Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

2 stars
View map of 3100 I-70 DR SE, Columbia, MO 65201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
79 reviews
Great place to stay

Close to everything and very clean! We enjoyed our stay while visiting our baby in the NICU See full review

  • Nicole F.
  • Jun 9, 2015
Mizzou Wrestling

Close to the college around 10 minutes and Dinning is also close with entertainment within 10 min. See full review

  • J.Lavallee
  • Dec 30, 2014
Be happy at this Howard Johnson Inn Columbia conveniently located off Interstate 70 near downtown and the impressive campus of the University of Missouri. Find outdoor adventures at Katy Trail State Park or Rock Bridge Memorial State Park. Try your luck at Isle of Capri Casino, or see concerts at Mizzou Arena. Start your mornings refreshed with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast before making a splash in the outdoor pool or energizing in the fitness center. Host an event in the meeting space, and take advantage of the business center available for your convenience. Connect to complimentary wireless Internet access from the comfort of your guest room, or upgrade to a hot tub room for additional comfort. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible are also available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

38.9593 -92.2917
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Hearnes Center: 2.7 mi
  • Faurot Field: 2.8 mi
  • Mizzou Arena: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobofthenorth
Business
western Canada
Sep 20, 2012

More than I expected

I moved from an Extended Stay America on the west side of Columbia to the Howard Johnson at the junction of 63 & 70. I was very pleased with the HJ experience - breakfast was ordinary but more or less what I expected, the room was excellent - clean and spacious. The staff were friendly - the morning guy maybe a little overfriendly but he had some lonely nights I think. All in all a very good experience & I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Longhorn Steak House - have the rib eye - excellent meal - I had it twice it was so good.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Donald sheld
Couples
Kansas City
Sep 4, 2012

The unexpected

The first night drunk students from missou came in at 2:00 am and woke us up. The second night they rented the banquet hall and the drunk patrons set off the Fire alarm. The breakfast was good the amenities in the room where good. The in room frig. is loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A few dine in and a few fast food. Grocery store just across the street.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
57 special
Couples
missouri
Aug 27, 2012

class reunion

close to activities,nice breakfast,comfortable room but got 2 double beds,not King as reserved. Room needed some updating-worn carpet, broken toilet,warped bathroom door,no smoke alarm at all. Outdoor pool was nice but much too cold to use

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cardinals Fans
Couples
Kansas
Jul 6, 2012

One Night Stay

We were traveling through & stayed at this hotel. It was decent for the price. Average continental breakfast with the basics. Would definitely recommend if you need a place to crash for the night. Don't think I would stay for more than a couple nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
k9kutsmitzi
Family
cape fair, mo
Jun 30, 2012

good place to stay

its an older hotel, its been re done and it was clean and comfortable, the staff was very helpful. will satry there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike Edgar
Couples
Desloge, MO
Jun 21, 2012

Room security

Security was so good, it took 3 trips back to the front desk to get our key card to open the room. Finally the front desk gave us another room. After that inconvenience however, everything was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grave Master
Couples
Missouri
May 31, 2012

It was great!

A good value, great breakfast and overall very nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bballfan1
Friends
Columbia, Missouri
Mar 21, 2012

Nothing Special But Serves the Purpose

Hotel was pretty much as described. Could definitely use some upgrading. Best part of it was that TGI Friday's was in the parking lot. That was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TGI Friday''s was in the parking lot. Very convenient.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ajaymahe
Single
Denver, CO, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Good hotel for a night's stay

Good hotel for a night's stay. I had a sound sleep at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Inn Columbia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joeh2
Business
Missouri
Jan 28, 2012

my stay

the room was nice, clean and well worth the money spent. they are obviously remodeling and there were some inconvenience is trying to get in the building many of the exits work closed from the outside, which cause me to have to walk around the building quite a bit to get to my room. aside from that it was a great room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top