$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

4 stars
1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
134 reviews
Birthday Get-A-Way

Simply, Great! Had a lot of fun and great time with my wife. See full review

  • Isaac050
  • Dec 1, 2014
Can't Go Wrong Staying here.

As always great staff who are eager to please and make our stay comfortable. Clean room and bath.... See full review

  • cgar103150
  • Jun 1, 2014
Four-star high-rise hotel connected to Hallmark's Crown Center

Westin Crown Center, overlooking the city and adjacent Penn Valley Park, combines city convenience and peaceful green space with an on-site outdoor heated pool and track and tennis courts. This AAA Four Diamond city resort is within walking distance of Hallmark's Crown Center, where guests enjoy 85 acres of shopping, restaurants, theaters, a public outdoor ice rink (seasonal), and Union Station, another of Kansas City's renowned entertainment districts.

Highlights
  • AAA Four Diamond-rated hotel
  • Downtown location with park-side setting
  • More than 50,000 square feet of meeting space, plus an exhibition hall
  • Outdoor heated swimming pool, track, and tennis courts
  • Free coupon booklet for discounts at Crown Center shops and restaurants
Rooms

Floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the city or park make the spacious blue and beige rooms seem even larger. Each of the 724 guest rooms and suites assures a good night's rest with Westin's signature Heavenly Bed, featuring a pillow top mattress, down duvet, and linens with a 250 thread count. Relax with an in-room movie or catch up on work at the large, moveable desk equipped with Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Features

Westin's pet policy welcomes dogs weighing less than 40 pounds at no additional charge and provides each pooch with its own Westin Heavenly Dog Bed.

 

Choose from two in-hotel restaurants or in-room dining, available 24 hours. The Brasserie serves contemporary American cuisine with a local accent -- it would be a shame to miss the Kansas City-style BBQ ribs -- in a casual atmosphere, where children are welcome and eat for $1 every day with the purchase of an adult entrée. Spectacular views from the 20th-story Benton's Prime Steakhouse vie with a menu featuring dishes such as hot smoked Alaskan sablefish and seared lump crab cakes. Brunch includes made-to-order omelets and carving stations, and live jazz warms the setting on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday evenings.

 

After a swim, jog around the track, or workout, guests can relax in the whirlpool and sauna or enjoy an in-room spa service (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Kansas City International Airport, MCI (22 mi/35.5 km)
  • Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport, MKC (3 mi/4.8 km)
Nearby attractions
  • National World War I Museum (one block)
  • Union Station (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Penn Valley Park (adjacent)
  • Irish Museum and Cultural Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • 53,873 square feet of meeting space with 31 flexible meeting rooms
  • Crown Center Exhibition Hall with 54,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center with two computers, a copier, fax machine, and printer (equipment fees apply)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Doorman
Video checkout
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Room
Satellite TV
Cordless phone
Safe
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • National World War I Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 0.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • The Money Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 1 mi
  • Sprint Center: 1 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 1.1 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 1.2 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 0.1 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 0.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 0.2 mi
  • Union Station: 0.3 mi
  • The Money Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 1 mi
  • Sprint Center: 1 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 1.1 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 1.2 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 1.3 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Westport: 1.8 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 2.6 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 2.6 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 3 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Missouri Town 1855: 4 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 5.8 mi
  • Kauffman Stadium: 6 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 6.1 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 7.1 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 8.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GRAND PRAIRIE, TEXAS
Jul 6, 2009

comfortable location, good price

great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st. louis, mo area
Jun 22, 2009

Interesting stay

The hotel was great. When we arrived late Friday eveing they had us booked for a two double bed room. When I asked if they had a room with a queen they said they did and put us in the queen room. It was a Murphy bed but was very comfortable. The room was huge with a sofa, small table and chairs and a bar. The cleaning staff was great until Sunday. We weren't ready to leave the room when they arrived first thing in the morning so I asked that they come back. When we returned to our room about 430P they had not made it to our room. They arrived about 530p just as we were leaving for dinner. They had a huge turnover on Sunday so I know they were busy. When we returned for the evening the only thing they had done was make the bed and put clean towels. They had left the used towels. Also discovered Monday morning no regular coffee grounds had been left. Except for this small inconvience, our stay was great. I know this isn't the hotels responsibility, but was disappointed when I found out the city had discontinued the bus service to the baseball stadium. We ended up paying over $60 in cab fare to attend a baseball game. Since the baseball and football stadiums are so far from anywhere, it seems like the city could make it a bit easier for out of towners to attend events -- at least my team won!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found several great places to eat - starting with the bar/restaurant in the lobby of the Westin. For our special dinner we went to Skies which was well worth the cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel Budget Extraordinaire
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 17, 2009

Will nickel and dime your budget away!

The hotel is beautiful and the location is nice. The rooms were clean. We apparently stayed on the wrong side of the hotel because the trains woke us up regularly and they forgot to clean our room for 2 days. The biggest problem was that we expected to NOT have to pay for a bunch of extras b/c we upgraded to a nicer hotel - WRONG! We had to pay $14 a day for parking (and that was the cheapest we could get it), $1.50 for each local call (so we used our cell phones), $5 a day for the fitness center and $10 a day for internet. We only budgeted so much and for 4 days, these extra costs would add up. I called down to the desk and asked them about it - they basically said, sorry, if you don't like it you can move to another hotel. BUT, they failed to mention that the fitness club costs $5 a day, NOT the pool. We found this out on the last day when we decided to cough up the $10 to got swimming! Then they failed to tell us the while it is $10 a day for internet in your room,there is FREE wireless in the lobby!! It was like they didn't want us to know, but how could you miss it with the dozens of people in the lobby with their laptops. The location was nice, walking distance to the Memorial, Union Station and the WW1 Museum and a mall in the hotel BUT be forewarned - the mall shops and the food in the food courts is SUPER expensive! I wouldn't recommend eating there. We spent $35 eating lunch at Einstein's (for myself, my husband and our daughter). I won't stay there again - we are shooting for the Marriott next time - free wireless,free pool, less expensive and a nice, somewhat affordable restaurant on top that spins. :) PLUS, when we were contemplating switching hotels, they offered to send the shuttle to get us - BUT Orbitz wouldn't refund the money to our credit card if the hotel refunded it to them so we couldn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A short drive into downtown will be well worth it as the price of food gets more realistic. The food and shops at the Westin are WAY TOO expensive! And if you are looking for a GREAT meal - go to the Golden Ox by the Arena. A little pricy but the BEST meal I have had in years!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KC Runner
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jun 8, 2009

Westin Crown Center

We stayed at the Westin for the annual KC Hospital Hill Run. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished with modern furniture. The view of downtown was great and the location can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sodus Point, New York
Jun 1, 2009

Westin Crown - Excellent value

Our room sold for around $93 which is an exceptional value for that level of quality. For those who would rather not pay for all extras there is access to free internet in lobby and parking across the street if you are willing to move it by 8:00 AM. Serene waterfall and lively shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Affordable and good breakfast and lunch at Union station which is attached.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Topeka, KS
May 30, 2009

Westin is average

It's a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms and a very friendly staff but the bathtub filled up water during my shower and it never did unclog. Also the lamp didn't have a lightbulb and it costs $14.00 per day to park. Some very loud and drunk sounding people were staying across the hall from me. Luckily I was only there for one night, so the lack of sleep wasn't crucial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mo
May 30, 2009

excellent

Renovated rooms nice and clean. Hotel nickel and dimes you for things that should be free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
May 26, 2009

Great Weekend Getaway

Never having been to Kansas City, we selected this hotel for its central location - and it did not disappoint us. A beautiful hotel adjacent to a mall and cultural experiences - must see the World War 1 museum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Up scale shopping is a short drive away with many great places to eat. A beautiful city to explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wichita
May 26, 2009

very nice

My wife and I had a wonderful time from beginning to end. I did not bring the kids, but there is plenty for them to do if you do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, Ne
May 25, 2009

Exellent

Great place to stay. Great location to go to the Plaza and the power light district. Good restaurants. Ill recommended to anyone specially to go around spend some time around the power light district and good shopping experience at the plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top