$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Americas Best Value Inn

2 stars
View map of 1244 Canterbury Road, Shakopee, MN 55379

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
33 reviews
GREAT Hotel Near Canterbury Park

Perfect hotel for a trip to Canterbury Park. Beautiful hotel with a nice gym, pool and daily... See full review

  • Eddie from Brooklyn
  • Sep 16, 2014
Better than expected!!

We really liked this hotel. It was better than we expected... The employees were very friendly and... See full review

  • Jan N.
  • Mar 21, 2015
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Shakopee/Minneapolis includes more of what you want when traveling to the Twin Cities. We are AAA 2 Diamond rated smoke free property with flat panel satellite TVs with HBO/ a heated indoor pool and one and two bedroom poolside suites. Pets are allowed-charges and restrictions apply. Take advantage of our kids 17 and under stay free policy/ complimentary/ secure wireless high-speed internet access in all guest rooms and public areas. Enjoy a complimentary full buffet breakfast every morning and then choose from our two on-property restaurants - Arizona s Steakhouse open Friday and Saturday nights and Leinie Lodge. Plus/ be sure to join us at the Arizona Lounge which features live entertainment seven nights a week. The Americas Best Value Inn Shakopee is your best value throughout the entire Shakopee/ Eden Prairie/ Bloomington and Minneapolis - St. Paul area. We offer the perfect accommodations and location whether you are in town on business/ or taking in the local sites. There is so much to see and do/ such as Canterbury Park Racetrack and Card Club/ Mall of America/ Murphy s Landing Minnesota River Heritage/ Minnesota Renaissance Festival or the Mystic Lake Casino just to name a few. We are also the closest hotel to the Valleyfair Amusement Park and the place to stay for you and your family during summer or winter. We are in close proximity to some of the most pristine public golf courses around such as Stonebrook Golf Course/ the Wilds and the Ridges at Sand Creek. And dont forget that we offer the best value for students of the University of Minnesota and Minnesota School of Business and their families. Most importantly/ we pride ourselves on our great service. Everything we do at the Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Shakopee/Minneapolis is driven by our desire to provide exceptional service/ and a friendly/ comfortable environment.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americas Best Value Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Americas Best Value Inn Rooms

Poolside Double Room
2 Double Beds-Pool View-Free WiFi-Coffeemaker-Balcony-Hairdryer-Flat Panel Satellite TV-HBO-Iron-Ironing Board-Desk with
Poolside King Room
1 King Bed-Pool View-Sofa Bed- Free WiFi-Coffeemaker-Balcony-Hairdryer- Flat Panel Satellite TV-HBO-Desk with Lamp-
Atrium View Double Room
Upgraded guest room with 2 comfortable double beds overlooking our hotel atrium and pool area.
Atrium View King Room
Guest room with comfortable king size bed, sleeper sofa overlooking our hotel atrium and pool.
Executive Suite
Attractive 2 room suite, comfortable king sized bed, separate living room with sofa sleeper
Jetted Tub Suite
Spacious 2 room suite with king size bed, separate living area, sleeper sofa, private jet tub.
1 Queen Bed Handicap Accessible
Comfortable guest room with 1 Queen Murphy Bed. Handicap Accessible.
Classic Double Room
Traditional guest room with 2 comfortable double beds.
Classic King Room
Traditional guest room with comfortable king sized bed, and sleeper sofa.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Jacuzzi
Casino
Sauna
Golf
Game room
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Americas Best Value Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jan N.
Business
LE SUEUR
Mar 21, 2015

Better than expected!!

We really liked this hotel. It was better than we expected... The employees were very friendly and we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laura 26
Business
Camp Douglas
Feb 4, 2015

one night stay

The hotel was in the middle of renovations which hopefully will resolve some of the issues. I reserved and paid for 2 upgraded rooms overlooking the pool and atrium but when I arrived at check-in (3pm) I was told the hotel was sold out and they did not have those rooms left (because of the renovation). First, we were given poolside rooms on the 1st floor but our view was of a wall, not the pool area. They did move us when we requested different rooms and were friendly about it. The 2 new rooms were again on 1st floor, but at least the patio view was of the pool and not a wall. Other issues were broken door locks, red ants all over in the bathroom, phone did not work, no information was given or available in rooms about the hotel, breakfast, check-out time, etc. One positive was the desk staff who were very friendly and talkative. Breakfast was okay (sausage, pancakes, hard boiled eggs, muffins, fruit, yogurt, etc. I would try this hotel again and give them a second chance in hopes that some of the issue would be resolved in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Arizona's bar and grill had AWESOME entertainment. Arch Allies played that night to a full crowd and WHAT A PERFORMANCE! The bar also offered free rides home to those in need of that service, this also included of having your vehicle taken to your home as well...How many bars do that and it was a FREE service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karl K.
Business
Milwaukee
Dec 31, 2014

Good stay

Good stay and good value this year. Helpful staff, good breakfast, and plenty of towels. The room was clean and the heat worked this year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jake
Business
long beach
Dec 29, 2014

Don't expect much!

I booked a room here for my wife and I to stay and relax for a few days after a stressful month. I got a hot tub suite and all was good until I got to the room. The front desk was A+mazing! We got to our room and it was large but very dated. The bed was about a foot and a half off the ground and the carpet was crusty everywhere, except where it was stained with gum or obvious vomit remains. My wife wears flip flops at hotels and they were black when we were packing up to go. Rooms do smell like smoke but it's not overwhelming. Each room has either a balcony or is pool facing. We had the balcony in ours. We searched for the hot tub only to find it in the bathroom ...with the shower in it and stained. My wife cleaned it with bleach and cleaned the bathroom lights because they were filled with dust bunnies. Once she was satisfied with the cleanliness of the room she fired up the hot tub. There's an obvious short in it because just touching around the on/off button turned the jets on! When you showered the jets would come on from a drop of water hitting the area or if you kicked off extra water when you were done. Speaking of the shower ... I'd have better pressure if I dumped a cup of water over my head. There was zero pressure and it took literally 20 minutes to get to a good temp. You'd be standing in there adjusting and touch the "hot zone" and the jets would turn on. I truly thought either my wife, or myself, would get fried in there at some point. We even had a "no bathing alone" policy so if one was fried, the other could resuscitate them. The breakfast is the same thing daily. It's pancakes, biscuits and gravy and hard boiled eggs. My wife was eating an egg and the yoke rolled under the bed. I'm sure it'll be there for months because nobody will want to lay on the vomit carpet and fish it out. The pool looked great, as did the 2 jacuzzis in the pool area. There is noise from the attached bar as they have live music nightly. I'd stay pool side or far from the bar. The thermostat is interesting. They are labeled "turn right for heat, left for cold" you turn it, and both knobs would move. It was certainly an "experience" but we won't do it again! My wife said she was afraid to sleep with her back turned the night I was called into work. That should give people an idea of what the room was like! I'm not sure why we stayed the full stay, it was bad. The bed is 11 years old, anyway the tag attached said it was. It's a shame that the nicer hotels don't advertise their suites and one is forced to go to the cheap hit or miss hotels ... more like motels actually. If this place would clean up, I mean REALLY clean up, it'd be a great place to stay. It's location is great, front desk clerk during the day was hands down the nicest I've ever encountered and the amenities are good. My advice to them, shampoo all the carpets, get new beds and update a little. If they did that, they'd be booked full every weekend and could charge more. My rate was ok but it was certainly not worth what I paid. Reserve at your own risk and bring flip flops that are washable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler8898
Business
wi
Oct 6, 2014

short stay

Has a nice pool area and a great breakfast. It would have been a nice room but finding a sock in the bed between the sheets and a different one on the floor plus a plastic hanger on inside bathroom door make u kind of wonder if they even cleaned the room. gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SassyNana10
Business
Lake Crystal,MN
Sep 29, 2014

Nice place to stay

We were treated with respect and the staff were very easy to work with

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots to do in and around the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddie from Brooklyn
Business
New York City
Sep 16, 2014

GREAT Hotel Near Canterbury Park

Perfect hotel for a trip to Canterbury Park. Beautiful hotel with a nice gym, pool and daily breakfast. A nice short walk to Canterbury Park (if you like walking like me) for horse racing or their casino with poker and other table games. GREAT VALUE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aaskal
Business
Austin, MN
Aug 7, 2014

Good value

The room was not the best that we have been to, but the price was good. Amenities were good. Pool area was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MOM 06
Business
WI
Aug 2, 2014

Family vacation

Went to Mall of America, hotel was convenient location. Our room smelled funny, they were remodeling, but the doors were cracking/breaking, Pool had too much chlorine in it, faded all of our swimsuits:( Breakfast was awesome! Excellent food! Overall this hotel needs a good cleaning and it would be wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wife yes and me maybe
Business
Duluth, Minnesota
Jul 29, 2014

No attention to detail

Things Needing Attention: Bed uncomfortable. Toilet paper spindle missing. Hair drier mount fell off the wall. Sticky elevator floor (secondary elevator). Loud guests in the pool area after 11:00 p.m. Positives: Nice breakfast selection. Clean grounds and clean building. Very good front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top