$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

3 stars
View map of One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mpls mn
May 9, 2011

weekend in kc

This hotel is in a great location for checking out all of the sites that Kansas City has to offer. Staff was helpful. The free van that they ran in a 3 mile radius was very nice after a night on the town. Hotel is undergoing renovation, how ever that was not a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Jardines which is only a short block away. Great Jazz good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harvard, IL
Apr 28, 2011

Great location, shame about the mess

We arrived at the hotel after a 4 hour drive from Des Moines. The entrance looked like a war zone. Don't judge a book by its cover. The first thing we were looking forward to was enjoying a swim in the "largest heated outdoor pool in Kansas City." The pool was closed. So, we checked in. The desk staff were friendly and looked happy to be there, a plus for checking in. I was pleasantly surprised when the staff offered to look up my Holiday Inn rewards account and verified that I was a member. The perk was free morning breakfasts. We were all happy with this as the weekend breakfast buffet was wonderful. The dining room staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel offered another great service, free shuttle service within the mid-town area. This made for a nice evening since we could get a ride to Crown center and see the sights along the way. The shuttle driver was courteous and professional and was knowledgable of the area. Once we were done shopping, we called the shuttle phone number and were picked up and taken back to the hotel. We had two rooms, a King room and a 2-queen room. The King bed was comfortable and soft. The queens were very firm. Parking in the garage was easy to access. The location of the hotel is extremely close to the Nelson Art Museum and the Kansas City Contemporary Museum of Art. For the art lovers reading this, the location is perfect. Also, a short walking distance to the Country Club Plaza. In spite of the re-modeling that was taking place, our 3-day stay was enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the hotel shuttle to get around the mid-town section. You don't have to worry about getting lost and you can enjoy the sights along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 25, 2011

Clean, big room for price

I was in town for one night only for work. The person working the front desk that afternoon was not the friendliest, but I was pleased to find the room was clean and much bigger than I had expected. Normal amenities, wi-fi internet in room. There was a free shuttle service that took me to the event I had to go to a mile away and picked me up when it was done - shuttle ran until 11pm, that was a pleasant surprise. Morning front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful when I was leaving the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, tx
Dec 18, 2010

Hotel Review

Easy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RBJP
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 15, 2010

Great Location - Not so great Hotel

I booked a standard room which was not labeled as "non-smoking" as I required a smoking room. When I checked in I was told there were no smoking rooms and I would have to go outside to smoke in the 8 degree temps. The room was cold, old and dreary. Tiles in bathroom were popping off, ceiling had been patched, TV old. Room service was to be open to 10:30 - I called at 10:15 and was told they decided to close at 10 that night. Overall not a good experience. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza area very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cynthia G
Business
St Louis, Mo
Sep 6, 2010

Really great location!!!

We visited Kansas City for the Labor Day weekend. We visited the Plaza, City Market, Arabia Steamboat Museum, Union Station. The Holiday Inn on the Plaza was very nice. Our room was very large and extremely clean. Our king-size bed was very comfortable. Overall our stay at this hotel was excellent. Would have liked a frig & microwave and a flat screen TV. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mpls Mom
Aug 30, 2010

Great location in the Plaza area

Hotel made reservations for us on the way back from our trip for Sat. night along with free shuttle to the dining establishment. Great location,easy to walk around in the plaza area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City North
Aug 16, 2010

Better than we thought it would be

Our trip was just a four day get away, thus we stayed in Downtown, and wanted to be as close the Plaza as we could. We ate our breakfast and dinner down there most of our stay. We found the staff at the hotel to be courteous and friendly. After a rather rocky start to our vacation it was nice to check into the hotel with a smile from a very nice lady at the front desk. About the only thing we could complain about is that the bathroom was small and cramped, not much room for two people to try and maneuver around in. The location was fantastic (walking distance to the Plaza) and we appreciated the covered parking. Our room was better than we thought it would be, and we both felt it was a good value for the price. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well appointed. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to the Plaza, as driving in the evening is not a good idea! The traffic is quite heavy and it is much easier to get around by walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma
Aug 15, 2010

It was alright

older hotel, but doing some remodling. Hotel rooms smelt a bit musty. Drivers and bar tender where very helpful on giving good advises on places to go. Note: it is not 5miles from kauffman staduim!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

shuttle will take you anywhere around the plaza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cultured & Corn Fed
Business
Clear Lake, IA
Aug 12, 2010

Disappointing

Our stay here was incredibly disappointing. We booked based on high rated previous reviews and I'm not sure where the reviewers stayed, but it couldn't possibly have been here. The hotel was going through rennovations [...] We were continually trying to find our way through the hotel due to contruction reroutes, broken elevators and lobby remodel. One of the days the water was shut off for several hours. The hotel was filthy, smelled musty and our non-smoking room reeked of smoke and had an ashtray on the bedside table. Online, the hotel listed microwaves being in the rooms which is one of the things we looked for due to traveling with a child. They failed to mention there was an additional fee per day to have them provided. The only things this hotel had going for it was the outdoor pool and convenient location. I've traveled quite a bit for work and play and this was by far one of the worst hotels I've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top