$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

3 stars
ONE EAST 45TH STREET, KANSAS CITY, MO 64111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
126 reviews
Great Location

Great place to stay if you want to be close to downtown! See full review

  • Shyloh
  • Jun 18, 2014
visit to UMKC

Staff were very friendly, rooms were clean, bed was comfortable. Good location to shopping and... See full review

  • UMKC parent
  • May 20, 2014
Family-friendly hotel in a prime location for dining and entertainment

Guests of Holiday Inn at The Plaza enjoy close access -- a short walk or complimentary shuttle ride -- to the city's premier 15-block dining, shopping, and entertainment district, Country Club Plaza. Culture beckons from around the corner at two outstanding art museums, and the hotel is convenient to myriad attractions and downtown nightlife. Families appreciate the connecting rooms, free dining for children, and extra large pool with a shallow end. Pets are also welcome (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located near Country Club Plaza, with more than 150 shops and restaurants
  • Kansas City's largest heated outdoor hotel pool
  • Free shuttle to Country Club Plaza and other nearby attractions
  • Free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout
  • Free garage parking
Rooms

Choose from king rooms, suites, or the Executive Club Level. All rooms include a desk with ample workspace, lamp, desk-level electrical outlets, and complimentary Wi-Fi and local telephone calls. For in-room entertainment, enjoy pay-per-view and premium cable movies or the DVD player. Executive Club Level guest quarters are larger, and free morning newspapers are delivered to rooms. Seven of the hotel's 241 rooms accommodate handicapped or physically challenged guests.

Features

The lively Country Club Plaza, with its busy calendar of music and special events and dozens of dining and leisure options, is a major attraction for guests, but the hotel offers distractions of its own, beginning with a super-large heated outdoor pool. Exercise enthusiasts work out on universal, treadmill, stair stepper, and elliptical equipment in the small on-site Health and Fitness Center. For guests with small children or on a longer stay, the Guest Self-Laundry includes a washer and dryer. Internet access is free in public areas.

Dining

Kids eat for free at the Main Street Grill restaurant, located off the lobby and serving breakfast and dinner daily and lunch on Saturdays only. American cuisine ranges from fine aged steaks to specialty sandwiches and salads. Room Service delivers from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. The Main Street Lounge offers beer, wine, and cocktails.

Transportation
  • Kansas City International Airport (30 mi/48 km)
  • Amtrak Union Station (3.0 miles/4.8 km)
  • Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Free shuttle within three miles of the hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art  (0.3 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Kansas City Convention Center (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Sprint Center Arena (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Truman Sports Complex, baseball and football (8 miles/12.8 km)
  • Union Station Science City  (3.0 miles/4.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with free PCs and printers
  • Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access
  • Executive Club Level with additional business facilities
  • Ballroom accommodates up to 285 people and divisible into 3 sections
  • 5 stand-alone meeting rooms on same level

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.0456 -94.5867
Nearby airports
Kansas City International, (MCI), 23.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 1 mi
  • Westport: 1.2 mi
  • The Money Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 2.5 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 2.7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 2.7 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Union Station: 3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 3.4 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 1 mi
  • Westport: 1.2 mi
  • The Money Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 2.5 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 2.7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 2.7 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Union Station: 3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 3.4 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 3.5 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 3.6 mi
  • Sprint Center: 3.7 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 3.8 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 4 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Kauffman Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Missouri Town 1855: 6.7 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 9.2 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 10.5 mi

Dining

Main Street Cafe
A wide variety of dishes from fine aged steaks to specialty sandwich delights and salads.
Main Street Lounge
What you need to unwind, an iced cold beer, glass of wine or an "on the rocks" cocktail, whatever your pleasure!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Council Bluffs, IA
Apr 19, 2010

Mixed feelings

Weekend get-away to visit the Plaza; easy to walk to museums, restaurants and shops. However, room needed maintenance: several light bulbs were burnt out and the air conditioner wasn't working. Hotel layout is inconvenient for elevators, so were glad we had walking shoes. Overall a so-so hotel experience; willing to give it another chance sometime and see if things improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Break up your meal into smaller visits during your walking/shopping tour: a salad and appetizer at Brio, gelato at Balsano's (the best gelato in town). Many very good restaurants to choose from!

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RBJP
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 15, 2010

Great Location - Not so great Hotel

I booked a standard room which was not labeled as "non-smoking" as I required a smoking room. When I checked in I was told there were no smoking rooms and I would have to go outside to smoke in the 8 degree temps. The room was cold, old and dreary. Tiles in bathroom were popping off, ceiling had been patched, TV old. Room service was to be open to 10:30 - I called at 10:15 and was told they decided to close at 10 that night. Overall not a good experience. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza area very close.

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Council Bluffs, IA
Apr 19, 2010

Mixed feelings

Weekend get-away to visit the Plaza; easy to walk to museums, restaurants and shops. However, room needed maintenance: several light bulbs were burnt out and the air conditioner wasn't working. Hotel layout is inconvenient for elevators, so were glad we had walking shoes. Overall a so-so hotel experience; willing to give it another chance sometime and see if things improve.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Break up your meal into smaller visits during your walking/shopping tour: a salad and appetizer at Brio, gelato at Balsano's (the best gelato in town). Many very good restaurants to choose from!

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Jul 7, 2007

An okay hotel

I was very disappointed to find out that the restaurant was only open for breakfast. We did not have a car so we had to rely on room service or friends to take us out to eat. The room service food was not very good so for many meals we had to walk to the Plaza to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
May 20, 2009

Holiday Inn at the Plaza

The service was friendly but the room/hall looked a bit "seedy". The hall carpet didn't fit right and was bunched up in places and my room carpet had a big stain near the bathroom. The AC was also pretty noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nicholasville, KY
Aug 1, 2010

Great Reunion

Very convienent location with nice facilities for people attending the reunion to get together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
portland, or
Jun 21, 2010

perfect location for our visit

We were there to visit the Kansas City Art Institute which was located directly behind the hotel. It is right next door to the Kemper Museum & the Nelson. This hotels is also within walking distance to the Country Club Plaza which we frequented many times to shop and eat. The room was simple and clean. The staff was helpful with directions and such when we had them. It was a nice feature to have an on-site laundry facility that we did use. We visited in June, which was unusually hotter than normal we were told, so it was quite refreshing to go to the pool in the evening and the water was a perfect 90 degrees! I no longer have a young child, but the pool has a good size (1-2 foot deep) shallow end for little ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dusty Dinkleman
Kansas City
Jun 20, 2010

Great Location, Good Price

Close to the Plaza... Within walking distance. Excellent staff friendly and helpful. Good price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lincoln, NE
Apr 26, 2010

Holiday Inn

Overall stay: Fair. The front desk clerk was not friendly, nor was he rude. He seemed unhappy to be working. It rained all weekend, but we still had a great time. I was hoping for a little more luxury when I reserved a "Plaza View" room. Instead, it was a mediocre business traveler's room with a view of the ugly roof of lower levels and plaza buildings off in the distance. I would hardly consider it "Plaza View", then again there was little price difference, so its hard to say I expected a spectacular view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver
Sep 28, 2009

Great staff, scratchy sheets

Staff was really great but they need to invest in some better beds and nicer sheets. The shower head was so low that I almost had to sit down to wash my hair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top