$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 23, 2015 Check-out: Mar 26, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

2 stars
View map of 3100 I-70 DR SE, Columbia, MO 65201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
78 reviews
Always reliable when I need them

My travels to Columbia, Missouri usually aren't for pleasure. They're usually to pick up my son... See full review

  • Kelli R.
  • Jan 6, 2015
Mizzou Wrestling

Close to the college around 10 minutes and Dinning is also close with entertainment within 10 min. See full review

  • J.Lavallee
  • Dec 30, 2014
Be happy at this Howard Johnson Inn Columbia conveniently located off Interstate 70 near downtown and the impressive campus of the University of Missouri. Find outdoor adventures at Katy Trail State Park or Rock Bridge Memorial State Park. Try your luck at Isle of Capri Casino, or see concerts at Mizzou Arena. Start your mornings refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast before making a splash in the outdoor pool or energizing in the fitness center. Host an event in the meeting space, and take advantage of the business center available for your convenience. Connect to complimentary wireless Internet access from the comfort of your guest room, or upgrade to a hot tub room for additional comfort. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Columbia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Hearnes Center: 2.7 mi
  • Faurot Field: 2.8 mi
  • Mizzou Arena: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Montana
Business
Perrysburg, OH, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Decent room, horrible breakfast

The room was reasonably clean, nice toiletries, good wifi, fridge and microwave. Fairly quiet and convenient. Main problem is breakfast--the only healthy option available was fruit that was inedible, old and disgusting. Checkout was a fiasco--no clerk available, and then they gave me someone ELSE's receipt with the wrong credit card number on it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed in HJ
Business
AR
Sep 6, 2011

Not your best choice!

We just finished a 3-night stay at this hotel. They did NOT do any cleaning, bed-making etc. on the first day and told us we had our "do not disturb" sign in the door (we didn't even have a "do not disturb" sign in the room to use!). They also excused themselves from cleaning (instead of apologizing) saying we must have told the staff to not clean our room!!! Definitely will NOT stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Once a year vacation
Business
Kansas, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Vacation Stop

Everything was nice. It is showing some wear but room was clean and quiet. Good Location and close to eating places. We were just stopping for the night, not staying in the area. It was great for that. It is in a good, safe location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There were several eating places with in walking or short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jbus14
Business
Columbia, MO, USA
Aug 29, 2011

It was a nice hotel for the price

The hotel was a good place for my family to stay being on the budget that we are. I cant say it was extrordinary, but for what we paid it was nice. It seemed to be a little out of date and needed some remodeling. We took my son swimming and he enjoyed that. A few people were loud at night, but that is to be expected. I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Denver
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 22, 2011

What a Great place

Simple and clean! The staff was wonderful and went out of their way to help us. Perfect price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KBate
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Passing through Columbia

For its price this is a great hotel, simple and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobb
Business
Missouri, USA
Aug 16, 2011

College orientation

Very comfortable, clean, and the pool was very nice. This is an older hotel but very well kept and comfortable. The price was awesome and it also included a hot breakfast, nothing fancy but enjoyable. I would definitely book here again if I needed a hotel in Columbia

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frugal Fan!
Business
Texas
Aug 6, 2011

A nice place to stay...

The hotel is in a very convenient location. It had a great full breakfast and very friendly management. The rooms fit the price paid and the entire hotel smelled fresh and clean, rooms and all. It was worth the price and I would stay again next time I came back in town...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Aug 1, 2011

Howard Johnson (Best Western Columbia In

Room was large and updated. Second floor hallways smelled of smoke but our smoke-free room was okay. Staff was friendly. Breasfast was basic and less than most others: Drury, Holiday Inn, Comfort Inn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Boone County Hospital.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
columbia
Jul 25, 2011

ok but.......

Everything was just ok... no laundry facility and towels that were rough enough in texture to remove the top layer of skin were drawbacks, aside from those things its an ok place to lay your head if you are not looking for eligance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top