$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 615 2nd Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55402

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJM ELP
Business
El Paso, TX, USA
Oct 21, 2011

Stay at this Kimpton hotel

I was hesitant to stay at this hotel because the pictures around on the internet made it seem like only the lobby and restaurant had been remolded. Upon checking, I was happy to find out how wrong that was. This hotel is very nicely decorated, almost like a W hotel, but without the coldness of concrete. I was also taken aback by the friendly bar staff that infuse their own spirits, in fact, on the night I was there they were getting ready to make their own limoncello. I never made it to their restaurant since there were so many other options around, but I imagine it would have been good. Don't forget about the free tea and coffee available every morning in the lobby or the free wine served in the evenings... both nice perks. Lastly, as you consider getting around, skip the rental car in favor of using the skywalk access built into the hotel lobby or mass transit. From the hotel you would only be blocks away from the Government Plaza light rail stop and from countless bus transfer points. If the same Orbitz deal is available for this hotel, I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save yourself the cost of renting a car and take public transit. Between the light rail (just a few blocks from the hotel at the Government Plaza stop) and all the bus lines in MN you can get anywhere from the heart of downtown to Bloomington or even Uptonwn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Albuquerque Nana
Business
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Oct 19, 2011

A great stay

Hotel more than met expectations. Great location and caring staff. Access to the university was easy and the car was always ready when requested. The price through Orbitz was astounding and I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
barney1954
Business
central wisconsin
Sep 12, 2011

comfortable, quiet staff

for a "downtown" hotel, the experience was wonderful (parking was $20 at local garage for overnight was a bummer). Great value for the price. Clean room, very quiet rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Manny's steak house was a three block walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy In Minneapolis
Business
South Dakota, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Wonderful Stay!!

I travel almost weekly for business and I ahve experienced many hotels. This BY FAR was one of the most friendliest, welcoming, comfortable and beautiful hotels I have stayed in. The first night I was there I had an incident with noisey neighbors. The staff was so good and helpful. The next day they had delivered a bottle of wine and a cheese and fruit tray. From the moment we arrived the were so helpful and accomodating. I will definately be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newsgirl01970
Business
Salem, MA
Sep 6, 2011

Would stay here again for sure!

We were very happy with hotel location, close to light rail from airport & bus, and close to sports venues (football, baseball & basketball) as well as theatre & restaurants. Staff was very nice. Bike rentals were FREE and it was a great way to get around. My only complaint is room was hot and no AC so ask for a free fan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free bike rentals available at desk- great way to get around the city!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aish
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Awesome Business Trip

My experience in Grand was totally amazing.It was worth more than the value. I really enjoyed my stay in Grand, Minneapolis. I recommend Grand to anyone and everyone and prefer to stay there when ever I go there. :) totally awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aish
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Awesome Business Trip

My experience in Grand was totally amazing.It was worth more than the value. I really enjoyed my stay in Grand, Minneapolis. I recommend Grand to anyone and everyone and prefer to stay there when ever I go there. :) totally awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christie
Business
Overland Park, KS, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Comfort on a quick business trip!!

This hotel was great! HUGE room, very comfy. The staff was super friendly. Great location right in the middle of shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 31, 2011

Awesome Hotel

The Hotel is Modern with a touch of Old School Class. The staff is amazing and they went out of there way to ensure we had a great experience in their hotel. If the hotel has one drawback it would be that the pool is a lap pool for the health club. Children who cannot swim will need a life jacket. The pool does not have a shallow end for children to swim or play. The staff was very knowledgeable about how to get around and things to do. I will definitely be back. The Hotel has great in room dining as well as a wonderful restaurant on the 2nd floor. The bar looked very nice but I dint have time to stop in. The other downfall would be parking, you have to pay to park in the parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Took our kids to the Mall of America, we caught the train 2 blocks away. 10-15 minute train ride $1.50. Clean and safe, the mall of america was very nice and even had an amusement park in the center for the kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SgGoBlue
Business
Niles, MI
Jul 20, 2011

Well located

I selected this hotel based on others' reviews. The hotel was very easy to get to from the airport, by use of the city's light rail transit system. Perhaps that could be something that could be included in the hotel's description. We received directions from the information booth at the airport. The room was clean, comfortable, and EXTREMELY quiet, which my husband and I both appreciate. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. However there was no literature in the rooms giving any details about the hotel and its services. As we arrived early in the evening, we were going to eat in the restaurant located in the hotel, but we literally couldn't find it! The front desk directed us up the street to the outdoor mall area and recommended several restaurants there. Overall, this hotel was a pretty good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nicolett Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top