa service (fees apply).

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond-rated hotel
  • Downtown location with park-side setting
  • More than 50,000 square feet of meeting space, plus an exhibition hall
  • Outdoor heated swimming pool, track, and tennis courts
  • Free coupon booklet for discounts at Crown Center shops and restaurants
Nearby attractions
  • National World War I Museum (one block)
  • Union Station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Penn Valley Park (adjacent)
  • Irish Museum and Cultural Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • 53,873 square feet of meeting space with 31 flexible meeting rooms
  • Crown Center Exhibition Hall with 54,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center with two computers, a copier, fax machine, and printer (equipment fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Kansas City International Airport, MCI (22 mi/35.5 km)
  • Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport, MKC (3 mi/4.8 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$141
4.0 / 5 163 reviews
★★★
$159
4.0 / 5 64 reviews
★★★★
$149
3.8 / 5 104 reviews
★★★
$129
3.4 / 5 42 reviews
★★★★
$169
4.5 / 5 21 reviews
★★★
$144
3.7 / 5 26 reviews
★★★
$106
3.5 / 5 81 reviews
★★★★
$144
3.7 / 5 23 reviews

The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doorman
Currency exchange
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • National World War I Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 0.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • The Money Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 1 mi
  • Sprint Center: 1 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 1.1 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 1.2 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 0.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • The Money Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 1 mi
  • Sprint Center: 1 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 1.1 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 1.2 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Westport: 1.8 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.6 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 3 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Missouri Town 1855: 4 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Kauffman Stadium: 6 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 6.1 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 7.1 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 8.2 mi

Dining

The Brasserie
Casual, elegant, and inviting, The Brasserie welcomes guests to enjoy contemporary American cuisine, wholesome SuperFoodsRx™ items, and frosty microbrews in a convivial atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not happy Daddy
Couples
Kansas City, MO
Aug 2, 2011

Everything Sucks!

First of all the Hotel bumped us from our reserved king bed to two doubles on a very "special" no kids night, [...]. Next, the room smelled like cat pee, it was worn. The tv was nice and the bed was good, those were the only two nice things I have to say. Next, there was a concert less than ten minutes from the hotel and several guests were attending yet the hotel refused to run a shuttle to the concert. We took a cab, were reassured by the hotel personnel and the cab personnel that there would be plenty of cabs around after the event and there weren't, the hotel still refused to pick us up, we waited more than two hours and paid more than 70 dollars to get back to the room. Then we were hungry, we tried the pizza place within crown center because nothing could come in from outside, and it was more than a 3 hour wait, we ordered room service that took about an hour, was cold, stale, overpriced, horrible, and the chips were out of date. Would strongly suggest staying anywhere else than Westin, we were not the only horrified customers, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Stay somewhere else

Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St. Louis, MO
Dec 29, 2010

Overpriced

Over a hundred bucks for the room, but they charged for internet. For got to put the do not disturb sign out, and they came barging in before 7am! Had to call down for shampoo as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jack Stack

Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bruce on the loose
Couples
Boston, MA
Nov 9, 2009

Very disappointed in Westin Crown Center

We were in Kansas City for a wedding and enjoyed the town, saw a good Andy Warhol show at the nearby Union Station, enjoyed outdoor ice skating in the public rink across the street. And the wedding at the Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art was wonderful. But the staff would not honor our confirmed reservation of a king bed room. I had called twice to reconfirm, but on arrival the desk staff claimed they had no knowledge of this and were unable change our room. Also: no one offered to help us with our bags, on arrival or departure. The bathroom was poor. There was no fan (NO VENTING AT ALL) -- and this alone was unfortunate. But on top of that the shower was warm, never hot. Hardware on the desk furniture was broken. The phones did not operate correctly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Public outdoor ice skating in the Crown Center complex. Really fun.

Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
robandsherry
Family
desmoines iowa
Nov 25, 2014

Once there your stuck

$16 self parking a night but no maps or people can tell you how to do it..$22 Valet and they actually stick there hand out for a tip! You have no choice you must use bell boy. $5.00 for a small bottle of apple juice.things close early get all your supplies before 7pm but if not prepair to pay the price if you forgot something at home! $16 for a cheesebuger that makes McDonalds look like the 4 star..what ever you do fill your bank account and bring lots of one dollar bills cause the people that work there actually stick there hands out for tips..yeah save a lot of money on here like i did but pay the diffrence when you get there..it is close to nothing..theres a mall thats suppose to be 80 acre? no more like a 1/4 acre the real mall is 17miles away..if you can get your car out of the valet..not a good choice for familys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Not Applicable

17 mile drive west in kansas..find a hotel out there

Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
buddy a
Business
Hingham, MA
Nov 23, 2014

What a (negative) Adventure!

The first night they spent 4 hours in my room fixing the bathroom lights. The second night I was awaken in the middle of the night by an alarm after I had been hearing what I thought was rain beating against the window. It turned out that a pipe had broken in my room and there was an inch of water on the floor. They moved me to another room promising that I would not have to pay for that night. The next room had a tv that did not work. That was fixed. The shower did not work properly so the water pressure was bad. I was unable to connect on the internet because the computer had me down in a totally different room besides the two that I had stayed in. When I went to get my bill. I was told that they could not take the one night off because I had pre-paid. Everyone was nice, but they were not able to get resolved. Still have not heard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ashley86
Couples
Lincoln, Nebraska
Jun 2, 2014

Overpriced and low quality...

Well, upon initial inspection things were fine, but after our first night there we were regretting our decision. One-- they locked the balconies so we couldn't go out. Very disappointed after we read that feature in the description and paid extra for it. Secondly, the room was not clean. There was a stain on our comforter, a dirty sock behind the balcony draperies, and don't get me started on the bathroom. We definitely won't be going back...such a waste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris, Starwood Fan
Couples
Colorado Springs, CO
Sep 14, 2009

Westin, off the mark

-As Starwood Properties go, this is the bottom of the list. -We were told that we could upgrade at check-in when we called directly to the hotel. When we arrived, upgrading was not an option. -Did not explain the parking fees/situation. Most hotels explain the process for parking when you notifiy the desk you have a car at check in. The staff just said, where the lot/garage was located. -Not your average Westin and not on par with other Starwood Resorts. We have stayed at a number of Starwood properties and we normally have a wonderful experience, but this was not the case here. We would not recommend this hotel. We visited the Hyatt while in town and it appears to be much nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Skies Restaurant and Lounge at the Hyatt. 42 Stories above KC, rotating restaurant, and great service.

Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GeneralCutter
Couples
Overland Park
Oct 20, 2013

Old needs update

Room was musty and towels old. Did not feel it was worth 200 a night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Council bluffs iowa
Dec 14, 2009

had fun in kc

I was told we where suppose to have a king size bed and when we arrived we where told they where all taken, and then there was a party next door that went on until 3 in the morning. Someone did call the security about them..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Topeka, KS
May 30, 2009

Westin is average

It's a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms and a very friendly staff but the bathtub filled up water during my shower and it never did unclog. Also the lamp didn't have a lightbulb and it costs $14.00 per day to park. Some very loud and drunk sounding people were staying across the hall from me. Luckily I was only there for one night, so the lack of sleep wasn't crucial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top