$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

2 stars
3100 I-70 DR SE, Columbia, MO 65201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
75 reviews
stay away from home while son was at basketball camp

This hotel gave me a place to stay while my son was at the college as a wheelchair basketball camp... See full review

  • sgtdvs13
  • Jul 26, 2014
Great overnight

Traveling, after a 15 hour drive, it was a relaxing stay, friendly staff, very nice breakfast.... See full review

  • Gradauation Tony
  • Jun 17, 2014
Be happy at this Howard Johnson Inn Columbia conveniently located off Interstate 70 near downtown and the impressive campus of the University of Missouri. Find outdoor adventures at Katy Trail State Park or Rock Bridge Memorial State Park. Try your luck at Isle of Capri Casino, or see concerts at Mizzou Arena. Start your mornings refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast before making a splash in the outdoor pool or energizing in the fitness center. Host an event in the meeting space, and take advantage of the business center available for your convenience. Connect to complimentary wireless Internet access from the comfort of your guest room, or upgrade to a hot tub room for additional comfort. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Columbia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Hearnes Center: 2.7 mi
  • Faurot Field: 2.8 mi
  • Mizzou Arena: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 75
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sergeo
Business
Portland Oregon
Jul 16, 2014

bad service

They were mean and charged extra for the pet Also my pet got fleas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy doc
Business
Seatlle
Nov 30, 2013

good , comfortable stay

Good place. Nice and helpful staff. Breakfast in morning is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandy doc
Business
Seatlle
Nov 20, 2013

Excellent stay

Very good place to stay.. nice staff, clean rooms and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
call me Rick
Business
Kansas City, MO
Oct 21, 2013

Overpriced during Mizzou football games

good service by staff and plenty of parking, slow unsecure wifi, Tube TV with basic cable, everything in room worked, no bugs seen, never had the breakfast, high rate due to Mizzou-Florida Football game but everything in Columbia is overpriced during football games, would not stay here again during a non-football game weekend at the prices they charged me but might stay here again at normal rates

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kerrielaws
Business
columbia mo
Sep 7, 2013

Here for Chemo

We came in for chemo at VA Hospital. Room was clean, not much noise from outside, good cable and internet, fridge and microwave great! Will be back next month.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
low cost traveller
Business
Columbia Missouri
Jun 2, 2013

my stay in Columbia

Great location; friendly, helpful staff. An older hotel that has been taken good care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edward7
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 1, 2013

Nice, clean motel

nice, clean hotel. friendly and helpful staff. convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visting R
Business
New York City
Jan 6, 2013

Adequate, clean, cheap stay

Perfectly satisfactory experience. Nothing outstanding, but there was nothing bad about it and is perfectly fine for anyone wishing to stay a night or two near Mizzou. Staff were very helpful in giving directions and maps to my destination. Room was big and clean. There was a TV, big writing table, plenty of storage space, a thermostat to set the room temperature, an iron, tissues, a coffee machine with coffee, microwave, refrigerator, cups, and ice bucket. Breakfast was nothing exciting but it was great that it was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobofthenorth
Business
western Canada
Sep 20, 2012

More than I expected

I moved from an Extended Stay America on the west side of Columbia to the Howard Johnson at the junction of 63 & 70. I was very pleased with the HJ experience - breakfast was ordinary but more or less what I expected, the room was excellent - clean and spacious. The staff were friendly - the morning guy maybe a little overfriendly but he had some lonely nights I think. All in all a very good experience & I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Longhorn Steak House - have the rib eye - excellent meal - I had it twice it was so good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joeh2
Business
Missouri
Jan 28, 2012

my stay

the room was nice, clean and well worth the money spent. they are obviously remodeling and there were some inconvenience is trying to get in the building many of the exits work closed from the outside, which cause me to have to walk around the building quite a bit to get to my room. aside from that it was a great room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top