$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

3 stars
One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
80 reviews
Enjoyable Stay

Location of the hotel is great. Parking was limited and difficult along the side of the building.... See full review

  • cris123
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great Location

Great place to stay if you want to be close to downtown! See full review

  • Shyloh
  • Jun 18, 2014
Family-friendly hotel in a prime location for dining and entertainment

Guests of Holiday Inn at The Plaza enjoy close access -- a short walk or complimentary shuttle ride -- to the city's premier 15-block dining, shopping, and entertainment district, Country Club Plaza. Culture beckons from around the corner at two outstanding art museums, and the hotel is convenient to myriad attractions and downtown nightlife. Families appreciate the connecting rooms, free dining for children, and extra large pool with a shallow end. Pets are also welcome (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located near Country Club Plaza, with more than 150 shops and restaurants
  • Kansas City's largest heated outdoor hotel pool
  • Free shuttle to Country Club Plaza and other nearby attractions
  • Free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout
  • Free garage parking
Rooms

Choose from king rooms, suites, or the Executive Club Level. All rooms include a desk with ample workspace, lamp, desk-level electrical outlets, and complimentary Wi-Fi and local telephone calls. For in-room entertainment, enjoy pay-per-view and premium cable movies or the DVD player. Executive Club Level guest quarters are larger, and free morning newspapers are delivered to rooms. Seven of the hotel's 241 rooms accommodate handicapped or physically challenged guests.

Features

The lively Country Club Plaza, with its busy calendar of music and special events and dozens of dining and leisure options, is a major attraction for guests, but the hotel offers distractions of its own, beginning with a super-large heated outdoor pool. Exercise enthusiasts work out on universal, treadmill, stair stepper, and elliptical equipment in the small on-site Health and Fitness Center. For guests with small children or on a longer stay, the Guest Self-Laundry includes a washer and dryer. Internet access is free in public areas.

Dining

Kids eat for free at the Main Street Grill restaurant, located off the lobby and serving breakfast and dinner daily and lunch on Saturdays only. American cuisine ranges from fine aged steaks to specialty sandwiches and salads. Room Service delivers from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. The Main Street Lounge offers beer, wine, and cocktails.

Transportation
  • Kansas City International Airport (30 mi/48 km)
  • Amtrak Union Station (3.0 miles/4.8 km)
  • Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Free shuttle within three miles of the hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art  (0.3 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Kansas City Convention Center (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Sprint Center Arena (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Truman Sports Complex, baseball and football (8 miles/12.8 km)
  • Union Station Science City  (3.0 miles/4.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with free PCs and printers
  • Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access
  • Executive Club Level with additional business facilities
  • Ballroom accommodates up to 285 people and divisible into 3 sections
  • 5 stand-alone meeting rooms on same level

Hotel Map

39.0456 -94.5867
Nearby airports
Kansas City International, (MCI), 23.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 1 mi
  • Westport: 1.2 mi
  • The Money Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 2.5 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 2.7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 2.7 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Union Station: 3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 3.4 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 1 mi
  • Westport: 1.2 mi
  • The Money Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 2.5 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 2.7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 2.7 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Union Station: 3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 3.4 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 3.5 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 3.6 mi
  • Sprint Center: 3.7 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 3.8 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 4 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Kauffman Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Missouri Town 1855: 6.7 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 9.2 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 10.5 mi

Dining

Main Street Cafe
A wide variety of dishes from fine aged steaks to specialty sandwich delights and salads.
Main Street Lounge
What you need to unwind, an iced cold beer, glass of wine or an "on the rocks" cocktail, whatever your pleasure!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harvard, IL
Apr 28, 2011

Great location, shame about the mess

We arrived at the hotel after a 4 hour drive from Des Moines. The entrance looked like a war zone. Don't judge a book by its cover. The first thing we were looking forward to was enjoying a swim in the "largest heated outdoor pool in Kansas City." The pool was closed. So, we checked in. The desk staff were friendly and looked happy to be there, a plus for checking in. I was pleasantly surprised when the staff offered to look up my Holiday Inn rewards account and verified that I was a member. The perk was free morning breakfasts. We were all happy with this as the weekend breakfast buffet was wonderful. The dining room staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel offered another great service, free shuttle service within the mid-town area. This made for a nice evening since we could get a ride to Crown center and see the sights along the way. The shuttle driver was courteous and professional and was knowledgable of the area. Once we were done shopping, we called the shuttle phone number and were picked up and taken back to the hotel. We had two rooms, a King room and a 2-queen room. The King bed was comfortable and soft. The queens were very firm. Parking in the garage was easy to access. The location of the hotel is extremely close to the Nelson Art Museum and the Kansas City Contemporary Museum of Art. For the art lovers reading this, the location is perfect. Also, a short walking distance to the Country Club Plaza. In spite of the re-modeling that was taking place, our 3-day stay was enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the hotel shuttle to get around the mid-town section. You don't have to worry about getting lost and you can enjoy the sights along the way.

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia pa
May 16, 2011

good location, terrible customer service

the morning of my check out i received a billing summary that stated that i owed over 200$ for my stay. this never happened before[...]. when i went to the front desk to check out,[...] it took her 20 minutes to figure out that i did indeed pay already and don't need to pay again. and after wasting 20 minutes of my time (mind you i had a 6 am flight that day), there was none of "im sorry for the inconvenience", or "it was my mistake", or "thank you for staying with us". there was just silence, not even a "good bye".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

two art museums (one small contemporary - ok, another large - excellent) are just next door

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prineville
Oct 24, 2008

Good value with some staff problems

Good value for the location. Rooms, lobby ,common areas are pleasant, clean. Shopping , dinning and others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lincoln, NE
Apr 26, 2010

Holiday Inn

Overall stay: Fair. The front desk clerk was not friendly, nor was he rude. He seemed unhappy to be working. It rained all weekend, but we still had a great time. I was hoping for a little more luxury when I reserved a "Plaza View" room. Instead, it was a mediocre business traveler's room with a view of the ugly roof of lower levels and plaza buildings off in the distance. I would hardly consider it "Plaza View", then again there was little price difference, so its hard to say I expected a spectacular view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wecca
st. louis
Mar 27, 2010

good non expensive hotel

Hotel was clean. Rooms and hall were dated but clean. Lobby and front common areas were modern. Good value for quick non fancy stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 13, 2007

reasonable base for Plaza visit

The hotel was reasonably located for visits to the Country Club Plaza. Room was fairly warm and air conditioner quite noisy, although seemingly OK compared to reports of high temperature conditions in other rooms reported by other guests. Hotel could use utility updates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Outdoor walking/running path 2 blocks from hotel.

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nicholasville, KY
Aug 1, 2010

Great Reunion

Very convienent location with nice facilities for people attending the reunion to get together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma
Aug 15, 2010

It was alright

older hotel, but doing some remodling. Hotel rooms smelt a bit musty. Drivers and bar tender where very helpful on giving good advises on places to go. Note: it is not 5miles from kauffman staduim!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

shuttle will take you anywhere around the plaza.

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bucci&Bubba'sMom
Wichita, KS
Mar 22, 2010

Where is the courteous staff??

I took my 5-year-old daughter to Kansas City for two days to shop on the Plaza, so it was a very convenient location to stay. The gentleman at the front desk didn't look up ONCE when I arrived, or during check-in. He was not friendly at all; even my daughter said "he wasn't very nice Mommy." That kind of welcome made me hesitate to even stay there. He gave very vague parking directions, and did not offer to help with our luggage. THEN, I wanted to surprise my daughter with breakfast in bed because she thought that would be the greatest 'big girl' thing to do at a hotel. She was very excited to hang the order on the door, but 9 am rolled around and our food was still missing. I peaked out the door, and they had never even picked up the order!!! At least they covered the cost, and the girl in the restaurant was extremely kind and very fast. She was the only one who cared enough to be friendly...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver
Sep 28, 2009

Great staff, scratchy sheets

Staff was really great but they need to invest in some better beds and nicer sheets. The shower head was so low that I almost had to sit down to wash my hair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search