$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

University Inn Minneapolis

3 stars
925 4th St. SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
25 reviews
Great Place to Stay!

Friendly staff. Very clean room. Helpful with directions to city attractions. Free parking was an... See full review

  • Cubfan1949
  • Jul 17, 2014
best little hotel in town

Located in dinky town just off I 35W with free parking this small hotel is very convenient. each... See full review

  • Art on the run
  • Jun 15, 2014
An extended stay hotel located within the University of Minnesota campus and just minutes from downtown Minneapolis. University Inn Minneapolis invites you to relax in one of the 45 innovative private rooms, which include a kitchenette, private bath, high speed internet and cable TV. The comfortable lobby is also ready for you to meet with friends or to just relax.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed University Inn Minneapolis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

University Inn Minneapolis Rooms

Hotel Double
Hotel Double room offers 1 queen bed and 1 double bed. Each room includes: Private bath, Private kitchenette, High speed Internet, Free parking, Private telephone and voicemail, Individual temperature controlled room, High security, Sound minimizing construction, Beverages and danishes, On site coin-operated laundry, On site vending machines, Private telephone and free local calls, Cable TV, including HBO, Easy access to local bus lines, Hair dryer, Coffee maker and Smoke-free environment.
Hotel Single
Hotel Single room offers 1 queen bed. Each room includes: Private bath, Private kitchenette, High speed Internet, Free parking, Private telephone and voicemail, Individual temperature controlled room, High security, Sound minimizing construction, Beverages and danishes, On site coin-operated laundry, On site vending machines, Private telephone and free local calls, Cable TV, including HBO, Easy access to local bus lines, Hair dryer, Coffee maker and Smoke-free environment.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Weisman Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Williams Arena: 0.8 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 0.8 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.8 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 1 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 1.6 mi
  • Target Center: 1.7 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 1.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Target Field: 1.9 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Williams Arena: 0.8 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 0.8 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.8 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 1 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 1.6 mi
  • Target Center: 1.7 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 1.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 1.8 mi
  • Target Field: 1.9 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 2.2 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 2.3 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 2.3 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 2.3 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 2.5 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 3.5 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.6 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 4.5 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.8 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 4.9 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 5 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 5.3 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for University Inn Minneapolis

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of University Inn Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chad H.
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Nov 6, 2014

simple but nice

My wife had an appointment at the U of M hospital. It was a quick trip so we were not able to fully take advantage of the kitchenette. We need to go back for surgery in December and we are planning on returning to the University Inn for that extended stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of University Inn Minneapolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cubfan1949
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 17, 2014

Great Place to Stay!

Friendly staff. Very clean room. Helpful with directions to city attractions. Free parking was an added bonus. All in all, a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of University Inn Minneapolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Art on the run
Business
Northwest Iowa
Jun 15, 2014

best little hotel in town

Located in dinky town just off I 35W with free parking this small hotel is very convenient. each room has a kitchen and lots of space. you can walk to a small grocery and economize on food during your stay. You can get on 35W in half a minute which gets to anywhere in town quickly. Other wise dinky town has its University oriented trade in walking distance. The semi-residential neighborhood makes for a pleasant setting with no heavy local traffic and easy in and out from the parking lot. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of University Inn Minneapolis

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VandalTraveller
Business
Midwest, USA
Jan 19, 2014

One of my worst experiences. Poor at any price

They took my money in advance for a room with two double beds, and then I was called and told the room was unavailable so would I take a room with one bed and a rollaway. When we got there and got to the room the rollaway was there. But there was not a place big enough in the sleeping area to put it. I had to take the (uncomfortable) mattress off the springs and put it on the floor for it to fit. The hallway and room carpets were both dirty. The bathroom counter was dirty and sticky and THE BATHROOM TOWELS WERE DIRTY. The staff were unfriendly and unprofessional in tone and interest. They had not plowed the parking lot by 10 am when we left. When I asked for a receipt I was snidely asked if I already gotten one (told her if I had one I wouldn't ask for one, she looked confused). And then the price listed was different than what I was told the charge would be when I made the reservation. You'd do better to stay just about anywhere than the University Inn on 4th Street Southeast in Minneapolis. It's worth it to pay for gas and parking and not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tony's Diner for a tremendous reuben sandwich and two for one beers all day. Not the biggest sandwich, but very tasty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of University Inn Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheesy Travelers
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 26, 2013

Comfortable and Convenient

This hotel is perfectly located if you are doing something on the U. of Minnesota campus. It is also adjacent to the trendy Dinkytown neighborhood. One underrated amenity of the hotel is the parking lot. It is a surface lot that is free to hotel guests. It is one level, and because the hotel is small, the parking lot is also small, meaning that your car is never far away. That is very convenient on a cold Minnesota evening! The hotel itself is a bit hard to describe. The word hotel is probably a misnomer, and if you expect a hotel in the classical sense, you will be scratching your head. The whole place sort of has an institutional feel. I would describe the rooms more like oversize dorm rooms or perhaps as rooms that you would see at a conference center that houses overnight guests. The rooms are decent sized, very clean, and feature a small kitchen. Not a kitchenette, but an actual kitchen. Kind of convenient! Like I said, the room was clean, but not overly fancy. The bed was comfortable and the shower was warm. I really have nothing bad to say about the actual creature comforts. If you can ratchet down your expectation of what a hotel "needs" to be, and are looking for great value and a great location, you will be very pleasantly satisfied with the University Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of University Inn Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UM parents
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Oct 23, 2013

Nice hotel for the price we obtained it for

Conveniently located near U of M and downtown. The room was quiet and comfortable. Also the staff is very helpful. We would come back !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of University Inn Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bigfred49
Business
WInona Mn
Aug 31, 2013

Football getaway

Great bed quiet room and clean. Fridge, stove and microwave were nice. Easy to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of University Inn Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
getaway needed
Business
brainerd, minnesota
Aug 28, 2013

Nice weekend stay place

It was convenient to go all over with I-35 right there. Nice clean rooms and comfy beds. You hear the room next doors water, but thats in any hotel. Very quiet did hear any outside or other noises. Nice stay all in all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of University Inn Minneapolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ShootinWads
Business
Trempealeau, WI
Jun 15, 2013

Right on Campus

Hate to let people know about this, but this was great for my sons orientation at the U of M. Within walking distance of the U, right in Dinkytown and easy to 35W. Definitley will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinkytown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of University Inn Minneapolis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
super tolerable
Business
MA
Jun 14, 2013

it's ok

Whenever someone took a both in any other room, I could hear it loud. That helped wake me up in the mornings. Otherwise, it is a nice inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top