$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

4 stars
View map of 1 East Pershing Road, 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Captain Joe
Business
Stockton, Ca
Jul 19, 2009

Very nice people and excellent Service!

I was very happy with the whole experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The WWI Museum and the Delta Farrie that was restored was a great sight to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jul 19, 2009

Kansas City Weekend

I was pleased with everything about this hotel. However, when I returned home, I realized I had been charged $29 for parking without being told. It was billed to my Discover card. I was not made aware of the fact that parking would not be free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ABEB
Business
Columbus, OH
Jul 18, 2009

Heavenly Rest

The atmosphere was very relaxing, I was able to enjoy restful sleep and quiet mornings. Even with all the business conferences going on at the time, I never felt I was at work. The relaxing garden inside the hotel made for a very inviting evening walk. Staff was friendly and helpful in providing directions and accommodations. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fair lawn, NJ
Jul 16, 2009

great heavenly place!!!

the room was quite large, heavenly beds, floor to ceiling windows, nice and clean!!! very freindly hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GRAND PRAIRIE, TEXAS
Jul 6, 2009

comfortable location, good price

great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st. louis, mo area
Jun 22, 2009

Interesting stay

The hotel was great. When we arrived late Friday eveing they had us booked for a two double bed room. When I asked if they had a room with a queen they said they did and put us in the queen room. It was a Murphy bed but was very comfortable. The room was huge with a sofa, small table and chairs and a bar. The cleaning staff was great until Sunday. We weren't ready to leave the room when they arrived first thing in the morning so I asked that they come back. When we returned to our room about 430P they had not made it to our room. They arrived about 530p just as we were leaving for dinner. They had a huge turnover on Sunday so I know they were busy. When we returned for the evening the only thing they had done was make the bed and put clean towels. They had left the used towels. Also discovered Monday morning no regular coffee grounds had been left. Except for this small inconvience, our stay was great. I know this isn't the hotels responsibility, but was disappointed when I found out the city had discontinued the bus service to the baseball stadium. We ended up paying over $60 in cab fare to attend a baseball game. Since the baseball and football stadiums are so far from anywhere, it seems like the city could make it a bit easier for out of towners to attend events -- at least my team won!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found several great places to eat - starting with the bar/restaurant in the lobby of the Westin. For our special dinner we went to Skies which was well worth the cost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel Budget Extraordinaire
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 17, 2009

Will nickel and dime your budget away!

The hotel is beautiful and the location is nice. The rooms were clean. We apparently stayed on the wrong side of the hotel because the trains woke us up regularly and they forgot to clean our room for 2 days. The biggest problem was that we expected to NOT have to pay for a bunch of extras b/c we upgraded to a nicer hotel - WRONG! We had to pay $14 a day for parking (and that was the cheapest we could get it), $1.50 for each local call (so we used our cell phones), $5 a day for the fitness center and $10 a day for internet. We only budgeted so much and for 4 days, these extra costs would add up. I called down to the desk and asked them about it - they basically said, sorry, if you don't like it you can move to another hotel. BUT, they failed to mention that the fitness club costs $5 a day, NOT the pool. We found this out on the last day when we decided to cough up the $10 to got swimming! Then they failed to tell us the while it is $10 a day for internet in your room,there is FREE wireless in the lobby!! It was like they didn't want us to know, but how could you miss it with the dozens of people in the lobby with their laptops. The location was nice, walking distance to the Memorial, Union Station and the WW1 Museum and a mall in the hotel BUT be forewarned - the mall shops and the food in the food courts is SUPER expensive! I wouldn't recommend eating there. We spent $35 eating lunch at Einstein's (for myself, my husband and our daughter). I won't stay there again - we are shooting for the Marriott next time - free wireless,free pool, less expensive and a nice, somewhat affordable restaurant on top that spins. :) PLUS, when we were contemplating switching hotels, they offered to send the shuttle to get us - BUT Orbitz wouldn't refund the money to our credit card if the hotel refunded it to them so we couldn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A short drive into downtown will be well worth it as the price of food gets more realistic. The food and shops at the Westin are WAY TOO expensive! And if you are looking for a GREAT meal - go to the Golden Ox by the Arena. A little pricy but the BEST meal I have had in years!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KC Runner
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jun 8, 2009

Westin Crown Center

We stayed at the Westin for the annual KC Hospital Hill Run. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished with modern furniture. The view of downtown was great and the location can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sodus Point, New York
Jun 1, 2009

Westin Crown - Excellent value

Our room sold for around $93 which is an exceptional value for that level of quality. For those who would rather not pay for all extras there is access to free internet in lobby and parking across the street if you are willing to move it by 8:00 AM. Serene waterfall and lively shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Affordable and good breakfast and lunch at Union station which is attached.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Topeka, KS
May 30, 2009

Westin is average

It's a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms and a very friendly staff but the bathtub filled up water during my shower and it never did unclog. Also the lamp didn't have a lightbulb and it costs $14.00 per day to park. Some very loud and drunk sounding people were staying across the hall from me. Luckily I was only there for one night, so the lack of sleep wasn't crucial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top