$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
615 2nd Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
138 reviews
Gorgeous.

Beautiful venue. The fitness center is top notch, it will make you WANT to work out... which we... See full review

  • sannvan
  • Nov 18, 2014
Great place to stay

My daughter spent night an was very satsatisfied for the cleanliness service and ammenities See full review

  • Mr.TB
  • Oct 12, 2014
Debonair Twin Cities hotel retains roots in Minneapolis
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis–A Kimpton Hotel, knows its roots. Once home to the historic Minneapolis Athletic Club, this modernized property retains its elegant upbringing through a recently completed makeover in late 2011.
The property boasts of a stylish interior highlighted by contemporary accents and a warm historic feel complete with warm Tuscan tones and plush rooms, some equipped with a fireplace, grand piano and four-poster bed. Modern comforts are also available through offerings like the lounge/restaurant at The SIX15 Room and access to the neighboring fitness club.

Highlights
  • Nightly wine reception hour
  • Complimentary use of in-room yoga accessories
  • Luxurious Presidential Suite includes a fireplace and grand piano

Rooms

The Grand Hotel's newly renovated 140 rooms vary in size, from 325 square feet to a palatial 3,500 square-foot Presidential Suite. All rooms include flat-screen televisions, MP3 docking stations, spacious marble bathrooms, complimentary use of in-room yoga accessories and an honor bar with gourmet and organic delicacies.

Features

Grand Hotel Minneapolis has received numerous awards, including the Top 500 Hotels of the World by Travel + Leisure and perennial AAA Four Diamond Awards. The perfect proximity is noteworthy, too. Connected to the iconic Minneapolis Skyway, the hotel enables guests to reach 69 blocks of downtown destinations from indoors. LifeSpa and Salon presented by LifeTime Fitness offers a full menu of revitalizing services.

Dining

Stop by The SIX15 Room for happy hour specials, light snacks or an easy nightcap. Patrons can also sample mouth-watering steaks and delectable sushi at the adjacent Rare Steak & Sushi.


Recreation

Guests of the Grand Hotel Minneapolis enjoy free access to the adjoining Life Time Fitness center.

The 58,000-square-foot club boasts an indoor pool with cloud mural ceiling, boxing, cycling and aerobics studios, running track, racquetball, handball and squash courts, steam room, sauna and more. Private yoga and Pilates sessions are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (12.5 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • Closest Light Rail: Government Plaza (.2 mi/ .3 km)
  • Minneapolis Skyway (connected)


Attractions
  • Minnesota Orchestra (.5 mi/ .75 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Walker Art Center (1.3 mi/ 2 km)
  • Mall of America (10 mi/ 16 km)

Business
  • Business center with private offices and secretarial services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Lux Ste Roll In Showe
1 King Bed 570 sq ft, roll in shower indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Grand Suite King Bed Media Room
1 King Bed 725 sq ft, media room stereo deep soaking bathtub, mini bar, WiFi
Luxury Suite 1 Queen or King Par
1 King or Queen Bed 570 sq ft, parlor with queen sofa bed, mini bar, WiFi
Presidential Suite 1 King Bed
1 King Bed, 3500 sf, fireplace, dining room, living room top floor, kitchen
Accessible King Prem Roll In Shw
1 King Bed 450 sq ft, upper floors roll in shower, mini bar, WiFi
Queen Deluxe with 1 Queen Bed
1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Accessible King Deluxe Room
1 King Bed 325 sq ft, accessible bathtub indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
King Deluxe with 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 325 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Double Double Deluxe 2 Beds
2 Double Beds 350 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Queen Queen Deluxe 2 Beds
2 Queen Beds 350 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Atrium Premier King 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 400 sq ft, Atrium view deep soaking tub, mini bar, WiFi
Premier King with 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 450 sq ft, upper floors deep soaking tub, mini bar, WiFi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.3 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.9 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5 mi

Dining

SIX15 Room
SIX15 Room features small bites and hip happy hour specials. Open from 3pm to 1am Mon thru Sat and from 3pm to midnight on Sunday. Located at lobby level. Reservations not required. For more information visit www.six15room.com or call 612-288-8888

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LibraryLynn
Business
Madison, WI
Oct 31, 2011

Great hotel and great staff!

I had a great 5 day stay at the Grand! Everyone was friendly and efficient, and I was treated exceptionally well. I was there over my birthday and I was even treated to champange and cupcakes by the staff! The only downside to the hotel is that you can't pull up in front of it, so if you're driving, you need to park by the valet stand or find a parking ramp right away. This is only a real issue if you drive; taxis just swing around in front and pick up or drop off. An exceptional experience all around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJM ELP
Business
El Paso, TX, USA
Oct 21, 2011

Stay at this Kimpton hotel

I was hesitant to stay at this hotel because the pictures around on the internet made it seem like only the lobby and restaurant had been remolded. Upon checking, I was happy to find out how wrong that was. This hotel is very nicely decorated, almost like a W hotel, but without the coldness of concrete. I was also taken aback by the friendly bar staff that infuse their own spirits, in fact, on the night I was there they were getting ready to make their own limoncello. I never made it to their restaurant since there were so many other options around, but I imagine it would have been good. Don't forget about the free tea and coffee available every morning in the lobby or the free wine served in the evenings... both nice perks. Lastly, as you consider getting around, skip the rental car in favor of using the skywalk access built into the hotel lobby or mass transit. From the hotel you would only be blocks away from the Government Plaza light rail stop and from countless bus transfer points. If the same Orbitz deal is available for this hotel, I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save yourself the cost of renting a car and take public transit. Between the light rail (just a few blocks from the hotel at the Government Plaza stop) and all the bus lines in MN you can get anywhere from the heart of downtown to Bloomington or even Uptonwn.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Albuquerque Nana
Business
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Oct 19, 2011

A great stay

Hotel more than met expectations. Great location and caring staff. Access to the university was easy and the car was always ready when requested. The price through Orbitz was astounding and I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
barney1954
Business
central wisconsin
Sep 12, 2011

comfortable, quiet staff

for a "downtown" hotel, the experience was wonderful (parking was $20 at local garage for overnight was a bummer). Great value for the price. Clean room, very quiet rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Manny's steak house was a three block walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy In Minneapolis
Business
South Dakota, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Wonderful Stay!!

I travel almost weekly for business and I ahve experienced many hotels. This BY FAR was one of the most friendliest, welcoming, comfortable and beautiful hotels I have stayed in. The first night I was there I had an incident with noisey neighbors. The staff was so good and helpful. The next day they had delivered a bottle of wine and a cheese and fruit tray. From the moment we arrived the were so helpful and accomodating. I will definately be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newsgirl01970
Business
Salem, MA
Sep 6, 2011

Would stay here again for sure!

We were very happy with hotel location, close to light rail from airport & bus, and close to sports venues (football, baseball & basketball) as well as theatre & restaurants. Staff was very nice. Bike rentals were FREE and it was a great way to get around. My only complaint is room was hot and no AC so ask for a free fan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free bike rentals available at desk- great way to get around the city!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aish
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Awesome Business Trip

My experience in Grand was totally amazing.It was worth more than the value. I really enjoyed my stay in Grand, Minneapolis. I recommend Grand to anyone and everyone and prefer to stay there when ever I go there. :) totally awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christie
Business
Overland Park, KS, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Comfort on a quick business trip!!

This hotel was great! HUGE room, very comfy. The staff was super friendly. Great location right in the middle of shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 31, 2011

Awesome Hotel

The Hotel is Modern with a touch of Old School Class. The staff is amazing and they went out of there way to ensure we had a great experience in their hotel. If the hotel has one drawback it would be that the pool is a lap pool for the health club. Children who cannot swim will need a life jacket. The pool does not have a shallow end for children to swim or play. The staff was very knowledgeable about how to get around and things to do. I will definitely be back. The Hotel has great in room dining as well as a wonderful restaurant on the 2nd floor. The bar looked very nice but I dint have time to stop in. The other downfall would be parking, you have to pay to park in the parking garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Took our kids to the Mall of America, we caught the train 2 blocks away. 10-15 minute train ride $1.50. Clean and safe, the mall of america was very nice and even had an amusement park in the center for the kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SgGoBlue
Business
Niles, MI
Jul 20, 2011

Well located

I selected this hotel based on others' reviews. The hotel was very easy to get to from the airport, by use of the city's light rail transit system. Perhaps that could be something that could be included in the hotel's description. We received directions from the information booth at the airport. The room was clean, comfortable, and EXTREMELY quiet, which my husband and I both appreciate. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. However there was no literature in the rooms giving any details about the hotel and its services. As we arrived early in the evening, we were going to eat in the restaurant located in the hotel, but we literally couldn't find it! The front desk directed us up the street to the outdoor mall area and recommended several restaurants there. Overall, this hotel was a pretty good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nicolett Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top