$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

4 stars
View map of 1 East Pershing Road, 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
138 reviews
Business Trip

Even though this was a business trip, this really turned into a little R&R!!!! Everything was... See full review

  • Katherine S.
  • Feb 17, 2015
In town for a Chiefs game

Was in town the weekend after Xmas. Needed a good central spot for restaraunts and bars. The Westin... See full review

  • JTIP
  • Jan 20, 2015
Four-star high-rise hotel connected to Hallmark's Crown Center

Westin Crown Center, overlooking the city and adjacent Penn Valley Park, combines city convenience and peaceful green space with an on-site outdoor heated pool and track and tennis courts. This AAA Four Diamond city resort is within walking distance of Hallmark's Crown Center, where guests enjoy 85 acres of shopping, restaurants, theaters, a public outdoor ice rink (seasonal), and Union Station, another of Kansas City's renowned entertainment districts.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond-rated hotel
  • Downtown location with park-side setting
  • More than 50,000 square feet of meeting space, plus an exhibition hall
  • Outdoor heated swimming pool, track, and tennis courts
  • Free coupon booklet for discounts at Crown Center shops and restaurants
Rooms

Floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or park make the spacious blue and beige rooms seem even larger. Each of the 724 guest rooms and suites assures a good night's rest with Westin's signature Heavenly Bed, featuring a pillow top mattress, down duvet, and linens with a 250 thread count. Relax with an in-room movie or catch up on work at the large, moveable desk equipped with Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Westin's pet policy welcomes dogs weighing less than 40 pounds at no additional charge and provides each pooch with its own Westin Heavenly Dog Bed.

 

Choose from two in-hotel restaurants or in-room dining, available 24 hours. The Brasserie serves contemporary American cuisine with a local accent -- it would be a shame to miss the Kansas City-style BBQ ribs -- in a casual atmosphere, where children are welcome and eat for $1 every day with the purchase of an adult entrée. Spectacular views from the 20th-story Benton's Prime Steakhouse vie with a menu featuring dishes such as hot smoked Alaskan sablefish and seared lump crab cakes. Brunch includes made-to-order omelets and carving stations, and live jazz warms the setting on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings.

 

After a swim, jog around the track, or workout, guests can relax in the whirlpool and sauna or enjoy an in-room spa service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Kansas City International Airport, MCI (22 mi/35.5 km)
  • Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport, MKC (3 mi/4.8 km)
Nearby attractions
  • National World War I Museum (one block)
  • Union Station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Penn Valley Park (adjacent)
  • Irish Museum and Cultural Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • 53,873 square feet of meeting space with 31 flexible meeting rooms
  • Crown Center Exhibition Hall with 54,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center with two computers, a copier, fax machine, and printer (equipment fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Tennis
Steam bath
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Security
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Doorman
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • National World War I Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 0.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • The Money Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 1 mi
  • Sprint Center: 1 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 1.1 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 1.2 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 0.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • The Money Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 1 mi
  • Sprint Center: 1 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 1.1 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 1.2 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Westport: 1.8 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.6 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 3 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Missouri Town 1855: 4 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Kauffman Stadium: 6 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 6.1 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 7.1 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 8.2 mi

Dining

The Brasserie
Casual, elegant, and inviting, The Brasserie welcomes guests to enjoy contemporary American cuisine, wholesome SuperFoodsRx™ items, and frosty microbrews in a convivial atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northwestern Massachusetts
Oct 19, 2009

review Westin Crown Center, Kansas City

I was in KC for a conference; the last time I was in KC I stayed at a small inn with a kitchen and a living room in a less busy section of town. This stay was enjoyable for different reasons... the choices of nearby eateries and shopping was something I hadn't counted on. I don't consider myself a city girl, but I do like KC and it was interesting to stay in an area I haven't before. The Staff were VERY friendly and helpful. A gentleman in a white jacket at 6:00 a.m. accompanied me to the garage so I could retrieve my car without concern for who might be in the garage. He was MOST accommodating. Room service showed up very quickly after I placed my order. You've done an excellent job of training your staff to be helpful to guests and certainly made the pricing within reach of "regular folks".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas TX
Oct 13, 2009

comfortable room, a bit noisy though

Room was nicely and recently remodeled, staff was friendly and helpful. It was a bit noisy as there were several meetings going on and a lot of young people staying at the hotel who liked to party late into the night. After they all left, the hotel was nice and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern NJ
Oct 8, 2009

Beautiful hotel

The hotel was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. My flight schedule did not work well with the set check in and check out times, so I called the front desk and asked for an early check in and late check out and they were able to accomodate both requests. The bed was comfy, the toiletries smelled nice. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lovely downtown shopping and dining area nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle - Cerner presenter
Business
Tonawanda, NY
Oct 7, 2009

Fantastic relaxing stay

Had a room available for me to check in when I arrived early around 11am, and I could check into my conference from the lobby which was awesome. Room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful, halls were quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The Crown Center was awesome. I could find what I needed right in the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield, MO
Oct 6, 2009

Satisfactory stay

The location was very handy for the events we were attending. Our request for a handicapped room for my mother was easily accommodated, however their handicapped room consisted only of one grab bar in the tub and one BEHIND the stool. She was unalbe to use either the tub or stool. When I contacted the desk and requested a more accessible room (wheelchair accessible, even though she is not in a wheelchair) they quickly changed her room, and the new room was much more suitable to her physical limitations. Overall, a satisfactory stay, but not spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sure
Oct 3, 2009

good

They gave me a 5 dollar coupon to use in the shops/dining every day that i did not use room service. NOONE honored them. They also give you a book of coupons that had so many stipulations that I could not use them. If they want to be 'green', they should save the paper. Great hotel though!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tsm122
Business
Lincoln,NE
Sep 29, 2009

Westin Perfect for Irish Festival

Steps out the door to the Irish Festival - couldn't have been more convenient. Beautiful room, great variety of pillows ( often a pet peeve of mine) and great amenities. I will stay here next year for the festival, and sooner if I have a reason to be in KC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Sep 26, 2009

Westin Crown Center

The room was very comfortable and the location was perfect. Great views of the city and lots to do with in walking distance. It made our short stay in KC a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The steak was great and the concierge provided us with discount coupons, but stay away from the shrimp.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis
Sep 19, 2009

Nice Hotel

Very nice hotel. Extremely convenient for shopping; the mall is connected to the hotel. Many of the restaurants in the mall allow you to charge your meal to your room. They offer a green option where you forgo maid service and receive a $5 voucher to that can be used in hotel's restaurants. My only complaints: the elevators were slow and there are no microwaves in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael Jordan
Business
Ventura, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Very impressed with Westin hotel

Very happy with the location. For a first timer I had everything I needed around me and within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is attached to the Crown Center and there are plenty of places to eat. Very convenient location for a first timer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top