$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 13, 2014 Check-out: Nov 16, 2014

Days Inn Rochester Downtown

2 stars
1st Ave NW, Center St & First Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
38 reviews
Good location

It is very close to the Mayo center, which is an absolute advantage if you just stay a night or two... See full review

  • mya3238
  • May 29, 2013
Great location, nice room, nice price.

The hotel room was a very large size, very clean and I loved the fact I could open a window for... See full review

  • Luann, Mayo Miracle
  • Apr 17, 2011
Newly Renovated 2007 Effective June 1, 2008 Smoke Free Hotel Free WIFI High Speed Internet On-site Pannekoeken Restaurant Free Parking for all our guests Right in the heart of downtown Rochester Nearby local attractions such as - Mayo Clinic 1 block/Methodist Hospital/Convention Centre 3 blocks/Saint Marys Hospital - 1 mile Shopping, Retail and Restaurants walking distance Pets are allowed with a non-refundable fee of 25.00 USD. ADA defined service animals are also welcome at this hotel. New SolTerre Bath Amenities Hairdryers 80 Premium Cable TV Channels Easy access off of HWY 52 and HWY 63 Free Copy and Fax Service Special Mayo Clinic/Hospital Rates Special AARP and AAA Rates Special Extended Stay Rates Special Corporate Rates

Hotel Map

44.0235 -92.4644
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Rochester Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Mayo Civic Center: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
2.8

39% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr Dave
Business
Albert Lea
Jan 12, 2012

Very Poor

Very Small room, outdated furnishings, not Days Inn like

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Raryalvi
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Best location only for mayo clinic's patient

Staff was not curtious and healpfull at all and cleanliness is average grade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mayo Patient 2
Business
Marquette, Michigan
Apr 29, 2013

VERY BAD HOTEL

The hotel was very run down. It had a very bad oder to it. I would never stay here again and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BlahBlah BlahBlah
Business
Florida
May 19, 2013

Needs a complete remodel

This hotel has nothing going for it except for the location. I wouldn't spend a single minute here again. Everything looks like it is from 1950's. The bed is the most horrible bed I have ever experienced in my life in a hotel. The room size is smaller than my kitchen in my one bedroom apartment. Horrible....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth, Mn
Oct 25, 2010

Hotel not so good

We enjoyed our weekend-get-away, but the hotel was less than impressive. Some of the eletrical outlets did not work so I had to blow dry my hair in the room which was not near a mirror. There was no electrical outlets in the bathroom. The window air conditioner did not blow cold air so we had to sleep with the windows open and have the city lights in our eyes all night. The hotel room was approximately 10' by 8' - very small and the bathroom 6' by 7' which included the bathtub. If you were a larger individual, it would be hard to move in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All food and entertainment are in close walk. Hotel is in a very nice location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travint
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 13, 2010

Very old hotel room

It was a cheap stay however the hotel room was very old and scary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Me74
Business
Gillette, WY, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Low grade

Would not recommend. Phone system does not work, beds are hard and very uncomfortable, sinks do not drain well, room was dirty and smelled. Have to pay for transportation to and from airport. Very unhappy with this motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Mayo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Oct 2, 2010

A nightmare with hotel.

I was supposed to stay from 9/24/10 to 9/30/10. On 9/29/10 I returned from my meetings at 9PM and found that all my belongings were gone from the room. The front desk clerk told me that according to their records, I had checked out the day before but she could not find the check out papers. I asked for my duffle bag and my back pack back. She could not find them either. They were not in the Lost and Found Room. She went into the manager's office and found my duffle bag in a closet. Somebody had searched through my duffle and took my GPS with all the accessory equipments. The clerk could not find my back pack and the GPS. After one and a half hour of trying to get some help from a very incompetent clerk who could not contact the manager, nor write an adequate incident report, I asked to be allowed to go into the manager's office to look for it myself. I found my back pack, my GPS in there. Apparently someone was planning to take them home but forgot at the end of the day. I plan to report this to the Better Business Bureau Office. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone [...] I have never had any experience like this in my entire life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gonewalkabout
Business
Nashville, TN
Jun 17, 2007

Micro rooms and surly night clerk

Check in was smooth, however when we got to our room we were shocked at how tiny it was. With a full (double) bed and a small dresser, there was not enough room to open our suitcase fully. Around the foot and side of the bed was approximately 10inches of space...you had to slide sideways to get around the bed. The bathroom was even more cramped. The standing shower had a very small doorway and the shower continued back behind the wall...making it more like a dark closet than anything else. There was approximately 3 inches of space from the wall on both sides of the toilet. The paperholder hung over the toilet seat. One had to turn sideways to wiggle in to sit. We requested and received a slightly larger room, with a queen bed. There was still the same amount of space to manuever around the bed, but at least there was enough floor space to get our suitcase open. Bathroom was larger, with a tub/shower unit. However, it did not drain well and one ended up standing in water by the end of a shower. The west facing room was very hot when we received the room and took 8 hours to cool down below 78*. The thick plaster walls held the heat for a long time. We had to leave the AC running full blast for our entire stay. Most disturbing was the evening desk clerk. She was rude, surly tempered and spent large amounts of time on the phone with personal calls intensely cursing her family members (I know more about her daughter's computer hogging than I ever wanted to learn!). Access to the guest internet service was limited by the staff members who were using it during their duty hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go one block down to shop at the area local artist store. Beautiful paintings, wood work, weaving, stained glass, etc at excellent prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anthony221
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Don't expect much

Great Location. thats where the good stuff starts and ends. Facility is in bad need of a total renovation or demolition. We booked 3 rooms w/Family. Our room was a little bigger than a closet. Lighting was poor. The door brushes against the Bed Spread and barely misses the TV cabinet. Every surface in the bathroom had peeling paint. Bath fixtures were at least 60 years old. No fan. Elevator of Death! I felt more comfortable using the stairs in spite of my recent foot surgery. On the bright side, we spent more time out of the room and enjoyed the beautiful city of Rochester.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top