$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Holiday Inn ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 220 South Broadway Ave., Rochester, MN 55904

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
20 reviews
Convenient and restful visit

We came to Rochester for appointments at the Mayo Clinics. The location and indoor walkways from... See full review

  • Jerrold G.
  • Feb 19, 2015
Excellent hotel

This hotel is very close to the MAYO clinic, in fact walkable distance. I plan on staying here next... See full review

  • Najeeb K.
  • Jan 8, 2015
Welcome to the Holiday Inn-Downtown, located in downtown Rochester, MN. We are a full service hotel, connected to the Mayo Clinic, Rochester Methodist Hospital, St. Mary's Hospital, as well as other attractions in the heart of downtown Rochester. Entertainment and attractions include the Rochester Art Center (local to international artists on display), Goonie's Comedy Club, and Rochester Civic Theatre. The Holiday Inn-Downtown is connected by an indoor, climate controlled walking skyway system to Mayo Clinic. Complimentary shuttle service is available to Mayo Clinic/Gonda, Methodist Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital. The Holiday Inn-Downtown is located eight miles north of the Rochester International Airport. The Holiday Inn-Downtown is conveniently located within walking distance to the Olmsted County Government Center, Mayo Civic Center, Mayo Clinic, and Methodist Hospital. The Holiday Inn-Downtown meets the needs of those groups visiting Rochester for meetings, seminars, conventions and sporting events. We can accommodate groups and events of up to 275 people. The University of Minnesota Rochester, Rochester Community Technical College, National Volleyball Center, Olmsted County Fairgrounds, Graham Arena, Mayo Field (home to Rochester Honkers Baseball), and Olmsted Recreation Center (home to the Rochester Ice Hawks) are all located within minutes of the hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Mayo Civic Center: 0.2 mi

Dining

Thyme Restaurant and Lounge
Newly constructed contemporary full service restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, appetizers and room service is available. Our menu features american fusion cusine with a varity of creative items that strive to satisfy any taste. Our menu boasts 9
Thyme Restaurant and Lounge
American Iconic cuisine with full bar featuring local wines and unique martini's. Cuisine fare includes Gluten Free and Vegetarian options available. Comfortable and quiet atmosphere to relax and enjoy your stay.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yvette S.
Business
Wilmette
Mar 26, 2015

Stinehart

Parking was not good it was not convenient. Water pressure in the toilet was terrible. Otherwise, everything else was fine. The TV was good. The bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kariina
Business
VERNON HILLS
Mar 19, 2015

Great location, rooms & restaurant. Pool & sauna not so much.

Hotel room: very nice, clean, modern, cozy, renovated bathrom, clean carpet, nice desk and offce chair in the room, micrvawe, refridge, coffe maker, nice bed, etc. All fo your comfy stay. Few minor things, but can't compain in general. Also free wi-fi in room and nice office center downstais. Resaurant, bar & food: i was amazed by sweet service, attention and helpfullnes from personel there. Like in upscale restaurant, 5+. The food was awesome and place had vaiarity of food choices, fresh salads, gluten free pizza, vegtarian choices... There were always people visible at the bar. I went to other fancy resaurants with friends in downtown Rochester, and this hotel's restaurant was not worse in quaity of food. I would strongly recommendto to visit it. They deliver to rooms as well. Swimming pool & sauna: these I was not able to visit :( I got excited by looking at photos on the web site and took my swimming suite, but the pool is located in the midddle of hotel, next to 3 corridors, other rooms, restaurant, front desk and has too way much exposure so I was not comfortable to swim in there. I saw mosty children swimming, and couple adults, but mostly swimming pool was empty. Sauna is even worse, it is right next to skyway to Mayo clinic and basically when you enter or exit it, or sit in there, you meet other people with luggage entering/leaving the hotel. Absolutelly not private. Won't recommend to take this hotel if you are looking at it *mostly* because of pool and sauna. Mayo clinic: this hotel is conected to Mayo clinic, so you do not need to walk outside. You need to take skyway (2nd floor) and then switch to subway (lower floor). The walk takes about 10-15 min going through different buildings. If you have handicaped person or elderly slower walker person, I would recommend gettig a closer hotel, as this walk migt be tough for tose people. Otherwise, very comfortable, and many shops/cafes along the way. Parking: well... The hotel parking is extra $$ which I could not find in descrption on the site. Be aware it is extra $13.5 + tax per day or you can just use regular hourly rates of public garage parking. I thought hotel should provide free parking like they usually do, this one does not. If you satay for a week, here is additional $100 just for the parking. Pets: again, this is not anywhere on the site! But the policy is: max 35 pounds pet, $75 extra fee upon checkout for cleaning the room (one time), pet should be in crate when you leave the hotel. I peronally did not find a good park/walk with your pet outsie of the hotel, as it is located in downtown surrounded by concrete. So for some trees you will have to walk few other blocks. Attractions: the major attraction of the city is Mayo clinic :) There is art cenr and theater in this town too, but I did not see many people in there. Majority come to the clinic. My main dissapinment with the stay was that I could not read all these details on hotel site and had to learn uppon arrival. But the positive is that hotel rooms, location and food are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerrold G.
Business
N/A
Feb 19, 2015

Convenient and restful visit

We came to Rochester for appointments at the Mayo Clinics. The location and indoor walkways from the Holiday Inn to the Mayo Clinics was extremely helpful during a February visit to Rochester, Minnesota. The room was inviting, clean, and well maintained. The service, from front desk, to room services, to the restaurant/bar was excellent, with welcoming smiles. A public parking ramp immediately to the rear of the hotel provided ready access for unloading and loading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xinhua W.
Business
Green Bay
Feb 11, 2015

OK Trip

We were stayed in this hotel. we did not know the room is a little too small and sound-prove is so bad, we can hear people next door talking and opening the faucet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Najeeb K.
Business
del mar
Jan 8, 2015

Excellent hotel

This hotel is very close to the MAYO clinic, in fact walkable distance. I plan on staying here next time I come to Rochester. You can take the covered walkways directly to MAYO clinic. Rooms were clean, comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tt0876
Business
Rochester, MN
Jun 22, 2014

Typical Hotel

It's pretty much your typical hotel, it's not great but it's not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Billpp
Business
Chicago
Apr 25, 2014

Average Hotel

Good news: they're connected by skyway to Mayo. Bad News: Small rooms, no imagination when decorating, uncomfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the restaurant across the street-Soma. It's great but not cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eric007
Business
mpls
Nov 29, 2013

dirty .old . Yesterdays coffee. Poolside not. Parking ramp view. $119 not worth 50

old outdated hotel White disgusting floor tile grout not white anymore no Jacuzzi coffee was from yesterday still left out in the morning 1 positive there's barely anyone staying there so they didn't kick us out when wecame back from the bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asdf jkl
Business
St. Paul
Oct 29, 2013

Clean w/ Friendly Staff

Greeted w/ a friendly, helpful team at check-in, clean room, plenty of amenities. Only down-side is paying for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn ROCHESTER DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Oct 25, 2013

front desk disasters

first room was next to the indoor pool - temp was 78 and ac had been turned off for the year. had to extend stay for one additional day due to wife's mayo appointments - no one knew how to do this - manager was called - next day I found an additional $120 hold had been put on my credit card, in addition to the $40 hold that had been on my card for the first 3 days. when I asked why this was necessary for one additional night I was told it was policy. when I asked whose policy I was told it was not Holiday Inn but local franchise owner. all this occurred over the phone as front desk staff did not know why the $120 charge was there. terrible hotel experience - never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Prescott's Grill or Zzest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top