$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

Minneapolis Marriott Southwest

3 stars
View map of 5801 Opus, Parkway, Minnetonka, MN 55343

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Minneapolis Marriott Southwest

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Minneapolis Marriott Southwest

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Truly straight forward
Business
Burnsville, MN
Dec 11, 2009

HORRIBLE--- RED FLAG--- RED FLAG

It's a very nice hotel, but would you sacrifice it to be over charged nearly $150? I booked this hotel through orbitz and got a really sweet deal on it. I figure it has to be a very well ran hotel since it is a very well known hotel chain around the U.S. I took my husband there for our anniversary. The room was spacious and very nice. The only thing we were a little thrown off by was .. why doesn't this place have WIFI in hotel rooms? You can ONLY access the WIFI in the hotel lobby. As the night went on.. everything got worse. At around 1 in the morning there was a paper that someone threw under the door. I picked up and read.. "Room Service $42, sign to authorize." I NEVER ORDERED ROOM SERVICE. I went down to the front desk and cleared it up. Apparently they charged me for breakfast ordered by the last person who booked the room? At 3 am I found that my bank account was charged an extra $92. Cleared that up too, they "accidently" charged me for the full price of the room, even though I already booked it through [...]. Now that money is GONE until they release it back into my account. I stayed up nearly all night dealing with "accidental" charges. Instead of having a wonderful Anniversary shared with my hubby (thinking I got a sweet deal), it ended up being stressful and a nightmare. I will never go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

This area is suitable for business men/women traveling in.. there are not many restaurants, bars, stores, etc near it. If you're looking to vacation, I'd stay near minneapolis.

Review of Minneapolis Marriott Southwest

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis
Oct 1, 2009

Issues with hotel [...]

There was a dog show at hotel - so there were dogs in the rooms - had to change rooms - staff was helpful but it was still a pain! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Minneapolis Marriott Southwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
friendly floridians
Business
Palm Harbor, Florida
Sep 26, 2009

Old Reliable

This Marriott is like a well oiled machine. It just keeps purring along.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Minneapolis Marriott Southwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 17, 2009

Problems, problems!

The day before our trip I called the hotel and reconfirmed the reservation for May 28th through June 1. We arrived as scheduled in the late afternoon of May 28th and were told that they didn't have a room for us. A downer for sure! They did make arrangements for us to spend the night at a "nearby" Marriott. We returned the next morning and were upgraded to a small suite for the rest of our stay. The bill received from the hotel the morning of June 1, showed that it had been charged to the Orbitz Mastercard and was in the amount of $221.28. I, however, had been charged $313.00 by Orbitz on my Visa. Upon our return home, I pursued the matter with Orbitz, and spent most of a morning trying to get through the phone tree and then to talk to someone who could understand the problem. In the end I accepted a refund of $78.25 to cover the overpayment of $91.72. I don't understand why the difference but I was no longer ready to carry on. I don't think I'll use Orbitz again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Minneapolis Marriott Southwest

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Etpartnr
Business
MARRIOTT SW MINNETONKA
May 31, 2009

Great Place with good Orbitz rate

Great rate at a Marriott, in fact $30 cheaper than their rewards. Great Value for a Great room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Minneapolis Marriott Southwest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 31, 2008

Very Friendly Staff

The Minneapolis Marriott Southwest was a great place to stay. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of there way to assist us with our needs during our stay. The hotel was clean and nicely updated with comfortable beds to complete a lovely weekend. I would love to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is close relatively close to Valleyfair.

Review of Minneapolis Marriott Southwest

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indian Wells
Jun 25, 2008

good business hotel

excellent location for SW Minneapolis. Very efficient staff. Dining was excellent. Highly recommend,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Several high end private golf courses.--Interlachen and Oakridge are w/in 10 minutes. Also relatively easy access to downtown and not too far from the airport. (2o minutes and $ 35).

Back to menu Return to top