$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

The Westin Minneapolis

4 stars
88th South 6th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1114
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
246 reviews
It doesn't get any better than this!

There's no other place in the Twin Cities to stay, no matter your plans! See full review

  • Legs Lidmila
  • Aug 28, 2014
Fun City Hotel

Awesome experience here, and everyone went out of their way to be so friendly. Very cool pool and... See full review

  • Katie wedding traveler
  • Aug 11, 2014
Once-historic bank becomes modern Minneapolis luxury

The downtown Westin Minneapolis is a faithful blend of historic significance and modern luxury. Transformed from the Farmers & Mechanics Bank, this Tony four-star hotel retains the original World War II era woodwork, marble staircase and vaulted lobby. Guest rooms are equipped with modern amenities like MP3 players, flat-screen TVs and Internet access (fees apply). Following adventure on the town, the end-of-day rewards here are plenty: an indoor pool cloaked in midnight blue, a dimly lit cocktail lounge and a savory dish or decadent treat at B.A.N.K.

Highlights

  • The penthouse patio boasts panoramic views of the city
  • Original bank vault converted into a wine cellar at B.A.N.K.
  • Partake in a true "no interruption" function in the hotel's vault-secured meeting room
  • Walking distance to Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis Convention Center, Metrodome, Target Center and Hennepin Theatre District

Rooms

All 214 guest rooms at The Westin Minneapolis offer superior comfort. Decorated in sandstone colors blended with creams, whites and bamboo, the atmosphere is refreshingly modern. Featuring the famed Westin Heavenly Bed, all beds are dressed in rich fabrics and include dreamy touches like an ultra-thick pillow top mattress, fluffy down comforter and lots of throw pillows. Rooms at the Westin come complete for business travelers with a spacious work desk, mesh swivel chair and chaise lounge. Request an upgrade for a city or courtyard views or a private balcony.

Features

The Westin Minneapolis keeps indoor and outdoor fitness buffs in mind. Warm up in the hotel's fitness center and heated indoor pool. Golfers are minutes from the Highland Golf Course and Stonebrooke Golf Club. Valet parking is also available for an added fee.

Dining

Located in the lobby, B.A.N.K. offers stylish American dining. The lively open atmosphere is great for people watching across the huge center-stage oval bar and large dining room. Those looking for a quiet escape can take to the more intimate B.A.N.K. lounge for small plates and cocktails.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (12.8 mi/20.5 km)

Attractions

  • Target Center (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Metrodome (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Minnesota Opera (1.2 mi /1.9 km)
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Walker Art Center (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (9 mi/14.5 km)
  • Mall of America (10.7 mi/17.2 km)

Business

  • 7,891 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • Vault-secured meeting rooms can host true "no-interruption" events
  • Banker's Boardroom features floor-to-ceiling windows
  • Private boardrooms with built-in audiovisual banquettes

Policies and Fees
  • Valet parking fee is $35 USD plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

44.9776 -93.2702
Nearby airports
Minneapolis-Saint Paul International Airport, (MSP), 12.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Minneapolis also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin Minneapolis Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Doorman
Audio visual equipment
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Target Center: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.5 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.5 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Target Center: 0.3 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.5 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.5 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2.1 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2.1 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.4 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.7 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.9 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 4.1 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 5.1 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Minneapolis

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Legs Lidmila
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Aug 28, 2014

It doesn't get any better than this!

There's no other place in the Twin Cities to stay, no matter your plans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The entire menu is geared to "super foods"; it's fresh and oh-so-yummy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katie wedding traveler
Richmond, Virginia
Aug 11, 2014

Fun City Hotel

Awesome experience here, and everyone went out of their way to be so friendly. Very cool pool and workout room. Location smack in the middle of town. Valet great, but seemed a bit overworked sometime. Overall, excellent, other than one tiny thing--the costs for parking ($40/day I think) and wifi (around $14/day) were high! We paid for convenience, though, and really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Burning Monkey
Des Moines, Iowa
Aug 11, 2014

Best time ever

Not much to say other than everything went perfect from check in to check out. Every one was exceptional to me, and beyond the little fridge in the room not working, everything was perfect. And I never used the fridge for anything other than bottled water, so I didn't care that it didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business Traveler456
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 14, 2014

Business Trip

Excellent experience and I would highly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Other Traveller
Washington, DC, USA
Jul 13, 2014

Great Hotel

Beautiful property, great staff. Only issue was a breakfast that came late and they quickly apologized and comped the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doctor520
Business
AZ
Jun 2, 2014

Sleep@az

Very good 10x better than the Hilton few block from there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Chelle
Dodge Center, Mn
Apr 4, 2014

with in walking distance to Target Center!!

We chose Westin because it was within walking distance to Target Center, as we were attending a Timberwolves game that evening. Our check in was quick and the front desk staff were very kind. The pool and fitness area were very modern and unique. The hot tub was very relaxing. When we entered our room we were pleasantly surprised. The beds were heavenly to sleep and lie on. The bathroom was bright and very roomy. I did however find a plastic zip lock bag left over, (I assume) from a previous guest that housekeeping may have missed. But I have to say everything else was clean. The lights between the queen beds were not working at all. When we checked out the next day I notified the front desk, and they promptly called to have someone go to our room and fix or look at the problem. I would stay there again for sure! We enjoyed our stay, Thank you for making it pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Target Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wixer
Minnesota
Mar 22, 2014

Nice Stay

Nice room for a couple's visit to Minneapolis. I loved the lighted mirror in the bathroom. Room darkening shades and quiet floor meant a nice sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

To get the elevator to work, you have to slide your room key in and out of the slot then push the floor button.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LindaJohn
Waconia, MN
Mar 17, 2014

Great Weekend Get Away

a great location, very helpful, personable staff. My wife said let's go there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

walk or drive it's all close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Minneapolis

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AndyNichole
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Mar 11, 2014

Just OK

My wife and I stayed at the Westin on a Saturday night after having dinner in Minneapolis. The staff was very helpful and the room was good, for the most part. We did make a trip to the pool and hot tub while we were there and enjoyed both. There were multiple annoying things that came up that caused our stay to be "OK." The drinks we ordered at "The Bank" were over priced and watered down. In the room, our refrigerator wasn't working#and it had a lock on it so we had to call service to get a key, I've never seen that before# We wanted to put the leftovers from our dinner in the fridge so they ended up bringing up another mini fridge so we had this random fridge plugged in next to the entertainment center. The lights next to the bed didn't work and the coffee pot wasn't plugged in either. It was odd, nothing major but just things you don't want to have to deal with at a "4 star" hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search