$105 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Hotel Savoy

2 stars
219 W. Ninth, Kansas City, MO 64105
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
11 reviews
Unique B&B experience

For experienced B&B travelers who seek stunning ambiance and don’t mind a few cracks in the... See full review

  • Rosseaux
  • Apr 28, 2014
Better go soon!

At breakfast (a sumptuous feast including smoked salmon with caviar, eggs, bacon, veal, pancakes,... See full review

  • DougF
  • Feb 7, 2014
The Hotel Savoy, circa 1888 was remodeled in 1903 and 1985 and features imported marble, tile, original stained glass windows and brass fixtures. The Hotel Savoy*s bed and breakfast suites include baths with antique claw foot tubs and pedestal sinks. The famous Savoy Grill, Kansas City*s oldest restaurant, is located on-site and offers up a Wonderful Complimentary Daily Breakfast for guests with over 32 items, including lobster bisque, smoked salmon with caviar, medallions of beef or a light continental breakfast. The Hotel also offers over 8000 square feet of space for meetings, parties or receptions. Totally Free High Speed Wireless Internet Access is also provided For Our Guests.

Hotel Savoy Rooms

Victrorian 1 King
Victorian Room with 1 King Bed filled with antiques and personal amenities All rooms feature air-conditioning, alarm clock, color cable television with remote, ceiling fan, coffee maker, iron w/board, radio, telephone and daily maid service. All rates inc
Deluxe Victorian Ste
Deluxe Victorian Suite with 1 King bed filled with antiques and personal amenities All rooms feature air-conditioning, alarm clock, color cable television with remote, ceiling fan, coffee maker, iron w/board, radio, telephone and daily maid service. All r
Victorian Suite
Victorian Suite with 1 Queen bed filled with antiques and personal amenities All rooms feature air-conditioning, alarm clock, color cable television with remote, ceiling fan, coffee maker, iron w/board, radio, telephone and daily maid service. All rates i

Amenities

General
Ice machine
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Wake-up service
FAX
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Savoy also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.1034 -94.5865
Nearby airports
Airport Information Not available;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Kansas City Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 0.3 mi
  • Sprint Center: 0.5 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 0.5 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 1.3 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 0.1 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 0.3 mi
  • Sprint Center: 0.5 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 0.5 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 1 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 1.3 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 1.3 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 1.4 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 1.5 mi
  • The Money Museum: 1.9 mi
  • Missouri Town 1855: 2.7 mi
  • Westport: 3.1 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 3.9 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 4 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 4.4 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 5 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 6.4 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Kauffman Stadium: 6.7 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 7.3 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 7.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
Restaurant on-site. Over the years, The Hotel Savoy*s most enduring feature has been The Savoy Grill Restaurant. Dating from 1903, it is the oldest restaurant in Kansas City, with stained glass windows, high beamed ceilings, lanterns that were once gas

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Savoy

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Savoy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jobo49
Wichita, KS
Jun 16, 2014

Historic Hotel in downtown KCMO

My friend and I have stayed at the Savoy frequently, but had changed to a national change several years ago as the Savoy rooms, while newly restored, were truly not clean (in particular, the door knobs were so grungy as to cause me to wretch when I touched them). Our room this time was very clean and the decor is pleasant. However, the air conditioner was on full-blast all day and night, and made sleeping almost improssible due to the cold. That is our negative takeaway. The reason we did return to the Savoy is their breakfast that is comped with the room is just beyond compare. The food is prepared by the staff at the Savoy Steakhouse, an historic restaurant that does a huge business on Friday and Saturday nights in particular, because of the high quality of their steaks and seafood offerings. We left satisfied with the experience, but tired from lack of sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hotel Savoy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BT Traveller
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jun 2, 2014

Upgraded Boutique Hotel? Well...

I was excited to stay at the Savoy, a historic hotel in downtown Kansas City. The Savoy Grill right off the lobby is one of KC's most legendary restaurants. The full menu made-to-order breakfast was also a very appealing amenity. Mostly, I wanted to experience an upscale, historic boutique hotel. But my experience didn't match my expectations. The rooms were ancient, the hallways had a down-on-their-luck feeing, the floors were noisy, and the windows rattled from the traffic outside. The rooms were clean, but rather shabby. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, and the breakfast really was prepared to order. But not necessarily freshly made - I had eggs and corned beef hash, which was right out of the can and lukewarm. Not pleasant. Instead of the five day stay I booked, I checked out the next morning. There is still work to be done before this is a boutique hotel. I wish them all the luck in the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The KC Power and Light District is very nearby - walkable or driveable. Lots of nightlife and restaurants. A very enjoyable urban entertainment district.

Review of Hotel Savoy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosseaux
Business
Illinois
Apr 28, 2014

Unique B&B experience

For experienced B&B travelers who seek stunning ambiance and don’t mind a few cracks in the plaster, the Savoy Hotel will not disappoint. This is a genuine 19th century urban hotel with nearly all of its original fixtures intact: carved woodwork throughout, tile floors, claw foot tubs, magnificent stained glass, and an opulent lobby straight out of a Hollywood movie. The complimentary breakfast is decadent and offers variety a well as generous portions and it's served in the hotel's beautiful dining room. Hotel staff are professional have a down-to-Earth friendliness you only find in a real B&B. Plus, the Savoy's location on the edge of downtown is within walking distance of major theaters, clubs and restaurants and there's free parking in a gated lot right next door so getting your car in and out is super easy. This is, however, a B&B—not a chain hotel—so expect a few quirks and some cosmetic flaws. Some of the room furnishings could use an upgrade, and guests who explore the farther reaches of the building will find empty, unrenovated areas that are reminiscent of a Steven King novel. There may even be some resident ghosts, though you'll have better luck learning about them from the internet rather than from hotel staff. If you prefer the familiar amenities of a chain, you'll be happier staying somewhere else, but if you want a quiet, comfortable place with great staff, great food, and absolutely unique atmosphere, the Savoy is the only place to stay in downtown Kansas City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Savoy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DougF
Wilton CT
Feb 7, 2014

Better go soon!

At breakfast (a sumptuous feast including smoked salmon with caviar, eggs, bacon, veal, pancakes, and much more, and included in the price) our waiter told us the owner of 50 years is retiring and selling the hotel. The new owner is apparently going to renovate the hotel, which will require it to be closed for several years. The Savoy is the oldest continuously operated hotel west of the Mississippi and you get a real feel for the old-time luxury. Our room was spacious and comfortable but an upgrade is overdue. Our sink, for example, had one faucet for hot and one for cold. I hope the renovation preserves the history while modernizing. But if you want to see it as it has been for over a century, go soon! (Written in February 2014.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Savoy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Termite
Oklahoma City
Aug 16, 2013

For those looking for something other than the cookie cutter hotels

Charming historic hotel in downtown KC. Walking distance to good restaurants and clubs. Staff is the best. Free breakfast is gourmet and prepared to order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Savoy

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justrachelmarie
Tulsa, OK
Jun 25, 2012

We'll stay again!

The hotel was built in 1888. It looks like it was and is not immaculate, but it is dripping in character. Our room was huge! Most of the staff were extremely friendly. The breakfast (which is complementary) included caviar and crab crepes and oysters Rockefeller, etc, etc. We had a wonderful stay. There were a couple hiccups. One of the window airconditioners was malfunctioning. The wireless internet went down and couldn't be fixed. The pillows were really not good. Small issues in an over all wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Savoy

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sparkly
Missouri
Feb 29, 2012

Overnight stay

We will never stay here again. We understand the hotel's unique decor is Victorian ... but that should not be any reason for old, worn, frayed. A lot of updating would make this a nice place to get away, particular if you want a downtown hotel. The staff were very, very nice and friendly but didn't make up for the shabby hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Savoy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sterling Jules
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 27, 2009

A trip back in time

I knew the hotel was old and hadn't been remodeled in several years but being from Massachusettes originally and now living in Las Vegas, I enjoyed the old building feel and smell as opposed to Vegas which doesn't cherish older buildings but tears them down after 25 or 30 years to build new ones. The stained glass windows and memorabila was nice. I booked there as it was within 4 blocks of the Convention Center as I was able to walk back and forth, enjoying the other older buildings along the way. After spending all day in Meetings with 6000 other people, coming to hotel which was very quite at night, made it easy to get a good nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

It's difficult to get any refreshments or food or snacks unless the restaurant was open, which it isn't most times during the day or night and it was several blocks to get anything so if you want a juice or appetizers or anything to munch on you'd have to walk several blocks to a grocery store or eatery.

Review of Hotel Savoy

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sterling Jules
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 27, 2009

A trip back in time

I knew the hotel was old and hadn't been remodeled in several years but being from Massachusettes originally and now living in Las Vegas, I enjoyed the old building feel and smell as opposed to Vegas which doesn't cherish older buildings but tears them down after 25 or 30 years to build new ones. The stained glass windows and memorabila was nice. I booked there as it was within 4 blocks of the Convention Center as I was able to walk back and forth, enjoying the other older buildings along the way. After spending all day in Meetings with 6000 other people, coming to hotel which was very quite at night, made it easy to get a good nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

It's difficult to get any refreshments or food or snacks unless the restaurant was open, which it isn't most times during the day or night and it was several blocks to get anything so if you want a juice or appetizers or anything to munch on you'd have to walk several blocks to a grocery store or eatery.

Review of Hotel Savoy

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Owensboro
Aug 21, 2008

Very Friendly

Everyone at his hotel was exceptionally friendly, caring, and polite. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was the best. This hotel is also conviently located around many attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located in the middle of downtown with short walking and driving distances to entertainment, dining, and shopping.

Back to menu Return to top