$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

2 stars
View map of 11831 Northwest Plaza Circle, Kansas City, MO 64153

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eggman
Single
Omaha Nebraska
Jan 13, 2014

Microtel staff are nice

I was impressed with the friendly greeting when I checked in. That will help a hotel overcome being dated which this hotel is. It needs some updating but when you have $45 rates it is probably hard to do that. Noted the smell of people cooking in their rooms so I would guess workers who are needing long term stays are checking in and making themselves at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kansas Lady
Single
Kansas
Dec 27, 2013

Not that great

Not expecting much because I didn't pay that much for this hotel room--just needed a room close to the airport. But it was very small, dark, and very basic. No hairdryer, coffeemaker, etc. .wires were hanging out of the ceiling-don't know whether a light or a smoke alarm was supposed to be there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mssuzy
Family
Joliet, IL
Dec 23, 2013

Not Very Convenient and a Disappointment

Asked for disability room and the room was on the 3rd floor and no safety bars to get in and out of tub or even a working phone in the room. Toilet was too low making it hard to use for the elderly parents who ended up staying there with and no non-slip grip on the bottom of tub to use shower and bathtub so deep that we had to use my cellphone to call the desk and have the fire department come to get my elderly father out of the tub. Bottom of clothes cabinet was broken and a iron print was on top of table. No separate light system so when someone gets up at night they wake up the whole room to see. The worst problem was the luggage cart that couldn't be pushed easy and had a mind of its know, I got muscles from trying to push, pull and drag it. We had to rest several times and became frustrated and upset with so many issues with the hotel. We also had a non-smoking room but could smell tobacco fumes from next door and noise all night long. When told of the issues in the hotel I received odd looks and that if I needed anything to call provider because that was how it worked. Bathroom wasn't cleaned the next day but that was partly my fault because there was a miscommunication problem with housekeeping. Overall we were disappointed but we will go thru provider in the future and with a rating of 2 stars I didn't have high expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
caleb ORU
Business
Little Rock, AR
Dec 19, 2013

Property needs repairs

The card readers on the exterior doors were all broken, so you had to walk around the building. One of the doors on the end didn't close properly, so anybody could have come in. The stairwell was dirty, but the room was nice and clean, but super small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kenaijohn
Single
Tennessee
Dec 5, 2013

Old and dirty

This is probably the poorest stay I have had in 50 + years. The bath floor was in need of a scrubbing, the tub/shower had a ring of mold/mildew all the way around where tub and shower walls met. The toilet (wc) seat finish was cracked and peeling, and it was attached with brass base bolts installed upside down. The room had several amateur repairs and had been painted many times without masking, and now was peeling. The carpet was very soiled and around the walls there were a line of boot prints about 2 or3 feet up (same by elevators). The bedding appeared clean and it was comfortable and hopefully bug free. The breakfast was minimal with a partial gallon of milk out for cereal and stale pastries. Furnishing in the breakfast area and in the lobby, old, stained, and well worn. Altogether, the type of place to be avoided at any price. The staff was friendly and the driver helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Stay elsewhere.

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SpontaneousTraveller
Family
Saint Louis, MO
Dec 2, 2013

If you need a bed, this place works

The bed and bedding was very new and comfortable. We slept fine and the wi-fi worked well. There was a party going on above us, which we didn't hear so much as kind of be in the middle of -- drunk people make it harder to check into a hotel. Furnishings are indeed dated, and we got upgraded to a "suite" that included microwave, refrigerator, and little sink. These would be great for someone who was saying more than one night. Basically, this place met our needs, but I was a little nervous about my car in the partking lot, and the room layout was just a little odd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

VERY close to the KC Expo Center.

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jbrill3
Couples
Junction City, Ks
Dec 2, 2013

Walls were thin

Everything was alright a little out-dated. Beds were comfortable. Walls were very thin could hear everything even the floor above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abe the traveler
Single
Los Angeles
Nov 9, 2013

Great room for the value

If you simply need a place to stay with free wifi and a free shuttle ride to and from the airport, then uou can't beat this place. Bed was comfortable. Room had running water and free wifi. Carpets were older and seem worn out bit can't expect much for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bar and restaurant across the street at the 4 points Sheraton ;)

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Valuemaster 56
Family
Shawnee OK
Oct 28, 2013

KC Chiefs getaway

Staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast area was clean and stocked. The floors could have been vacuumed better and carpet shampooed but the room was clean otherwise. Value was exceptional as most comparable hotels in the area with the amenities offered were much more expensive. I will stay there the next time I am in the area if the price is the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kansas City Airport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A OKAY
Couples
sergeant bluff, ia
Oct 8, 2013

Nice place to stay.

Breakfast was so-so. Didn't have everything available that the desk clerk said would be served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top