$38 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 21, 2015 Check-out: Mar 23, 2015

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

2 stars
View map of 11831 Northwest Plaza Circle, Kansas City, MO 64153

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
277 reviews
Great room

Our stay was a Great experience !!! It was a very comfortable & cozy room. We Loved the mirror next... See full review

  • Grandpa55
  • Jun 14, 2014
Very clean and comfortable

No complaint at all. Wifi was fast. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. See full review

  • kookimparklee
  • Sep 12, 2013
Budget-friendly and family-friendly airport hotel

Clean lines and comfortable no-nonsense furnishings create a pleasing environment, proving that budget hotels can be stylish, and the level of in-room facilities exceeds the usual two-star expectations. Easy to find at the intersections of Interstates 29 and 435, and close to major shopping areas, the hotel is not just for travelers headed for the airport. Worlds of Fun, Kansas City Motor Speedway, and the American Jazz Museum are a short drive away. Use of PC with high-speed Internet in lobby is free, as is high-speed wireless throughout the hotel.

Highlights
  • Close to major highways and shopping areas
  • Free 24-hour airport shuttle service
  • Complimentary "Get Up & Joe" breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel
  • Free outdoor parking, RVs welcome
Rooms

Two queen-size beds with pillow-top mattresses are dressed in upscale 300-count, 100 percent cotton satin white striped linens. All guest rooms feature a 37-inch flat-screen television with expanded cable, including CNN and ESPN, and include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, sofa sleeper and wet bar, roomy work desk with lamp, and free Wi-Fi. Local phone calls are also free.

Features

This family-friendly hotel provides cribs at no charge, and a guest laundry facility is especially welcome to parents. Pets are allowed in guests' rooms with prior reservation (fees apply). Several restaurants are only four miles (6 km) away in Zonaroza Shopping Plaza. Even closer, Tiffany Greens Golf Club offers public tee-off times (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Kansas City International Airport, MCI (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport, MKC (15.40 mi/24.8 km)
  • Free 24-hour airport shuttle service
Nearby attractions
  • KCI Expo Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • AMC Berrywoods 24 Movieplex (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Tiffney Springs Golf Course  (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Worlds of Fun (15 mi/15.1 km)
  • American Jazz Museum (18 mi/29 km)
Business
  • Business Center with free high-speed Internet, PC-printer, copier, and fax
  • Meeting and banquet facilities
  • Near corporate offices of Sony, Sprint, Harley Davidson, and Toyota

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Missouri Town 1855: 12.8 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 13.7 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 14 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 14.7 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 15.1 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 15.2 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 15.3 mi
  • Sprint Center: 15.4 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 15.5 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 15.5 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 15.6 mi
  • Union Station: 16 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 16.2 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 16.2 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 16.3 mi
  • Missouri Town 1855: 12.8 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 13.7 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 14 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 14.7 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 15.1 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 15.2 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 15.3 mi
  • Sprint Center: 15.4 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 15.5 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 15.5 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 15.6 mi
  • Union Station: 16 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 16.2 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 16.2 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 16.3 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 16.3 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 16.4 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 16.4 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 16.5 mi
  • The Money Museum: 16.8 mi
  • Westport: 17.7 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 18.8 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 18.9 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 19.3 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 19.5 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 19.8 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 20.7 mi
  • Kauffman Stadium: 20.8 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 22.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (277)

Ratings and reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 277
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papa 2 lovely singer atBC
Business
Salem, OR
Nov 17, 2014

Excellent choice for the price

I was looking for a less expensive option and this hotel was an excellent choice. Room was clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast was fine: cold cereal, fruit, yogurt, bagels (toaster), muffins, breakfast sandwich (microwave), milk, juice, and hot chocolate. I was not expecting eggs and bacon. It met my breakfast needs. Staff was friendly (a bit chatty) and helpful. One instance of language barrier but was not an issue. I would choose again to save $20 - $30 plus per night. Applied savings to nicer dinners. Wireless network worked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Highly recommend Cedar Ridge restaurant in Atchison, KS (near Benedictine College)--about 30-35 miles. Family/farm-style dinner each night (they choose what is for dinner) of all-you-can eat (we had chicken, ribs, and fish) and the beef barley (broth from brisket) was wonderful. Highly recommend. Friendly service--felt like friends of the family.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami, fl
Sep 9, 2014

Great price

Very comfortable room for my family and I. The breakfast could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yosta
Business
Kansas City, MO
Aug 2, 2014

Love getaway

Very good for its price but too bad there was no kind size bed available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheer mom PTC
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Jul 8, 2014

Quick layover

Shuttle service was fantastic! I had to leave the hotel at 4:30am and they were on time. Breakfast was already out so we did a grab and go. Room was clean and staff very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dee Denmark
Business
Manassas Va.
Jun 15, 2014

Juan

I had to pay $25 to check in an hour early I did not receive a receipt when I checked out.overall condition of the hotel was run down and smelly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Namdlo
Business
Colorado
Apr 7, 2014

Royals home opener

When asked if they were "by" the stadium we were told that it wasn't that far, turns out its a 50 dollar cab each way to Kaufman stadium. That added an extra $200 dollars in cab fare. The hotel is very dirty and not a place I would ever take my family again, cigarette burns in some sheets, burn marks on counters, faucet in tub dripped the entire time, very old hotel. You could open the second floor window with no screen, always helpful with children in which we had 2, continually telling them to get off the "bay window"/ quarter bed where the window was. The complimentary breakfast from 6-9:30 a.m. Was like fruit, cereal, yogurt........no eggs, bacon, nothing warm, other that using the 1 toaster used by "everyone" in the building. By far, I would never take my family back to a hotel of this type. We will definitely pay the money for a place with food, closer to the stadium, and some place a lot, a lot, cleaner with a nicer staff, this is a horrible place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mssuzy
Business
Joliet, IL
Dec 23, 2013

Not Very Convenient and a Disappointment

Asked for disability room and the room was on the 3rd floor and no safety bars to get in and out of tub or even a working phone in the room. Toilet was too low making it hard to use for the elderly parents who ended up staying there with and no non-slip grip on the bottom of tub to use shower and bathtub so deep that we had to use my cellphone to call the desk and have the fire department come to get my elderly father out of the tub. Bottom of clothes cabinet was broken and a iron print was on top of table. No separate light system so when someone gets up at night they wake up the whole room to see. The worst problem was the luggage cart that couldn't be pushed easy and had a mind of its know, I got muscles from trying to push, pull and drag it. We had to rest several times and became frustrated and upset with so many issues with the hotel. We also had a non-smoking room but could smell tobacco fumes from next door and noise all night long. When told of the issues in the hotel I received odd looks and that if I needed anything to call provider because that was how it worked. Bathroom wasn't cleaned the next day but that was partly my fault because there was a miscommunication problem with housekeeping. Overall we were disappointed but we will go thru provider in the future and with a rating of 2 stars I didn't have high expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SpontaneousTraveller
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Dec 2, 2013

If you need a bed, this place works

The bed and bedding was very new and comfortable. We slept fine and the wi-fi worked well. There was a party going on above us, which we didn't hear so much as kind of be in the middle of -- drunk people make it harder to check into a hotel. Furnishings are indeed dated, and we got upgraded to a "suite" that included microwave, refrigerator, and little sink. These would be great for someone who was saying more than one night. Basically, this place met our needs, but I was a little nervous about my car in the partking lot, and the room layout was just a little odd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

VERY close to the KC Expo Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Valuemaster 56
Business
Shawnee OK
Oct 28, 2013

KC Chiefs getaway

Staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast area was clean and stocked. The floors could have been vacuumed better and carpet shampooed but the room was clean otherwise. Value was exceptional as most comparable hotels in the area with the amenities offered were much more expensive. I will stay there the next time I am in the area if the price is the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
frankthgr8
Business
Kansas
Aug 28, 2013

Good service

While the furnishings were very much out of the '80s, the price could not be beat, the staff was friendly and the bed was surprisingly comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top