$106 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

3 stars
View map of One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RBJP
Single
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 15, 2010

Great Location - Not so great Hotel

I booked a standard room which was not labeled as "non-smoking" as I required a smoking room. When I checked in I was told there were no smoking rooms and I would have to go outside to smoke in the 8 degree temps. The room was cold, old and dreary. Tiles in bathroom were popping off, ceiling had been patched, TV old. Room service was to be open to 10:30 - I called at 10:15 and was told they decided to close at 10 that night. Overall not a good experience. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza area very close.

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cynthia G
Couples
St Louis, Mo
Sep 6, 2010

Really great location!!!

We visited Kansas City for the Labor Day weekend. We visited the Plaza, City Market, Arabia Steamboat Museum, Union Station. The Holiday Inn on the Plaza was very nice. Our room was very large and extremely clean. Our king-size bed was very comfortable. Overall our stay at this hotel was excellent. Would have liked a frig & microwave and a flat screen TV. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Mpls Mom
Aug 30, 2010

Great location in the Plaza area

Hotel made reservations for us on the way back from our trip for Sat. night along with free shuttle to the dining establishment. Great location,easy to walk around in the plaza area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Kansas City North
Aug 16, 2010

Better than we thought it would be

Our trip was just a four day get away, thus we stayed in Downtown, and wanted to be as close the Plaza as we could. We ate our breakfast and dinner down there most of our stay. We found the staff at the hotel to be courteous and friendly. After a rather rocky start to our vacation it was nice to check into the hotel with a smile from a very nice lady at the front desk. About the only thing we could complain about is that the bathroom was small and cramped, not much room for two people to try and maneuver around in. The location was fantastic (walking distance to the Plaza) and we appreciated the covered parking. Our room was better than we thought it would be, and we both felt it was a good value for the price. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well appointed. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to the Plaza, as driving in the evening is not a good idea! The traffic is quite heavy and it is much easier to get around by walking.

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Oklahoma
Aug 15, 2010

It was alright

older hotel, but doing some remodling. Hotel rooms smelt a bit musty. Drivers and bar tender where very helpful on giving good advises on places to go. Note: it is not 5miles from kauffman staduim!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

shuttle will take you anywhere around the plaza.

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cultured & Corn Fed
Family
Clear Lake, IA
Aug 12, 2010

Disappointing

Our stay here was incredibly disappointing. We booked based on high rated previous reviews and I'm not sure where the reviewers stayed, but it couldn't possibly have been here. The hotel was going through rennovations [...] We were continually trying to find our way through the hotel due to contruction reroutes, broken elevators and lobby remodel. One of the days the water was shut off for several hours. The hotel was filthy, smelled musty and our non-smoking room reeked of smoke and had an ashtray on the bedside table. Online, the hotel listed microwaves being in the rooms which is one of the things we looked for due to traveling with a child. They failed to mention there was an additional fee per day to have them provided. The only things this hotel had going for it was the outdoor pool and convenient location. I've traveled quite a bit for work and play and this was by far one of the worst hotels I've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
clayton, nc
Aug 10, 2010

Kansas City

Did a great job "hiding" the construction. Staff was very friendly. The only complaint was that our room was on the first floor, but the stairs made it a bit difficult to take our luggage from the trolley and up the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Nicholasville, KY
Aug 1, 2010

Great Reunion

Very convienent location with nice facilities for people attending the reunion to get together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bogeygal76
Family
Kansas
Jul 14, 2010

Do Not Stay Here!!!

This was the worst stay we have ever had!Please do not disregard the other reviews like I did. The beds were soo hard. Our room was filthy and the carpets were full of stains. Even our coffee make in our room was broken! The power went out and the back up generator was broke so we remained in the dark for hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
portland, or
Jun 21, 2010

perfect location for our visit

We were there to visit the Kansas City Art Institute which was located directly behind the hotel. It is right next door to the Kemper Museum & the Nelson. This hotels is also within walking distance to the Country Club Plaza which we frequented many times to shop and eat. The room was simple and clean. The staff was helpful with directions and such when we had them. It was a nice feature to have an on-site laundry facility that we did use. We visited in June, which was unusually hotter than normal we were told, so it was quite refreshing to go to the pool in the evening and the water was a perfect 90 degrees! I no longer have a young child, but the pool has a good size (1-2 foot deep) shallow end for little ones.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top