$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

2 stars
3100 I-70 DR SE, Columbia, MO 65201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
75 reviews
stay away from home while son was at basketball camp

This hotel gave me a place to stay while my son was at the college as a wheelchair basketball camp... See full review

  • sgtdvs13
  • Jul 26, 2014
Great overnight

Traveling, after a 15 hour drive, it was a relaxing stay, friendly staff, very nice breakfast.... See full review

  • Gradauation Tony
  • Jun 17, 2014
Be happy at this Howard Johnson Inn Columbia conveniently located off Interstate 70 near downtown and the impressive campus of the University of Missouri. Find outdoor adventures at Katy Trail State Park or Rock Bridge Memorial State Park. Try your luck at Isle of Capri Casino, or see concerts at Mizzou Arena. Start your mornings refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast before making a splash in the outdoor pool or energizing in the fitness center. Host an event in the meeting space, and take advantage of the business center available for your convenience. Connect to complimentary wireless Internet access from the comfort of your guest room, or upgrade to a hot tub room for additional comfort. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Columbia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Hearnes Center: 2.7 mi
  • Faurot Field: 2.8 mi
  • Mizzou Arena: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donald sheld
Business
Kansas City
Sep 4, 2012

The unexpected

The first night drunk students from missou came in at 2:00 am and woke us up. The second night they rented the banquet hall and the drunk patrons set off the Fire alarm. The breakfast was good the amenities in the room where good. The in room frig. is loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A few dine in and a few fast food. Grocery store just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lowlita
Business
Canon City, CO
Jun 17, 2014

avoid this hotel

Noisy. Smelled of cigarettes and human urine. Sucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sergeo
Business
Portland Oregon
Jul 16, 2014

bad service

They were mean and charged extra for the pet Also my pet got fleas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LCL Mom
Business
Kansas
Nov 13, 2012

One night stop to main destination

Older hotel with older fixtures and decor; analog TV!; carpets felt dirty; smelled funky upon arrival, so wen to local store and bought candle; stained formica type counters; only had silky-type coverlet, threadbare blanket, and older sheets; breakfast decent with sausage and biscuits, waffles, etc.; We don't travel alot, so did read the reviews, but if we can this way again, we would not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Janet007
Business
Moundville MO
Jun 27, 2013

Not that Happy

This time the room needed a lot of work. The faucet in the bathroom sink was broken and so was the toilet handle. The room didnt seem that clean. We went to the breakfast and when we returned to our room they had started cleaning around us, so if we used the bathroom the next renters would be using a dirty toilet etc. We won't be back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Golden Corral was GREAT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Janet007
Business
Moundville MO
Jul 2, 2013

Not Happy

The faucet in the bathroom was broken and also the toliet handle. While we were eating at 9-9:45, they came in and cleaned around our things including the bathroom. Hopely they re-cleaned the bathroom after we used it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Golden Corral was excellent. The food was great and the service was too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DrLori
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 28, 2014

it is 2 star for a reason

no frills. the best characteristic of this hotel is the friendly staff. the room is bare minimum. the free breakfast ends at 9:00 so better be an early riser

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

its convenient for UM visits. it is cheap

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
middle of nowhere couple
Business
Columbia Missouri
Jun 21, 2011

Bad and good

The first room we were assigned the air conditioner did not work. The 2nd room we had to move a bed to plug in a light, filthy under the bed. Complained. Internet was really not up to par. We were also told there was a restaurant in the motel.... there is none. Breakfast over at 9am. way too early for vacationers. The cleaning ladies were so very sweet and kind, management really needs to step it up a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed in HJ
Business
AR
Sep 6, 2011

Not your best choice!

We just finished a 3-night stay at this hotel. They did NOT do any cleaning, bed-making etc. on the first day and told us we had our "do not disturb" sign in the door (we didn't even have a "do not disturb" sign in the room to use!). They also excused themselves from cleaning (instead of apologizing) saying we must have told the staff to not clean our room!!! Definitely will NOT stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2feet kicking
Business
Hillsboro, MO
Apr 24, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Enjoyed a few days shopping and going to Finger Lakes State Park. Hotel was in a great location. There were a few times that the room door card did not work but the staff was great in reprogramming it for us. Room was very clean and we did not hear the highway traffic. Been years since I stayed at a Howard Johnson's and the price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top