$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

W Minneapolis - The Foshay

4 stars
821 Marquette Avenue, 821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
85 reviews
Great hotel, great staff

The W at Foshay is really a great hotel in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. The room is promptly... See full review

  • metrofied
  • Jul 9, 2014
great staff

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room view was fantastic. The only reason I didn't put five... See full review

  • Lucky Charms 21
  • Mar 4, 2014
Roaring Twenties meets fashionably cool

Towering 447 feet over the city, W Minneapolis The Foshay effortlessly melts Art Deco architecture into cutting-edge cool. On the doorstep of cultural gems like the Walker Art Center and Guthrie Theatre, The Foshay hotel is surrounded by art, independent music and thriving theater. Guests indulge in modern must-see rooms and a trendy scene. Lounge along with cool DJ mixes at the sensual Living Room or slip away to the intimate Prohibition Skybar on the 27th floor. The top-floor observation deck and mini-museum offer gorgeous city views. 

Highlights

  • Completed in 1929 before the stock market crash, The Foshay hotel is the only skyscraper on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Check out the original 1920s mosaic ceiling, terrazzo marble floor and elevator doors
  • Connected to the Minneapolis Skyway
  • The hotel's observation deck is the only one in Minneapolis

Location

Minnesota is home to spectacular scenery and historical intrigue, including St. Anthony Falls, Stone Arch Bridge and the scenic Chain of Lakes. Stroll down Summit Avenue to see the epic Victorian residences where literary giants F. Scott Fitzgerald, Garrison Keillor and Sinclair Lewis once lived.

Rooms

All 229 rooms and suites at W Minneapolis-The Foshay offer bold design and modern amenities. The decor mixes avant-garde black and white geometric patterns with flirty pinks and exotic magentas. Rooms include high-speed Internet access (fees apply),a flat-screen TV, hypo-allergenic feather pillows, a down duvet, iPod docking station and a work desk with ergonomic chair. The diaphanous bathrooms feature a rainforest shower and Bliss bath amenities. Book the penthouse Extreme WOW Suite for wrap-around views of Minneapolis.

Features

The Foshay juxtaposes Roaring Twenties architecture with modern dining, sultry lounges and complimentary access to a revitalizing fitness center. Manny's, the on-site restaurant, is known for sizzling steaks, while Keys Cafe is perfect for home-style cuisine and knockout Bloody Marys. Cozy up to the fireplace in the Living Room, or people-watch over cocktails and city views at Prohibition Skybar on the 27th floor. Work out at SWEAT Fitness Center or polish and unwind at the spa. 

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)

Attractions

  • Hennepin Theater District (0.5 mi /0.7 km)
  • Target Center (0.5 mi /1.8 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.6 mi /1 km)
  • Minnesota Orchestra (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Walker Art Center (1.1 mi /1.6 km)
  • Mall of America (9.9 mi /15.9 km)

Business

  • Business center with PC and Mac workstations available (fees apply)
  • Over 6,000 square feet of meeting space

Policies & fees

W Minneapolis -- The Foshay welcomes cats and dogs 40 pounds or less. Guests must sign a waiver upon check-in and will be charged $25 USD per pet per day above the room rate. There is also a non-refundable $100 USD cleaning fee regardless of length of stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

44.9747 -93.2722
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Minneapolis-St Paul International Airport, (MSP), 19.31, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Minneapolis - The Foshay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

W Minneapolis - The Foshay Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.7 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.7 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.7 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.7 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 1.9 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 2 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2.2 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.2 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 3.9 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 4 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 4.9 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 5 mi

Dining

Manny's
Meat up at Manny's, the top steakhouse in the country and a Twin Cities institution for 20 years where the best dry-aged, corn-fed Midwestern beef meets hearty wine list featuring top selections from around the world.
Living Room
Where do you lounge? Enter the W Living Room, where we've knocked down the walls of traditional lobby design to create a place where you can open your mind and feel alive while indulging in salon socializing.
Prohibition
Take in the Minneapolis cityscape by the only observation deck in town, where you'll sip freely sky high on the 27th floor.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Everyday Man
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Sep 8, 2014

Not a good value.

The hotel itself seems very nice, but the room we were given was sooooo much smaller than the pictures led us to believe. It was seriously a bed, TV and almost no room to move around. The view was gorgeous and everything in the room seemed very stylish, but the mini-fridge was stocked with (extremely expensive) bottles of soda and beer, leaving no room to keep any kind of food in the room itself. The hotel charged a lot for parking (35$ a day) and even charged for Wi-Fi! (12.99/day). It just seemed like a not-so-good value for the money. The location itself was awesome (love downtown!) but we had to ask twice for the room to be turned down and the bouncer at the bar seemed incredibly snobby and unpleasant. I normally am a very easy going person but it was extremely frustrating. I will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are overnight parking garages available a couple blocks from the hotel for less than $20.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
metrofied
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jul 9, 2014

Great hotel, great staff

The W at Foshay is really a great hotel in the heart of downtown Minneapolis. The room is promptly cleaned when asked, but you almost never need to ask unless you sleep in real late. The staff is friendly and professional as you'd expect from this hotel brand. I loved my stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MSP Traveler
California
Jul 8, 2014

Easy Place to Stay in Minneapolis

- About two blocks from the Nicollet Mall LRT stop. Nice Ride, Nicollet Mall, Target Center & Field are also close by. - Foshay Tower is historic. - Room was clean with plenty of towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice Ride Bikes are an easy, cheap way to get around Minneapolis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
grneyedkrizzy
mpls mn
Jul 2, 2014

not what i thought

My check in was terrible. Spent the next 12 hours trying to figure it out. paid for 2 days but was only in the room for12 hours out of 48. Then when i got home they charged my card $25 dollars for what i have no idea and i never received an email with the echo explnation for what. Will never stay there again. Also would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pride 2014
minneapolis, mn
Jul 1, 2014

the w

Overall very good. Room looked at a brick wall though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to hennipen ave or loring park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marleiva
mpls,mn
Jun 30, 2014

couple getaway

Very nice. Clean room.excellent location.i would recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ThereseK
Minneapolis
Jun 9, 2014

Missing comforts of home

Staff was helpful at moving us to a different room as I was first disappointed with our view of a brick-wall. Unfortunately neither room had a bath-tub,. Bed was comfortAble, pillows were not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC2014
Business
Washington, D.C.
May 26, 2014

Great downtown location, no free wifi

The staff (perhaps because it was in Minnesota) were super nice! Felt very welcome as soon as I pulled up to the curb. The downtown location is convenient with many restaurants and cafes nearby. My only complaint is that there is no free wifi in the rooms--otherwise my room was very clean. The lighting in the hotel is generally quite dark, but not unexpected as it is the W. Gym (though small) is a plus, and they have free fruit and water. Had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vic in Denver
Denver, CO
Apr 23, 2014

Beautiful and quiet

Definitely a high end hotel. Everything was top notch, from the service to the bedding to the location. The only issue I had was the water temperature fluctuated from scalding to cold too often. I didn't ask them to look at it while we were there because we only stayed two nights. So I didn't give them a chance to fix it, but I wrote it in their survey. We'll see if they can fix it. Outside of that everything was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Manny's is the high end steakhouse attached to the hotel. It is great, but very expensive. Honestly the price is too high for the quality. And we like high end steakhouses. It just should be better for the obscene price. For example, the filet while good and tender had no seasoning or taste. I had to salt it pretty good to get the flavor out. Again, it was good, but it was about $50 for just the steak - it should blow my skirt up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anon111
Duluth, MN
Apr 8, 2014

Looked Good

Nice place. Everything was closed while we were there - obs deck and bar. The room was nice. The location is downtown, so parking can be a challenge. Tip for parking at the foshay - park in the TCF ramp - it is on the same block as the W/Foshay but on the other side of the block. When parked, take the elevator to the ground floor and walk across the TCF bank lobby. You will see the W MPLS doors across the way. Much easier than dealing with Valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Tip for parking at the foshay - park in the TCF ramp - it is on the same block as the W/Foshay but on the other side of the block. When parked, take the elevator to the ground floor and walk across the TCF bank lobby. You will see the W MPLS doors across the way. Much easier than dealing with Valet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search