$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
615 2nd Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
136 reviews
Great place to stay

My daughter spent night an was very satsatisfied for the cleanliness service and ammenities See full review

  • Mr.TB
  • Oct 12, 2014
great hotel

This was a clean, comfortable hotel. The staff was excellent and went out of their way to make our... See full review

  • Murph66
  • Jul 9, 2014
Debonair Twin Cities hotel retains roots in Minneapolis
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis–A Kimpton Hotel, knows its roots. Once home to the historic Minneapolis Athletic Club, this modernized property retains its elegant upbringing through a recently completed makeover in late 2011.
The property boasts of a stylish interior highlighted by contemporary accents and a warm historic feel complete with warm Tuscan tones and plush rooms, some equipped with a fireplace, grand piano and four-poster bed. Modern comforts are also available through offerings like the lounge/restaurant at The SIX15 Room and access to the neighboring fitness club.

Highlights
  • Nightly wine reception hour
  • Complimentary use of in-room yoga accessories
  • Luxurious Presidential Suite includes a fireplace and grand piano

Rooms

The Grand Hotel's newly renovated 140 rooms vary in size, from 325 square feet to a palatial 3,500 square-foot Presidential Suite. All rooms include flat-screen televisions, MP3 docking stations, spacious marble bathrooms, complimentary use of in-room yoga accessories and an honor bar with gourmet and organic delicacies.

Features

Grand Hotel Minneapolis has received numerous awards, including the Top 500 Hotels of the World by Travel + Leisure and perennial AAA Four Diamond Awards. The perfect proximity is noteworthy, too. Connected to the iconic Minneapolis Skyway, the hotel enables guests to reach 69 blocks of downtown destinations from indoors. LifeSpa and Salon presented by LifeTime Fitness offers a full menu of revitalizing services.

Dining

Stop by The SIX15 Room for happy hour specials, light snacks or an easy nightcap. Patrons can also sample mouth-watering steaks and delectable sushi at the adjacent Rare Steak & Sushi.


Recreation

Guests of the Grand Hotel Minneapolis enjoy free access to the adjoining Life Time Fitness center.

The 58,000-square-foot club boasts an indoor pool with cloud mural ceiling, boxing, cycling and aerobics studios, running track, racquetball, handball and squash courts, steam room, sauna and more. Private yoga and Pilates sessions are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (12.5 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • Closest Light Rail: Government Plaza (.2 mi/ .3 km)
  • Minneapolis Skyway (connected)


Attractions
  • Minnesota Orchestra (.5 mi/ .75 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Walker Art Center (1.3 mi/ 2 km)
  • Mall of America (10 mi/ 16 km)

Business
  • Business center with private offices and secretarial services

Hotel Map

44.9759 -93.2688
Nearby airports
Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport, (MSP), 12.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Lux Ste Roll In Showe
1 King Bed 570 sq ft, roll in shower indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Grand Suite King Bed Media Room
1 King Bed 725 sq ft, media room stereo deep soaking bathtub, mini bar, WiFi
Luxury Suite 1 Queen or King Par
1 King or Queen Bed 570 sq ft, parlor with queen sofa bed, mini bar, WiFi
Presidential Suite 1 King Bed
1 King Bed, 3500 sf, fireplace, dining room, living room top floor, kitchen
Accessible King Prem Roll In Shw
1 King Bed 450 sq ft, upper floors roll in shower, mini bar, WiFi
Queen Deluxe with 1 Queen Bed
1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Accessible King Deluxe Room
1 King Bed 325 sq ft, accessible bathtub indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
King Deluxe with 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 325 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Double Double Deluxe 2 Beds
2 Double Beds 350 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Queen Queen Deluxe 2 Beds
2 Queen Beds 350 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Atrium Premier King 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 400 sq ft, Atrium view deep soaking tub, mini bar, WiFi
Premier King with 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 450 sq ft, upper floors deep soaking tub, mini bar, WiFi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.3 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.9 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5 mi

Dining

SIX15 Room
SIX15 Room features small bites and hip happy hour specials. Open from 3pm to 1am Mon thru Sat and from 3pm to midnight on Sunday. Located at lobby level. Reservations not required. For more information visit www.six15room.com or call 612-288-8888

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TXTACO
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 17, 2011

Grand Hotel Minneapolis

The gym and spa facilities are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wife and mother of four
Business
Minnesota
Jan 4, 2011

Great location! Fantastic Hotel!

I had never stayed at this hotel before. I stayed there based solely on the ratings that were written. It was a very, very nice hotel. The staff were friendly. The room was clean. The resaurant was excellent. The fitness club, pool, sauna, and gym were top notch! If you are looking for a short getaway, want to get in some exercise, great dinning, and want to pamper yourself a bit this is the place! the only thing I marked down was the blower for the heater in the room was loud and a bit finiky to regulate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The skywalk can take you to shopping and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Captn. Jeff
Business
Yankton, SD.
Dec 7, 2010

Top beds in the industry

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at the Grand. The property is exceptional in all categories. From Guest services to the lounge staff to the excellent beds. The rooms are nicely appointed. I recommend this property to anyone staying in downtown Mpls for any occasion, from a date night with your wife or a Vikings football game

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Dan Kellys for that night cap, a nice Irish Pub.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palmer Alaska
Nov 27, 2010

Grand Swimming Pool

I love staying at nice hotels where the living is easy, and this hotel went out of its way to upgrade us. The wonderful fitness club and lap pool were easy to access; this is the big reason to stay at this hotel. Klimpton just took over, and provides free coffee in the morning and wine tastings in the evening. Hot toddies and wonderful finger food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Skyway system is where all the action is. Downtown streets are dead, but if you go up one floor, you connect to six miles of coffee shops, fine dining and shopping. Incredible adventure; but take a map!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 16, 2010

Great location and beautiful room.

Close to the light rail and the entertainment district. Had a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sig
Business
Fresno CA
Nov 3, 2010

Great Location and price

Hotel services and personnel were excellent. pricing at the bar and restaurant were very resonable and the staff were attentive and personable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Vikings and baseball stadium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, MN
Oct 18, 2010

Bait and switch

We need accommodations in Mpls/St. Paul 3-4 times every yr, so are familiar with the upscale hotels in the area. This is the second, if not 3rd time The Grand Hotel has done a bait and switch on us. Clearly, their most desirable mid priced rooms are the premiere rooms as they are large, with a gorgeous bed, big room, great view and have the soaking tub, separate shower and commode and twin sinks in a huge, gorgeous bathroom with adjustable lighting.I have tried reserving and contacting the hotel directly to assure when we reserve the premiere room, we indeed get it. One time was our wedding night (of which I'd advised the reservations operator). Of course, we checked in late, after our reception to find no premiere rooms available. We were shown to an "upgrade" - what they call a suite, which just means there's a small room with a couch in it, view looks over the heating unit for the hotel, it's dark, and the bathroom is a standard tub/shower combination, single sink and commode in a nondescript bathroom without mood lighting (of course, if it's no better than your bathroom at home - why would you need it?). Even the bed is not as nice. When I voiced my concern that the room most certainly was not an upgrade just because it had a couch in it, they offered that there were no other rooms available. I was so disappointed as it was our wedding night and that I had expressly advised the reservations person of this when I booked it, and expressed this repeatedly, that the bell boy disappeared to confer with someone else and 30" later were moved to a true upgrade room.We stayed there last winter, paid for a "premiere room", our friends paid for a basic room - we both got premiere rooms - I was delighted for them and suspect the hotel must have been underbooked for the night. So, if you feel lucky...So we needed a place to stay Sat. night. [...] My husband checked in at 5pm (you can't check in before 4pm) was told there were no premiere rooms available and again put us in a "upgrade" to a suite, that again looked over the heating units, dark, and standard small bathroom without the soaking tub, separate shower and commode,and no mood lighting. Unfortunately, we had to immediately get ready for our 6pm event so could not ask for a different room. I expressed my disappointment when I checked out. The woman told me the hotel was full and that was why I didn't get the premiere room I'd booked and paid for and that I was in a upgraded room. I described the room to her and she admitted it really wasn't an upgrade, but couldn't do anything further esp. since I'd booked on Orbitz. When pressed she advised, next time, I call the am of my stay to advise the staff I really did want the room I reserved (which seems redundant and complete lack of customer service). I was so frustrated as, truly of the high end hotels, the Grand premiere room, with the great bedroom, bathroom and views, really trumps anything else we've tried in that price range - that is, if they actually give it to you. I called later to discuss further with the manager. She said had she known she would have given me a free breakfast, but the first woman didn't even attempt to contact anyone so the point was moot. [...] I pointed it out to her, I'd contacted the Grand directly on another occasion and got the same result, so that really wasn't a guarantee about anything. She had nothing to say other than she was sorry I was disappointed.All this and I didn't even mention to them that in their "upgrade" room, one of the lamps didn't work and there was a black hair on the "clean" bed sheets when I pulled back the sheets to get into bed...The Grand staff used to be very helpful - very service oriented, from the minute you arrived until you left. When I arrived (5:15pm) there was no bell staff to help get your luggage in (from the street, you need to walk up about 20 steps or wait for the elevator), however when I left there was a bell hop and he quickly offere...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Winona, MN
Sep 28, 2010

None

Service was not very friendly, noisy neighbors, confusing parking. Will stay across the street at the Crowne Plaza next time, like we always try to do. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
califman
Business
los angeles, calif.
Sep 19, 2010

old fashion class

Perfect rennovation, great, friendly and courteous staff. Comfortable rooms and huge clean marble bathrooms. Location couldn't be better to access the cleanest downtown in America!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of quality restaurants within a very short distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gazu
Business
Seattle
Sep 19, 2010

Elegant First Class Service

Convenient to baseball and football stadiums, shopping, restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top