$72 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Holiday Inn KANSAS CITY SE - WATERPARK

3 stars
9103 EAST 39TH STREET, KANSAS CITY, MO 64133
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
53 reviews
love it!

servers and front desk staff were awesome! the only thing I had to complain is that the ceiling in... See full review

  • Dio1201
  • Jun 11, 2014
In town for the game

Great place to stay for a Royals/Chief game. Within walking distance or they have a shuttle. See full review

  • cactus337
  • Jun 20, 2013
Splash away the day or take business to the next level in Kansas City
The Holiday Inn Kansas City SE Waterpark finds the perfect balance between family-friendly fun and business-friendly amenities. The hotel is located adjacent to Kansas City’s Truman Sports Complex. The highlight is a Key-West-inspired indoor waterpark, a 55,000-square-foot playground with pools, slides and more. The two restaurants, a lounge, additional swimming pools, Jacuzzi and sleek fitness center -- plus 16,000 square feet of event space -- makes the Holiday Inn Kansas City SE Waterpark a destination for any traveler.
Highlights
  • 55,000-square-foot indoor waterpark (fees apply)
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Family-friendly dining at two on-site restaurants
  • Flexible meeting space
Location
The Holiday Inn Kansas City SE Waterpark is located just off Kansas City's Interstate 70 and Interstate 435 intersection, across from Truman Sports Complex (home of both Arrowhead Stadium and Kauffman Stadium).
Rooms
Step into contemporary, spacious accommodations with a touch of sleek chic at the Holiday Inn Kansas City SE Waterpark. Choose from standard guest rooms, suites or executive club-level rooms, all non-smoking. Each features a 32-inch cable/satellite flat-screen HDTV with pay-per-view entertainment, workdesk with lamp, two-line phone with free local calls and voicemail, free high-speed wireless Internet access, hairdryer, coffee/tea maker and more. Suites at the Holiday Inn Kansas City SE Waterpark include a kitchenette, dining table, sofa bed and separate living room.
Features
Dive into family fun at Holiday Inn Kansas City SE Waterpark's indoor water oasis, CoCo Key Water Resort (fees apply), with 55,000 square feet of slides, activity pools and much more. The hotel also offers a 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center, guest swimming pools and spas.
Dining
The Holiday Inn Kansas City SE Waterpark is home to Tradewinds, an American-cuisine restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Tradewinds' lounge pairs a plush atmosphere with delicious drinks. At Gators Grab & Go, inside the waterpark, lunch and dinner feature kid-friendly faves such as burgers and pizza.
Transportation
  • Kansas City International Airport (28.1 mi/45.3 km)
Attractions
  • Truman Sports Complex (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Swope Park/Kansas City Zoo (8 mi/12.8 km)
  • Sprint Center (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Kansas City Museum (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • Kansas City Convention Center (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts (8.7 mi/13.9 km)
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art (8.7 mi/14.1 km)
  • City Market (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Union Station/Science City (9 mi/14.6 km)
  • Country Club Plaza (9 mi/14.5 km)
Business
  • Free in-room high-speed wireless Internet access
  • 16,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for up to 1,200 guests (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must purchase a Water Resort Hotel Room Package or Day Pass for admittance into the water park.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn KANSAS CITY SE - WATERPARK also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

39.0518 -94.4586
Nearby airports
Kansas City International Airport, (MCI), 27.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Kauffman Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 6.2 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 6.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 6.6 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 6.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 6.8 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 6.9 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 7 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 7 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 7 mi
  • The Money Museum: 7.1 mi
  • Kauffman Stadium: 1.1 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 4.8 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 6.2 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 6.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 6.5 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 6.6 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 6.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 6.8 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 6.9 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 7 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 7 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 7 mi
  • The Money Museum: 7.1 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 7.2 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 7.3 mi
  • Union Station: 7.3 mi
  • Sprint Center: 7.3 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 7.3 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 7.5 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 7.5 mi
  • Westport: 7.6 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 7.6 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 7.7 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 8.7 mi
  • Missouri Town 1855: 8.9 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 9 mi

Dining

Caseys Bar & Grill
Chose from a menu consisting of a wide variety of American cuisine items, Caseys is the hotel restaurant where Kids Eat Free.
Gators Grab & Go
Gators Grab and Go offers burgers, pizza, hotdogs, chicken strips, and more located inside CoCo Key Water Resort.
Casey's Bar & Grill
Casey's Bar & Grill offers a sports themed atmosphere along with a menu of local favorites to include barbeque, steaks, sandwiches, salads, and much more. Catch your favorite sporting event on one of the screens throughout Casey's Bar & Grill while enjoyi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn KANSAS CITY SE - WATERPARK

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn KANSAS CITY SE - WATERPARK

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salina, Kansas
Apr 12, 2010

Not great. Not even close.

Upon arrival, we were told that the key card machine was broken and to "go over there and wait for someone to come get you". After waiting 15 minutes or so, someone did come down to round up all the guests that were waiting to get into their rooms. She put us on the wrong elevator and we had to wait for her to stop at each floor, let people in their rooms and then go find the correct elevator. Total time: 30 mins. When we got to the room, I went to the end of the hall to get ice and the machine had been removed. I went to the 3 other floors in the wing of the hotel and all the ice machines were either broken or had been removed. I had to go to the restaurant downstairs to retrieve some. We ordered room service and waited an hour for cold and hardend food. Price: $50 for a sandwich, 1 appetizer and 1 dessert. At night the hallways were noisy and you could hear everything through the walls. There is absolutely no continental breakfast and the buffet at the restaurant was mediocre at best. We were glad to leave. We were never once greeted by hotel staff coming or going or asked how our stay was. Also, the hallways and some main areas were dirty. A Motel 6 would have been a better choice. We won't be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Royals or Cheifs games.

Review of Holiday Inn KANSAS CITY SE - WATERPARK

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield ,mo
Jul 9, 2011

not happy

the room was kind of dirty,sheet and pillow case were stain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn KANSAS CITY SE - WATERPARK

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salina, Kansas
Apr 12, 2010

Not great. Not even close.

Upon arrival, we were told that the key card machine was broken and to "go over there and wait for someone to come get you". After waiting 15 minutes or so, someone did come down to round up all the guests that were waiting to get into their rooms. She put us on the wrong elevator and we had to wait for her to stop at each floor, let people in their rooms and then go find the correct elevator. Total time: 30 mins. When we got to the room, I went to the end of the hall to get ice and the machine had been removed. I went to the 3 other floors in the wing of the hotel and all the ice machines were either broken or had been removed. I had to go to the restaurant downstairs to retrieve some. We ordered room service and waited an hour for cold and hardend food. Price: $50 for a sandwich, 1 appetizer and 1 dessert. At night the hallways were noisy and you could hear everything through the walls. There is absolutely no continental breakfast and the buffet at the restaurant was mediocre at best. We were glad to leave. We were never once greeted by hotel staff coming or going or asked how our stay was. Also, the hallways and some main areas were dirty. A Motel 6 would have been a better choice. We won't be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Royals or Cheifs games.

Review of Holiday Inn KANSAS CITY SE - WATERPARK

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson
May 11, 2011

Not so great

Room was nice enough. Bathroom was poor -- had to shut door to move around. Windows got direct morning sun and room would not cool until late afternoon. Not conveniently located for anything other than the water park and the stadiums.No other amenities nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn KANSAS CITY SE - WATERPARK

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tucson
May 11, 2011

Not so great

Room was nice enough. Bathroom was poor -- had to shut door to move around. Windows got direct morning sun and room would not cool until late afternoon. Not conveniently located for anything other than the water park and the stadiums.No other amenities nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn KANSAS CITY SE - WATERPARK

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield ,mo
Jul 9, 2011

not happy

the room was kind of dirty,sheet and pillow case were stain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn KANSAS CITY SE - WATERPARK

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
the weekly traveller
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 9, 2010

Not to stay there again

This hotel has changed hands 3 times minimum since I started going to it 5 years ago If you have kids, they might enjoy the water park but since the new ownership of Holiday Inn, things have gone straight downhill. Grounds need kept-up....parking is still horrible at best, food quality is down, rooms need alot of attention like the individual AC units not blowing cooler than 78 degrees (I had 2 rooms the same and ran into 10 other guests with same issues), wall paer peeling, needs paint, bathrooms should be much cleaner.....staff needs a pep-talk for sure as they are getting tired I think.....too many complaints. standing at the 3 elevators for 20 minutes to even get on one was a bit much However, the towels are spotless, sheets and linens are crisp and clean, furniture seems nice still, and if you like hot water....they have it. Beds are good enough I will not be staying there again though until something serious happens (8th stay, and it was my last)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

kids will like the water park, but so do 100 of the locals as well at the same time so be prepared to WALK from parking somewhere

Review of Holiday Inn KANSAS CITY SE - WATERPARK

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mike and sharon
michigan
Mar 26, 2012

grandparents treat

We were very disappointed in the hotel. We stayed 4 nights and never got our room cleaned or received clean towels even when we asked for them. The cost of the Water Park should be included in the price of the hotel as it made it $100 per day more for the 4 of us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn KANSAS CITY SE - WATERPARK

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Jun 1, 2010

Hotel leaves something to be desired

I went to this hotel for a conference. The hotel is quite nice, but the elevators were not sufficient to handle that many people. One was unoperable. Also the maids never replenished things that they should have each day like washcloths, take away room service dishes, toilet paper, kleenex, etc. Just not very attentive to things

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn KANSAS CITY SE - WATERPARK

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wisconsin Wendy
Wisconsin
Oct 9, 2013

Not a 3 star hotel

First off, after we had already checked in, the hotel clerk very rudely said, that since we booked through O r b i t z that we would not receive any complementary passes to the waterpark. Even though when booking I could not find anything that says the passes were not included... But, whatever we paid the $15 for the one day pass for the waterpark and we were not impressed. The pool and surrounding area were very dirty and did not compare to other indoor water parks that we have been to in the past. Very disappointed. The room was also nothing special. The mattress was very old and warn out and had a hump in the middle of it. There were large red stains on the carpet by the bed and bed comforter, doubt they were cleaned. The only reason I gave the hotel a 2 was because the breakfast buffet in the morning was very good and all of the food in the restaurant that we had was excellent and reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top