$106 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

3 stars
One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
80 reviews
Enjoyable Stay

Location of the hotel is great. Parking was limited and difficult along the side of the building.... See full review

  • cris123
  • Jul 21, 2014
Great Location

Great place to stay if you want to be close to downtown! See full review

  • Shyloh
  • Jun 18, 2014
Family-friendly hotel in a prime location for dining and entertainment

Guests of Holiday Inn at The Plaza enjoy close access -- a short walk or complimentary shuttle ride -- to the city's premier 15-block dining, shopping, and entertainment district, Country Club Plaza. Culture beckons from around the corner at two outstanding art museums, and the hotel is convenient to myriad attractions and downtown nightlife. Families appreciate the connecting rooms, free dining for children, and extra large pool with a shallow end. Pets are also welcome (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Located near Country Club Plaza, with more than 150 shops and restaurants
  • Kansas City's largest heated outdoor hotel pool
  • Free shuttle to Country Club Plaza and other nearby attractions
  • Free wireless high-speed Internet access throughout
  • Free garage parking
Rooms

Choose from king rooms, suites, or the Executive Club Level. All rooms include a desk with ample workspace, lamp, desk-level electrical outlets, and complimentary Wi-Fi and local telephone calls. For in-room entertainment, enjoy pay-per-view and premium cable movies or the DVD player. Executive Club Level guest quarters are larger, and free morning newspapers are delivered to rooms. Seven of the hotel's 241 rooms accommodate handicapped or physically challenged guests.

Features

The lively Country Club Plaza, with its busy calendar of music and special events and dozens of dining and leisure options, is a major attraction for guests, but the hotel offers distractions of its own, beginning with a super-large heated outdoor pool. Exercise enthusiasts work out on universal, treadmill, stair stepper, and elliptical equipment in the small on-site Health and Fitness Center. For guests with small children or on a longer stay, the Guest Self-Laundry includes a washer and dryer. Internet access is free in public areas.

Dining

Kids eat for free at the Main Street Grill restaurant, located off the lobby and serving breakfast and dinner daily and lunch on Saturdays only. American cuisine ranges from fine aged steaks to specialty sandwiches and salads. Room Service delivers from 6:30 a.m. to 10:30 p.m. The Main Street Lounge offers beer, wine, and cocktails.

Transportation
  • Kansas City International Airport (30 mi/48 km)
  • Amtrak Union Station (3.0 miles/4.8 km)
  • Charles B. Wheeler Downtown Airport (5.9 mi/9.4 km)
  • Free shuttle within three miles of the hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art  (0.3 mi/0.4 km) 
  • Kansas City Convention Center (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Sprint Center Arena (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Truman Sports Complex, baseball and football (8 miles/12.8 km)
  • Union Station Science City  (3.0 miles/4.8 km)
Business
  • Business center with free PCs and printers
  • Complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access
  • Executive Club Level with additional business facilities
  • Ballroom accommodates up to 285 people and divisible into 3 sections
  • 5 stand-alone meeting rooms on same level

Hotel Map

39.0456 -94.5867
Nearby airports
Kansas City International, (MCI), 23.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 1 mi
  • Westport: 1.2 mi
  • The Money Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 2.5 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 2.7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 2.7 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Union Station: 3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 3.4 mi
  • Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.1 mi
  • Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art: 0.3 mi
  • The Ewing and Muriel Kauffman Memorial Garden: 0.5 mi
  • Loose Park Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Toy and Miniature Museum: 1 mi
  • Westport: 1.2 mi
  • The Money Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Kaleidoscope: 2.5 mi
  • Coterie Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Sea Life Kansas City Aquarium: 2.7 mi
  • LEGOLAND Discovery Center: 2.7 mi
  • National World War I Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Union Station: 3 mi
  • Kemper Arena: 3.3 mi
  • Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts: 3.4 mi
  • American Jazz Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Negro Leagues Baseball Museum: 3.5 mi
  • The College Basketball Experience: 3.6 mi
  • Sprint Center: 3.7 mi
  • The Midland by AMC: 3.8 mi
  • Kansas City Public Library: 4 mi
  • Kansas City Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • The Steamboat Arabia Museum: 4.5 mi
  • Airline History Museum: 5.1 mi
  • Arrowhead Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • Kauffman Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Missouri Town 1855: 6.7 mi
  • Ameristar Casino Kansas City: 9.2 mi
  • Worlds Of Fun: 10.5 mi

Dining

Main Street Cafe
A wide variety of dishes from fine aged steaks to specialty sandwich delights and salads.
Main Street Lounge
What you need to unwind, an iced cold beer, glass of wine or an "on the rocks" cocktail, whatever your pleasure!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Powerlifter
Pittsburgh PA
Dec 8, 2011

excellent hotel

This hotel was in a great location. The staff was helpful and friendly. Room and lobby were clean and comfortable. Lots of restaraunts in walking distance. We had one problem where our shower drain was clogged. I notified the front desk, we went out for a few hours and when we returned, the problem was fixed and there was an apology letter and some chocolates shaped like hammers in the room. Just a very pleasant experience. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michelle Lauren Wisenhove
Business
Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Not worth the money

All brown decor. Not appealing. Staff not happy to help. I was confused at check out and had to call Cheap Tickets to get the information I needed. The desk clerk was completely unhelpful and his attitude was not good. There were no extra blankets. The heater had a loud rattle. Another guest had a charge that needed to be removed from his bill. He was instructed to call back on Monday to get it taken off. The location was good and the parking garage locked. I would not recommend this hotel and would be reluctant to stay in another Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Country Club Plaza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa
Aug 7, 2011

KC - Plaza

Staff were great and very helpful. Pool and facilities were excellent and for the money, it is a great place to stay. The building is aged and some areas could use refreshing or airing out, but I would not hesitate staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel has a shuttle to anywhere you want within 3 miles. You call and they are ready to take you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago IL
Jun 8, 2011

Great Stay

This hotel was very clean, friendly and close to everything. I would stay here everytime! the only negitive was the parking spaces avalible for larger vehicles. But your in a city so you cant expect alot. If your going to KC stay here.... The plaza is within walking distance and downtown is a 3minute drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go to Ohklahoma Joes And Aurthur bryants! the best food i have ever ate!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missourigirl
Business
Missouri
May 29, 2011

Great location nice place

Very friendly staff nice rooms great location. Nice outdoor pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Took a cab to the power and light district and then VooDoo lounge at Harrahs casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia pa
May 16, 2011

good location, terrible customer service

the morning of my check out i received a billing summary that stated that i owed over 200$ for my stay. this never happened before[...]. when i went to the front desk to check out,[...] it took her 20 minutes to figure out that i did indeed pay already and don't need to pay again. and after wasting 20 minutes of my time (mind you i had a 6 am flight that day), there was none of "im sorry for the inconvenience", or "it was my mistake", or "thank you for staying with us". there was just silence, not even a "good bye".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

two art museums (one small contemporary - ok, another large - excellent) are just next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mpls mn
May 9, 2011

weekend in kc

This hotel is in a great location for checking out all of the sites that Kansas City has to offer. Staff was helpful. The free van that they ran in a 3 mile radius was very nice after a night on the town. Hotel is undergoing renovation, how ever that was not a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Jardines which is only a short block away. Great Jazz good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harvard, IL
Apr 28, 2011

Great location, shame about the mess

We arrived at the hotel after a 4 hour drive from Des Moines. The entrance looked like a war zone. Don't judge a book by its cover. The first thing we were looking forward to was enjoying a swim in the "largest heated outdoor pool in Kansas City." The pool was closed. So, we checked in. The desk staff were friendly and looked happy to be there, a plus for checking in. I was pleasantly surprised when the staff offered to look up my Holiday Inn rewards account and verified that I was a member. The perk was free morning breakfasts. We were all happy with this as the weekend breakfast buffet was wonderful. The dining room staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel offered another great service, free shuttle service within the mid-town area. This made for a nice evening since we could get a ride to Crown center and see the sights along the way. The shuttle driver was courteous and professional and was knowledgable of the area. Once we were done shopping, we called the shuttle phone number and were picked up and taken back to the hotel. We had two rooms, a King room and a 2-queen room. The King bed was comfortable and soft. The queens were very firm. Parking in the garage was easy to access. The location of the hotel is extremely close to the Nelson Art Museum and the Kansas City Contemporary Museum of Art. For the art lovers reading this, the location is perfect. Also, a short walking distance to the Country Club Plaza. In spite of the re-modeling that was taking place, our 3-day stay was enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the hotel shuttle to get around the mid-town section. You don't have to worry about getting lost and you can enjoy the sights along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 25, 2011

Clean, big room for price

I was in town for one night only for work. The person working the front desk that afternoon was not the friendliest, but I was pleased to find the room was clean and much bigger than I had expected. Normal amenities, wi-fi internet in room. There was a free shuttle service that took me to the event I had to go to a mile away and picked me up when it was done - shuttle ran until 11pm, that was a pleasant surprise. Morning front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful when I was leaving the next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, tx
Dec 18, 2010

Hotel Review

Easy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COUNTRY CLUB PLAZA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RBJP
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 15, 2010

Great Location - Not so great Hotel

I booked a standard room which was not labeled as "non-smoking" as I required a smoking room. When I checked in I was told there were no smoking rooms and I would have to go outside to smoke in the 8 degree temps. The room was cold, old and dreary. Tiles in bathroom were popping off, ceiling had been patched, TV old. Room service was to be open to 10:30 - I called at 10:15 and was told they decided to close at 10 that night. Overall not a good experience. Will not return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza area very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top