$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

4 stars
1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
134 reviews
Birthday Get-A-Way

Simply, Great! Had a lot of fun and great time with my wife. See full review

  • Isaac050
  • Dec 1, 2014
Can't Go Wrong Staying here.

As always great staff who are eager to please and make our stay comfortable. Clean room and bath.... See full review

  • cgar103150
  • Jun 1, 2014
Four-star high-rise hotel connected to Hallmark's Crown Center

Westin Crown Center, overlooking the city and adjacent Penn Valley Park, combines city convenience and peaceful green space with an on-site outdoor heated pool and track and tennis courts. This AAA Four Diamond city resort is within walking distance of Hallmark's Crown Center, where guests enjoy 85 acres of shopping, restaurants, theaters, a public outdoor ice rink (seasonal), and Union Station, another of Kansas City's renowned entertainment districts.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond-rated hotel
  • Downtown location with park-side setting
  • More than 50,000 square feet of meeting space, plus an exhibition hall
  • Outdoor heated swimming pool, track, and tennis courts
  • Free coupon booklet for discounts at Crown Center shops and restaurants
Rooms

Floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or park make the spacious blue and beige rooms seem even larger. Each of the 724 guest rooms and suites assures a good night's rest with Westin's signature Heavenly Bed, featuring a pillow top mattress, down duvet, and linens with a 250 thread count. Relax with an in-room movie or catch up on work at the large, moveable desk equipped with Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Westin's pet policy welcomes dogs weighing less than 40 pounds at no additional charge and provides each pooch with its own Westin Heavenly Dog Bed.

 

Choose from two in-hotel restaurants or in-room dining, available 24 hours. The Brasserie serves contemporary American cuisine with a local accent -- it would be a shame to miss the Kansas City-style BBQ ribs -- in a casual atmosphere, where children are welcome and eat for $1 every day with the purchase of an adult entrée. Spectacular views from the 20th-story Benton's Prime Steakhouse vie with a menu featuring dishes such as hot smoked Alaskan sablefish and seared lump crab cakes. Brunch includes made-to-order omelets and carving stations, and live jazz warms the setting on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings.

 

After a swim, jog around the track, or workout, guests can relax in the whirlpool and sauna or enjoy an in-room spa service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Kansas City International Airport, MCI (22 mi/35.5 km)
  • Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport, MKC (3 mi/4.8 km)
Nearby attractions
  • National World War I Museum (one block)
  • Union Station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Penn Valley Park (adjacent)
  • Irish Museum and Cultural Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • 53,873 square feet of meeting space with 31 flexible meeting rooms
  • Crown Center Exhibition Hall with 54,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center with two computers, a copier, fax machine, and printer (equipment fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Safe
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • National World War I Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 0.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • The Money Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 1 mi
  • Sprint Center: 1 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 1.1 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 1.2 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 0.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • The Money Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 1 mi
  • Sprint Center: 1 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 1.1 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 1.2 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Westport: 1.8 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.6 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 3 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Missouri Town 1855: 4 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Kauffman Stadium: 6 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 6.1 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 7.1 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 8.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City, Mx
Jan 12, 2011

Nice Place to Stay

The hotel was nice an cozzy, great place to stay an enjoy Downtown Kansas City

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Dec 29, 2010

Overpriced

Over a hundred bucks for the room, but they charged for internet. For got to put the do not disturb sign out, and they came barging in before 7am! Had to call down for shampoo as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jack Stack

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan Beach, Ca
Dec 22, 2010

Excellent get away

There is a lot to do within walking range, which is ideal for me. Enjoyed the stay. The staff was very accommodating. I had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wichita, ks
Nov 27, 2010

Great Stay

Recently refurbished so like new. Crisp, whiter than white sheets made for great sleep. Very clean, well laid out. Staff was very accommodating. Lots to do in the Crown Center (go for Big Mama's pecan cinnamon rolls, good!) and surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rux
Business
Weston FL
Nov 14, 2010

Three Days & Nights at WCC, KCMO

Have stayed at this hotel once before; plenty to do in the whole complex... if you have any interest in history, architecture, and/or railroads, you MUST walk across the footbridge to Union Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is about 5 blocks south of I70 (KC to StL) and about 10 blocks north of KC's famous Plaza shopping area on Main street... easy access to the two main directions needed. 1/2 hour south of KCI

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas nurse
Business
Central Texas
Nov 9, 2010

Older hotel

Had to call to request washrags ( none in room), tv did not work when we got there. They made our beds the whole time with 2 flat sheets, not fitted and they kept coming unmade. I went to the "workout center" which was elliticals and treadmills and was charged $5 per day. Convienent to Crown Center but disappointed with room and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Highly recommend Union Station. Beautiful!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Nov 1, 2010

Concert getaway

It was great close to the Sprint Center were our event was taking place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Papillion, NE
Oct 31, 2010

Fun Halloween Weekend

Went out in power and light. Thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the trip. I would of like it better if the hotel did not have additional charges. (Ex. Daily charge for parking)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hays, KS
Oct 18, 2010

A Fine Weekend

Our room was clean, pleasant and quiet. We did have to turn off the refrigerator, though. We had a nice view of the WWI Memorial, the Westin swimming pool, and, most important, part of the route of the Kansas City Marathon (our granddaughter completed the half marathon). We ate right in the hotel both nights. Friday at the Brasserie, where the food and service were very good and moderately priced. Saturday at Benton's, a posh steakhouse at the top of the hotel with live jazz and another great view of KC. This was very expensive for the five of us, but it was worth it. I really appreciated the staff's politeness, and, most of all, the complete lack of problems we had with any aspect of our sojourn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Country Club Plaza is only a short distance from the hotel. This is one of the largest and best shopping malls in the country. I was delighted to find a Brooks Brothers Women's store there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Regular Weston Customer
Business
Chicago
Sep 26, 2010

A Bath with a 1 1/2" Long Cockroach?

My brother and myself arrived at the Weston on Friday afternoon and check-in and valet service for my rented car went very smoothly. We were attending an in-hotel conference. All service was excellent except the room cleaning. The room appeared clean upon arrival. Sat. evening I went up to the room for a break and when I turned on the light in the bathroom I saw a 1 and a half inch long brown cockroach in the middle of the dry tub. After a couple of seconds the roach scurried over to the tub drain and went down it. I asked at the front desk for the tub area to be fumigated and service was sent up immediately. The elevators were very congested regularly on the weekend. I tried to use the stairs to go down from the 8th floor but the stairs do not go down to the lower floors. They ended at the 5th floor. After going down a different set one flight I walked around the outside pool to enter the gym and try to keep making my way down but the stairway was padlocked closed. I had to go and wait for a space on an elevator to complete my journey down to the lobby. The bed I slept in was covered with a white coverlet which had a smudge of black dirt on the top edge about 2" by 1". One of the big cushy bath towels was also dirty with a cruumbly substance in brown color on the inside of the folded towel. The food which was served with grace and efficiency was good except the rolled up scrambled egg burritos. They were served with salsa but were tasteless without. The beef served at dinner was overcooked. Coffee was served with way too little milk or creamer available. I would avoid the facility if I could on a later visit to K.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mini mall attached to the Ball Room level of the hotel which offers a good variety of affordable and varied meal types. The mall is not carrying Weston brand names so it seems they are independant restraunts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top