$102 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 9, 2014 Check-out: Dec 11, 2014

Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

3 stars
One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
81 reviews
good value

The location is near the plaza. The room is clean and comfortable. See full review

  • mqnzrm
  • Nov 21, 2014
Enjoyable Stay

Location of the hotel is great. Parking was limited and difficult along the side of the building.... See full review

  • cris123
  • Jul 21, 2014
Family-friendly hotel in a prime location for dining and entertainment

Guests of Holiday Inn at The Plaza enjoy close access -- a short walk or complimentary shuttle ride -- to the city's premier 15-block dining, shopping, and entertainment district, Country Club Plaza. Culture beckons from around the corner at two outstanding art museums, and the hotel is convenient to myriad attractions and downtown nightlife. Families appreciate the connecting rooms, free dining for children, and extra large pool with a shallow end. Pets are also welcome (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located near Country Club Plaza, with more than 150 shops and restaurants
  • Kansas City's largest heated outdoor hotel pool
  • Free shuttle to Country Club Plaza and other nearby attractions
  • Free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout
  • Free garage parking
Rooms

Choose from king rooms, suites, or the Executive Club Level. All rooms include a desk with ample workspace, lamp, desk-level electrical outlets, and complimentary Wi-Fi and local telephone calls. For in-room entertainment, enjoy pay-per-view and premium cable movies or the DVD player. Executive Club Level guest quarters are larger, and free morning newspapers are delivered to rooms. Seven of the hotel's 241 rooms accommodate handicapped or physically challenged guests.

Features

The lively Country Club Plaza, with its busy calendar of music and special events and dozens of dining and leisure options, is a major attraction for guests, but the hotel offers distractions of its own, beginning with a super-large heated outdoor pool. Exercise enthusiasts work out on universal, treadmill, stair stepper, and elliptical equipment in the small on-site Health and Fitness Center. For guests with small children or on a longer stay, the Guest Self-Laundry includes a washer and dryer. Internet access is free in public areas.

Dining

Kids eat for free at the Main Street Grill restaurant, located off the lobby and serving breakfast and dinner daily and lunch on Saturdays only. American cuisine ranges from fine aged steaks to specialty sandwiches and salads. Room Service delivers from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. The Main Street Lounge offers beer, wine, and cocktails.

Transportation
  • Kansas City International Airport (30 mi/48 km)
  • Amtrak Union Station (3.0 miles/4.8 km)
  • Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Free shuttle within three miles of the hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art  (0.3 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Kansas City Convention Center (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Sprint Center Arena (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Truman Sports Complex, baseball and football (8 miles/12.8 km)
  • Union Station Science City  (3.0 miles/4.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with free PCs and printers
  • Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access
  • Executive Club Level with additional business facilities
  • Ballroom accommodates up to 285 people and divisible into 3 sections
  • 5 stand-alone meeting rooms on same level

Hotel Map

39.0456 -94.5867
Nearby airports
Kansas City International, (MCI), 23.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 1 mi
  • Westport: 1.2 mi
  • The Money Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 2.5 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 2.7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 2.7 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Union Station: 3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 3.4 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 1 mi
  • Westport: 1.2 mi
  • The Money Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 2.5 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 2.7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 2.7 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Union Station: 3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 3.4 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 3.5 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 3.6 mi
  • Sprint Center: 3.7 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 3.8 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 4 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Kauffman Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Missouri Town 1855: 6.7 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 9.2 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 10.5 mi

Dining

Main Street Cafe
A wide variety of dishes from fine aged steaks to specialty sandwich delights and salads.
Main Street Lounge
What you need to unwind, an iced cold beer, glass of wine or an "on the rocks" cocktail, whatever your pleasure!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Powerlifter
Pittsburgh PA
Dec 8, 2011

excellent hotel

This hotel was in a great location. The staff was helpful and friendly. Room and lobby were clean and comfortable. Lots of restaraunts in walking distance. We had one problem where our shower drain was clogged. I notified the front desk, we went out for a few hours and when we returned, the problem was fixed and there was an apology letter and some chocolates shaped like hammers in the room. Just a very pleasant experience. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ShelleyPeck
Business
St. Charles, Iowa
Apr 7, 2014

Never staying there again!!!

Horrible! Purchased 2 standard rooms through a discount website (2 double beds) for myself, 2 adult daughters, mother and sister. When we arrived all they had was 2 king beds. No roll away available. No indoor pool or hot tub. Front desk not friendly. They blamed the discount website for the room mess up. No one offered to give me any discount for the error.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michelle Lauren Wisenhove
Business
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Not worth the money

All brown decor. Not appealing. Staff not happy to help. I was confused at check out and had to call Cheap Tickets to get the information I needed. The desk clerk was completely unhelpful and his attitude was not good. There were no extra blankets. The heater had a loud rattle. Another guest had a charge that needed to be removed from his bill. He was instructed to call back on Monday to get it taken off. The location was good and the parking garage locked. I would not recommend this hotel and would be reluctant to stay in another Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Country Club Plaza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bogeygal76
Business
Kansas
Jul 14, 2010

Do Not Stay Here!!!

This was the worst stay we have ever had!Please do not disregard the other reviews like I did. The beds were soo hard. Our room was filthy and the carpets were full of stains. Even our coffee make in our room was broken! The power went out and the back up generator was broke so we remained in the dark for hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 17, 2007

the worst experience i have EVER had at a hotel

The Holiday Inn at the Plaza (By the way, it is NOT at the Plaza...it is down the street and not safe to walk outside after dark) was the most distressing, upsetting and uncomfortable hotel mostly due to the broken air condition through out most of the hotel and their impolite, uncompassionate, disrespectful, offensive as well as intimidating staff. (Not the bar staff or maintenance staff) The night desk clerk general manager and security manager made it quite clear that since i was an internet customer, i will take the room they give me, even with no air conditioner (it never went below 104* the entire week). I pleaded for help with my bags and even with a baby in my arms, a back brace on, and money out ready to pay they REFUSED. I had to call some one (that i only met once) to come back and help me. They tried to make me park in a garage down the street from the entrance at 11pm with an infant. I left rented car in the registration only space. They told me if i did not take the room the had for they were going EVICT me from the property...with my baby in my arms who was bleeding from scratching his heat rash, hungary because vending machines were broke i had no water for formula and it was after midnight. I am writing a more detailed letter to you, Holiday Inn, Chamber of Com, Better B.B. and any one else i can think of for the threats and intimidation towards a single woman and baby that were alone in a big city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 24, 2007

The hotel was somewhat ...

The hotel was somewhat run down. The room sizes are very small. The pool area leaves much to be desired. The food at the restaurant is very poor, even though kids did eat free. The staff was friendly and that was really the only plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha
Sep 14, 2008

Did not stay the night there

We discovered a bed bug during our stay and were therefore, unhappy with the cleanliness of the hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful as they set us up at a very nice nearby hotel at no charge and I was very pleased with their willingness to take responsibility and deliver quality customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza shopping and dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cultured & Corn Fed
Business
Clear Lake, IA
Aug 12, 2010

Disappointing

Our stay here was incredibly disappointing. We booked based on high rated previous reviews and I'm not sure where the reviewers stayed, but it couldn't possibly have been here. The hotel was going through rennovations [...] We were continually trying to find our way through the hotel due to contruction reroutes, broken elevators and lobby remodel. One of the days the water was shut off for several hours. The hotel was filthy, smelled musty and our non-smoking room reeked of smoke and had an ashtray on the bedside table. Online, the hotel listed microwaves being in the rooms which is one of the things we looked for due to traveling with a child. They failed to mention there was an additional fee per day to have them provided. The only things this hotel had going for it was the outdoor pool and convenient location. I've traveled quite a bit for work and play and this was by far one of the worst hotels I've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RBJP
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 15, 2010

Great Location - Not so great Hotel

I booked a standard room which was not labeled as "non-smoking" as I required a smoking room. When I checked in I was told there were no smoking rooms and I would have to go outside to smoke in the 8 degree temps. The room was cold, old and dreary. Tiles in bathroom were popping off, ceiling had been patched, TV old. Room service was to be open to 10:30 - I called at 10:15 and was told they decided to close at 10 that night. Overall not a good experience. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza area very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plattsburg, MO
May 25, 2010

Enjoy the Plaza, not this hotel

If I would want anyone to know anything about this hotel, it's that it's a little [*]. (Sorry about the spelling. [...] apparently considers the word profanity(??) ) Not unhygienic or anything -- not completely bad. But a little [*]. So ... if you're getting a great deal on the price, rest assured that you are in a great location to take in some of Kansas City's best shopping, dining and cultural opportunities. But if you need your hotel to be a little swank, you'll want to stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

For anyone that doesn't know Kansas City, this hotel is located just a couple blocks from the fabulous Plaza. The Plaza is an outdoor shopping, dining, strolling bit of heaven. And with the buildings decorated in a Mediterranean style and statues and fountains everywhere, it's enjoyable just to walk it. Parking is easy to find and usually free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Oct 12, 2009

An okay stay

The staff was curtious and polite. The room smelled old and musty. Not fresh and clean as one would expect staying in a Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the haunted houses in the fall! Unbelievable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top