$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

W Minneapolis - The Foshay

4 stars
View map of 821 Marquette Avenue, 821 Marquette Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55402

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
101 reviews
Night Out

The Foshay was above standard and exceeded our expectations. See full review

  • Miah
  • Feb 28, 2015
Weekend getaway

Nice room. Clean. Bathroom was nice .. No tub but very big shower. Staff was helpful with any... See full review

  • K F.
  • Feb 23, 2015
Roaring Twenties meets fashionably cool

Towering 447 feet over the city, W Minneapolis The Foshay effortlessly melts Art Deco architecture into cutting-edge cool. On the doorstep of cultural gems like the Walker Art Center and Guthrie Theatre, The Foshay hotel is surrounded by art, independent music and thriving theater. Guests indulge in modern must-see rooms and a trendy scene. Lounge along with cool DJ mixes at the sensual Living Room or slip away to the intimate Prohibition Skybar on the 27th floor. The top-floor observation deck and mini-museum offer gorgeous city views. 

Highlights

  • Completed in 1929 before the stock market crash, The Foshay hotel is the only skyscraper on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Check out the original 1920s mosaic ceiling, terrazzo marble floor and elevator doors
  • Connected to the Minneapolis Skyway
  • The hotel's observation deck is the only one in Minneapolis

Location

Minnesota is home to spectacular scenery and historical intrigue, including St. Anthony Falls, Stone Arch Bridge and the scenic Chain of Lakes. Stroll down Summit Avenue to see the epic Victorian residences where literary giants F. Scott Fitzgerald, Garrison Keillor and Sinclair Lewis once lived.

Rooms

All 229 rooms and suites at W Minneapolis-The Foshay offer bold design and modern amenities. The decor mixes avant-garde black and white geometric patterns with flirty pinks and exotic magentas. Rooms include high-speed Internet access (fees apply),a flat-screen TV, hypo-allergenic feather pillows, a down duvet, iPod docking station and a work desk with ergonomic chair. The diaphanous bathrooms feature a rainforest shower and Bliss bath amenities. Book the penthouse Extreme WOW Suite for wrap-around views of Minneapolis.

Features

The Foshay juxtaposes Roaring Twenties architecture with modern dining, sultry lounges and complimentary access to a revitalizing fitness center. Manny's, the on-site restaurant, is known for sizzling steaks, while Keys Cafe is perfect for home-style cuisine and knockout Bloody Marys. Cozy up to the fireplace in the Living Room, or people-watch over cocktails and city views at Prohibition Skybar on the 27th floor. Work out at SWEAT Fitness Center or polish and unwind at the spa. 

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)

Attractions

  • Hennepin Theater District (0.5 mi /0.7 km)
  • Target Center (0.5 mi /1.8 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.6 mi /1 km)
  • Minnesota Orchestra (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Walker Art Center (1.1 mi /1.6 km)
  • Mall of America (9.9 mi /15.9 km)

Business

  • Business center with PC and Mac workstations available (fees apply)
  • Over 6,000 square feet of meeting space

Policies & fees

W Minneapolis -- The Foshay welcomes cats and dogs 40 pounds or less. Guests must sign a waiver upon check-in and will be charged $25 USD per pet per day above the room rate. There is also a non-refundable $100 USD cleaning fee regardless of length of stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Minneapolis - The Foshay also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

W Minneapolis - The Foshay Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.7 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.7 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.7 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.7 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.1 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 1.9 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 2 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2.2 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.2 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.5 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 3.9 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 4 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 4.9 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 5 mi

Dining

Prohibition
Take in the Minneapolis cityscape by the only observation deck in town, where you'll sip freely sky high on the 27th floor.
Living Room
Where do you lounge? Enter the W Living Room, where we've knocked down the walls of traditional lobby design to create a place where you can open your mind and feel alive while indulging in salon socializing.
Manny's
Meat up at Manny's, the top steakhouse in the country and a Twin Cities institution for 20 years where the best dry-aged, corn-fed Midwestern beef meets hearty wine list featuring top selections from around the world.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miah
Business
Kronenwetter
Feb 28, 2015

Night Out

The Foshay was above standard and exceeded our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K F.
Business
Rosslyn
Feb 23, 2015

Weekend getaway

Nice room. Clean. Bathroom was nice .. No tub but very big shower. Staff was helpful with any questions we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matthew S.
Business
saginaw
Feb 22, 2015

Trip to the cities

My wife and I stayed only one night. It would be hard to give a fair assessment staying only one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D. And.
Business
N/A
Jan 28, 2015

Weekend Away

My boyfriend and myself spent the weekend here. It was a very enjoyable experience, it's very close to lots of bars and restaurants in the downtown area. The bar downstairs turns into a nightclub in the evening which we loved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole M.
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

Weekend Trip

Hotel was great. Very central. Fun bar on the 27th floor with good food. Observation deck is a must see: great views of Minneapolis!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely check out the Walker Art Center and Minneapolis Institute of Arts. Amazing museums with great shows and wonderful collections. 1st Avenue and 7th Street Entry: great concert venue!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stoker57
Business
Clark
Dec 17, 2014

Guthrie Theater Trip

Great location, great service with hotel car to and from area places. Only problem was the key system, first three did not work, up the elevators, then down for a new key, then back up, should have known didn't work the elevator either, finally figured out the room was not ready, so they put us in a different room and all worked perfect, was just frustrating at first. They did make up for it by delivering two orange sodas and a bowl full of fresh nuts and dried cranberries

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sioux Falls Get a way
Business
St. Paul
Nov 29, 2014

Anniversary

The room was perfect. Went for our anniversary. Enjoyed local restaurants, music and the atmosphere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
In Town Guest 76355112
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 28, 2014

Beautiful night time view

I called the front desk to let them know that the ipod console was not working. The front desk sent Jeremy, the technician to see what was going on. Jeremy was respectable and very professional. After he got the ipod console to work, he recommended that my girlfriends and I stop by the observation deck as it has a beautiful view. The observation deck was closed for the night but because the W has the "whatever whenever" policy, the front desk allowed us to go to the observation deck to get a night view of the city. I would recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Observation deck at night is BEAUTIFUL! Best view in downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MOH Bachelorette
Business
Miami, Florida
Nov 18, 2014

Best Bachelorette

I had my sister's bachelorette party at the W Minneapolis and it couldn't have been a better experience. The staff was professional, the hotel was chic and the service was excellent. We started our night in the room and the staff brought us extra martini glasses for our guests. We visited the upstairs hotel bar that had glamorous drinks with dry ice and stopped at the downstairs lounge with a great dj and dance floor. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a fun night with friends or a date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Minneapolis - The Foshay

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LilBitMpls
Business
La Jolla, CA
Nov 18, 2014

A Day Away

I was greeted upon arrival with the offer of calling to the hotel desk for anything I would need. Used the gym to wind down. Had everything my home gym has. The snack bar w wine key was very convenient. Bed...AMAZING! Thank you W!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top