$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

Days Inn Rochester Downtown

2 stars
1st Ave NW, Center St & First Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
37 reviews
Good location

It is very close to the Mayo center, which is an absolute advantage if you just stay a night or two... See full review

  • mya3238
  • May 29, 2013
Great location, nice room, nice price.

The hotel room was a very large size, very clean and I loved the fact I could open a window for... See full review

  • Luann, Mayo Miracle
  • Apr 17, 2011
Newly Renovated 2007 Effective June 1, 2008 Smoke Free Hotel Free WIFI High Speed Internet On-site Pannekoeken Restaurant Free Parking for all our guests Right in the heart of downtown Rochester Nearby local attractions such as - Mayo Clinic 1 block/Methodist Hospital/Convention Centre 3 blocks/Saint Marys Hospital - 1 mile Shopping, Retail and Restaurants walking distance Pets are allowed with a non-refundable fee of 25.00 USD. ADA defined service animals are also welcome at this hotel. New SolTerre Bath Amenities Hairdryers 80 Premium Cable TV Channels Easy access off of HWY 52 and HWY 63 Free Copy and Fax Service Special Mayo Clinic/Hospital Rates Special AARP and AAA Rates Special Extended Stay Rates Special Corporate Rates

Hotel Map

44.0235 -92.4644
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Rochester Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Mayo Civic Center: 0.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
2.8

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Husband
Rochester, MN, USA
Sep 2, 2011

Old Building, but very friendly

I booked this hotel online for my wedding night. When I check in I noticed the lobby looked clean but old styled. I didn't think much of it till later that night when I brought my new bride to our room. The elevator creaked, and the hallways were dimly lit to give the place an older personality. As a new husband, thoughts of horror films and trouble ran through my mind. The room was small, 75% of the room space was the bed. Thankfully, my new bride is a history major and loved every bit of it. We both enjoyed our stay. Great friendly staff to help you with anything; for first timers, check out your room in the day to ease any fears :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Star Char
Epping, ND
Jul 23, 2014

bad room

room was very small,, poor air conditioning, no fridge or microwave. we got the smallest room in the place barely enough room to get around the bed. other rooms in the building were larger and better conditioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
budget conscious travel
Minneapolis, MN
May 12, 2014

Great location

Reminder that this is a one star hotel. There are reasons for it. If you keep that in mind, it is actually a great value. It is not pretty, few amenities, but has the basics with a location that can't be beat. It was only me and it was only one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Penelope Mayo Patient
Rochester, MN
Apr 16, 2014

Close to Mayo Clinic, but is it worth it

The entire room would fit inside half of my kid's bedroom in our 2 bedroom apartment. The full bathroom was crammed into what must have been a slender walk-in closet. I had to lean to one side while using the toilet to keep the toilet paper dispenser from jabbing me in the side. The bath tub and shower where so dirty I didn't even consider using it. I must say the bed and pillows were comfortable which was little comfort since there was no heat and a night when it went below freezing with no temperate contol in the room. I have sleep apnea and there was no space for a table or shelf next to the bed for setting up my CPAP machine. I ended up putting it on the floor right in front of the door to the room and using an extension cord to plug it into the wall outlet across the room. Not exactly safe. The Mayo Clinic is just right across the street which is convenient if I had paid half the price which would be equal to a stay at the Motel 6. This hotel room was not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Twigs Restuarant in the Best Western Hotel Solider Field location near Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN has the best made to order burger I've had in years.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pcup45
Business
NYC
Mar 19, 2014

Economic

You get what you pay for and nothing more. It's old and dingy but centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Flo Gaines
New England
Sep 29, 2013

Needs major makeover

I had read the description of this place before I went but since there were few choices at the last minute, I had to stay there. Room was clean but shabby. Linens were almost threadbare. The place hasn't been renovated in over 50 years. Exposed pipes, strange plumbing, a closet for a bathroom, lumpy pillows, strange smell in the building, old and cracked caulking in the bathroom,.At least the room was cleaned daily. Hallways are darkly painted and have poor lighting. Can't believe it's so close to the Mayo Clinic and in such poor disrepair. Proximity to the clinic is the main attraction. Previous Days Inn hotels have been far superior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mayo Clinic, Starbucks, Victoria's Restaurant, Rochester Methodist Hospital

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mya3238
Business
Minnesota
May 29, 2013

Good location

It is very close to the Mayo center, which is an absolute advantage if you just stay a night or two to attend the meeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BlahBlah BlahBlah
Florida
May 19, 2013

Needs a complete remodel

This hotel has nothing going for it except for the location. I wouldn't spend a single minute here again. Everything looks like it is from 1950's. The bed is the most horrible bed I have ever experienced in my life in a hotel. The room size is smaller than my kitchen in my one bedroom apartment. Horrible....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mayo Patient 2
Marquette, Michigan
Apr 29, 2013

VERY BAD HOTEL

The hotel was very run down. It had a very bad oder to it. I would never stay here again and I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boo'smom
upper mich
Jan 13, 2013

step back in time

We were staying here as we had an appoinment at Mayo's. The location was great, right across the street. There were a lot of great resturants within walking distance...block or 2 away, the resturant attached has great coffee...at almost $3.00 a cup....food was good...you do receive a discount if you are staying at the hotel. The room was very small, had to step up to the teeny tiny bathroom, and yes the sink doesn't drain well. Our fault our room was an end room above the road, of course being a hospitol across the street we heard sirens all night...and it was winter...windows closed still very noise. I did like the ambiance of the woodwork in the halls and rooms....was always a hotel from 1906 or there abouts...would have liked to see original photos on the walls...hallways were dark at night. Some desk staff were very friendly and helpful....there were 2 young girls that worked the desk that you could tell didn't want to be there...not very nice or helpful. But that being said I will stay there again because of location....but will request an inside room.....PS...they do accept pets on 5th floor only....at no extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Newt's best hamburger and fries for around $10.00, then a sandwich shoppe called "City something or other......great New York style sandwich for around $5.40-$7.00.....both with in 2 blocks of Days Inn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Rochester Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beeee
Michigan
Oct 12, 2012

Necessary short stay

The room was tiny but clean. Bedspread and blanket were not very clean feeling or smelling. Bathroom was old and cramped, but clean and everything worked except the sink drain. The building was noisy from other rooms and outside. Staff was very cheerful and helpful. The place was OK for 2 nights, but I won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is very close to the Mayo Clinic and Methodist Hospital, shopping and the best restaurants in Rochester.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search