$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

3 stars
ONE EAST 45TH STREET, KANSAS CITY, MO 64111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
126 reviews
Great Location

Great place to stay if you want to be close to downtown! See full review

  • Shyloh
  • Jun 18, 2014
visit to UMKC

Staff were very friendly, rooms were clean, bed was comfortable. Good location to shopping and... See full review

  • UMKC parent
  • May 20, 2014
Family-friendly hotel in a prime location for dining and entertainment

Guests of Holiday Inn at The Plaza enjoy close access -- a short walk or complimentary shuttle ride -- to the city's premier 15-block dining, shopping, and entertainment district, Country Club Plaza. Culture beckons from around the corner at two outstanding art museums, and the hotel is convenient to myriad attractions and downtown nightlife. Families appreciate the connecting rooms, free dining for children, and extra large pool with a shallow end. Pets are also welcome (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located near Country Club Plaza, with more than 150 shops and restaurants
  • Kansas City's largest heated outdoor hotel pool
  • Free shuttle to Country Club Plaza and other nearby attractions
  • Free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout
  • Free garage parking
Rooms

Choose from king rooms, suites, or the Executive Club Level. All rooms include a desk with ample workspace, lamp, desk-level electrical outlets, and complimentary Wi-Fi and local telephone calls. For in-room entertainment, enjoy pay-per-view and premium cable movies or the DVD player. Executive Club Level guest quarters are larger, and free morning newspapers are delivered to rooms. Seven of the hotel's 241 rooms accommodate handicapped or physically challenged guests.

Features

The lively Country Club Plaza, with its busy calendar of music and special events and dozens of dining and leisure options, is a major attraction for guests, but the hotel offers distractions of its own, beginning with a super-large heated outdoor pool. Exercise enthusiasts work out on universal, treadmill, stair stepper, and elliptical equipment in the small on-site Health and Fitness Center. For guests with small children or on a longer stay, the Guest Self-Laundry includes a washer and dryer. Internet access is free in public areas.

Dining

Kids eat for free at the Main Street Grill restaurant, located off the lobby and serving breakfast and dinner daily and lunch on Saturdays only. American cuisine ranges from fine aged steaks to specialty sandwiches and salads. Room Service delivers from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. The Main Street Lounge offers beer, wine, and cocktails.

Transportation
  • Kansas City International Airport (30 mi/48 km)
  • Amtrak Union Station (3.0 miles/4.8 km)
  • Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Free shuttle within three miles of the hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art  (0.3 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Kansas City Convention Center (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Sprint Center Arena (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Truman Sports Complex, baseball and football (8 miles/12.8 km)
  • Union Station Science City  (3.0 miles/4.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with free PCs and printers
  • Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access
  • Executive Club Level with additional business facilities
  • Ballroom accommodates up to 285 people and divisible into 3 sections
  • 5 stand-alone meeting rooms on same level

Hotel Map

39.0456 -94.5867
Nearby airports
Kansas City International, (MCI), 23.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 1 mi
  • Westport: 1.2 mi
  • The Money Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 2.5 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 2.7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 2.7 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Union Station: 3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 3.4 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 1 mi
  • Westport: 1.2 mi
  • The Money Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 2.5 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 2.7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 2.7 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Union Station: 3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 3.4 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 3.5 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 3.6 mi
  • Sprint Center: 3.7 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 3.8 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 4 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Kauffman Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Missouri Town 1855: 6.7 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 9.2 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 10.5 mi

Dining

Main Street Cafe
A wide variety of dishes from fine aged steaks to specialty sandwich delights and salads.
Main Street Lounge
What you need to unwind, an iced cold beer, glass of wine or an "on the rocks" cocktail, whatever your pleasure!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 126
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paint wizard
Business
Shreveport Louisiana
Sep 14, 2012

travel for work

The atmosphere here was welcoming and warm including the rooms which did not get below 74 degrees.This hotel was older but seemed to be well maintained. Nothing out of ordinary but would be a good stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat at Maxwells Seafood unless you too have very snobby attitude and belive you are an elite member of society.

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All Bizz
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 4, 2012

Located near museums and shopping ect

110 degrees while we were there! The air conditioning in the bar was awesome! Great location near art museums and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buff Johnson
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 25, 2012

Better than average

I was pleasently please with the overall experience. This hotel was average on location and price and above average on everything else. I would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lorreta
Business
chicago,il
Dec 8, 2011

Great location to restaurants

Hotel location is close to restaurants and shopping. Rooms are large and comfortable. Quiet location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

lots to choose

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia pa
May 16, 2011

good location, terrible customer service

the morning of my check out i received a billing summary that stated that i owed over 200$ for my stay. this never happened before[...]. when i went to the front desk to check out,[...] it took her 20 minutes to figure out that i did indeed pay already and don't need to pay again. and after wasting 20 minutes of my time (mind you i had a 6 am flight that day), there was none of "im sorry for the inconvenience", or "it was my mistake", or "thank you for staying with us". there was just silence, not even a "good bye".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

two art museums (one small contemporary - ok, another large - excellent) are just next door

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia pa
May 16, 2011

good location, terrible customer service

the morning of my check out i received a billing summary that stated that i owed over 200$ for my stay. this never happened before[...]. when i went to the front desk to check out,[...] it took her 20 minutes to figure out that i did indeed pay already and don't need to pay again. and after wasting 20 minutes of my time (mind you i had a 6 am flight that day), there was none of "im sorry for the inconvenience", or "it was my mistake", or "thank you for staying with us". there was just silence, not even a "good bye".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

two art museums (one small contemporary - ok, another large - excellent) are just next door

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 25, 2011

Clean, big room for price

I was in town for one night only for work. The person working the front desk that afternoon was not the friendliest, but I was pleased to find the room was clean and much bigger than I had expected. Normal amenities, wi-fi internet in room. There was a free shuttle service that took me to the event I had to go to a mile away and picked me up when it was done - shuttle ran until 11pm, that was a pleasant surprise. Morning front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful when I was leaving the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 25, 2011

Clean, big room for price

I was in town for one night only for work. The person working the front desk that afternoon was not the friendliest, but I was pleased to find the room was clean and much bigger than I had expected. Normal amenities, wi-fi internet in room. There was a free shuttle service that took me to the event I had to go to a mile away and picked me up when it was done - shuttle ran until 11pm, that was a pleasant surprise. Morning front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful when I was leaving the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
May 20, 2009

Holiday Inn at the Plaza

The service was friendly but the room/hall looked a bit "seedy". The hall carpet didn't fit right and was bunched up in places and my room carpet had a big stain near the bathroom. The AC was also pretty noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
May 20, 2009

Holiday Inn at the Plaza

The service was friendly but the room/hall looked a bit "seedy". The hall carpet didn't fit right and was bunched up in places and my room carpet had a big stain near the bathroom. The AC was also pretty noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top