$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 17, 2014 Check-out: Oct 18, 2014

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
615 2nd Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
135 reviews
great hotel

This was a clean, comfortable hotel. The staff was excellent and went out of their way to make our... See full review

  • Murph66
  • Jul 9, 2014
Pleasantly Surpirsed

I booked at this hotel because it was close to where my daughter's vb team was staying at. This... See full review

  • Serrot
  • Apr 28, 2014
Debonair Twin Cities hotel retains roots in Minneapolis
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis–A Kimpton Hotel, knows its roots. Once home to the historic Minneapolis Athletic Club, this modernized property retains its elegant upbringing through a recently completed makeover in late 2011.
The property boasts of a stylish interior highlighted by contemporary accents and a warm historic feel complete with warm Tuscan tones and plush rooms, some equipped with a fireplace, grand piano and four-poster bed. Modern comforts are also available through offerings like the lounge/restaurant at The SIX15 Room and access to the neighboring fitness club.

Highlights
  • Nightly wine reception hour
  • Complimentary use of in-room yoga accessories
  • Luxurious Presidential Suite includes a fireplace and grand piano

Rooms

The Grand Hotel's newly renovated 140 rooms vary in size, from 325 square feet to a palatial 3,500 square-foot Presidential Suite. All rooms include flat-screen televisions, MP3 docking stations, spacious marble bathrooms, complimentary use of in-room yoga accessories and an honor bar with gourmet and organic delicacies.

Features

Grand Hotel Minneapolis has received numerous awards, including the Top 500 Hotels of the World by Travel + Leisure and perennial AAA Four Diamond Awards. The perfect proximity is noteworthy, too. Connected to the iconic Minneapolis Skyway, the hotel enables guests to reach 69 blocks of downtown destinations from indoors. LifeSpa and Salon presented by LifeTime Fitness offers a full menu of revitalizing services.

Dining

Stop by The SIX15 Room for happy hour specials, light snacks or an easy nightcap. Patrons can also sample mouth-watering steaks and delectable sushi at the adjacent Rare Steak & Sushi.


Recreation

Guests of the Grand Hotel Minneapolis enjoy free access to the adjoining Life Time Fitness center.

The 58,000-square-foot club boasts an indoor pool with cloud mural ceiling, boxing, cycling and aerobics studios, running track, racquetball, handball and squash courts, steam room, sauna and more. Private yoga and Pilates sessions are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (12.5 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • Closest Light Rail: Government Plaza (.2 mi/ .3 km)
  • Minneapolis Skyway (connected)


Attractions
  • Minnesota Orchestra (.5 mi/ .75 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Walker Art Center (1.3 mi/ 2 km)
  • Mall of America (10 mi/ 16 km)

Business
  • Business center with private offices and secretarial services

Hotel Map

44.9759 -93.2688
Nearby airports
Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport, (MSP), 12.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Lux Ste Roll In Showe
1 King Bed 570 sq ft, roll in shower indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Grand Suite King Bed Media Room
1 King Bed 725 sq ft, media room stereo deep soaking bathtub, mini bar, WiFi
Luxury Suite 1 Queen or King Par
1 King or Queen Bed 570 sq ft, parlor with queen sofa bed, mini bar, WiFi
Presidential Suite 1 King Bed
1 King Bed, 3500 sf, fireplace, dining room, living room top floor, kitchen
Accessible King Prem Roll In Shw
1 King Bed 450 sq ft, upper floors roll in shower, mini bar, WiFi
Queen Deluxe with 1 Queen Bed
1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Accessible King Deluxe Room
1 King Bed 325 sq ft, accessible bathtub indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
King Deluxe with 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 325 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Double Double Deluxe 2 Beds
2 Double Beds 350 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Queen Queen Deluxe 2 Beds
2 Queen Beds 350 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Atrium Premier King 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 400 sq ft, Atrium view deep soaking tub, mini bar, WiFi
Premier King with 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 450 sq ft, upper floors deep soaking tub, mini bar, WiFi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.3 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.9 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5 mi

Dining

SIX15 Room
SIX15 Room features small bites and hip happy hour specials. Open from 3pm to 1am Mon thru Sat and from 3pm to midnight on Sunday. Located at lobby level. Reservations not required. For more information visit www.six15room.com or call 612-288-8888

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 135
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billy don
Florida
Jul 28, 2014

Family baseball game

Very clean Real nice Location good Great food and beverage spots very close Hotel has very nice lounge area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Man my' s steak house Keys great breakfast and lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Serrot
Mead, CO
Apr 28, 2014

Pleasantly Surpirsed

I booked at this hotel because it was close to where my daughter's vb team was staying at. This hotel was a great find. The staff was wonderful, even shared neat historical facts about the building and the room was great! Probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in at a hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bapol
Korea
Mar 20, 2013

Good

Everything was fine except window locked. I wanted to refresh the air of room. However, the window is like wall there was no way to open the windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yodi Mom
Cedar Rapids, IA
Oct 4, 2012

College drop off

We decided to stay downtown Minneapolis the night before droping out son at College. The hotel is older, but has a modern spa facility attached. The linens and bed were soft and comportable. The staff was vry freindly and helpful with suggestions for dinner. We discussed dinner options while enjoying a free glass of wine. We ended up at Ocean Air for dinner which was fabulous and just one block away. We borrowed the hotel's bikes in the morning and used the steam room at the spa which was a great way to start the day. The only negative is that the server at breakfast was unfriendly and slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the Bannana pie dessert. It is out of this world!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MelaF
Iowa City, Iowa
Feb 26, 2012

Love this Hotel!!!

This is located downtown Minneapolis. We pulled right up to the valet parking and they unloaded our car and took our luggage up to the lobby. We arrived prior to check-in but the staff let us check in early and even gave us a room upgrade! I love how they have a wine reception at 5:00 pm. We also signed up on-line to be Kimpton members and received free wi-fi. The rooms were big and bright. Very clean and very comfy. I would recommend paying the extra $5 to $10 to use their valet parking instead of using a public lot. Just being able to call down and in 15 minutes they bring the car up for you is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to the Dakota Jazz Club which you can get to easily through the inside walk-ways or a couple of blocks walk out side. There is also good shopping along the walk-ways.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mpls Laker
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 30, 2012

great location for business traveler

great location and amenities. very large and updated bathroom. my only complains: 1. they charge $10/day for internet access 2. calling front desk is a bit weird for a hotel - no one seemed eager to pick up the phone there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Albuquerque Nana
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Oct 19, 2011

A great stay

Hotel more than met expectations. Great location and caring staff. Access to the university was easy and the car was always ready when requested. The price through Orbitz was astounding and I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 31, 2011

Awesome Hotel

The Hotel is Modern with a touch of Old School Class. The staff is amazing and they went out of there way to ensure we had a great experience in their hotel. If the hotel has one drawback it would be that the pool is a lap pool for the health club. Children who cannot swim will need a life jacket. The pool does not have a shallow end for children to swim or play. The staff was very knowledgeable about how to get around and things to do. I will definitely be back. The Hotel has great in room dining as well as a wonderful restaurant on the 2nd floor. The bar looked very nice but I dint have time to stop in. The other downfall would be parking, you have to pay to park in the parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Took our kids to the Mall of America, we caught the train 2 blocks away. 10-15 minute train ride $1.50. Clean and safe, the mall of america was very nice and even had an amusement park in the center for the kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento
Oct 19, 2009

Going to a Vikings game?

It was just a few little things that made it not quite perfect. I asked for hot tea in the morning and received coffee, asked for a local newspaper and received the Wall Street Journal. The next morning after explaining what had happened and asked once again for the local paper received the USA Today. Don't eat in the Hotel, the restaurant in the Hotel was terrible we should have known, on a Friday night we were there with three other people the place was empty. Finally none of the staff were quite sure when the fitness center closed, we asked three different people and got three different answers. when checking in in the middle of helping us the phone rang and the person told us excuse me and started helping the person on the phone instead of putting them on hold and continuing to help us I found that to be odd. It is always the little things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Light Rail system it is simple and affordable no need for a taxi. We used it to go everywhere we went (airport, hotel, Mall of America, Metro Dome)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
MN
Aug 3, 2009

twins fan

great location from the twins game, room very clean!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search