$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 615 2nd Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55402

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Oct 19, 2009

Going to a Vikings game?

It was just a few little things that made it not quite perfect. I asked for hot tea in the morning and received coffee, asked for a local newspaper and received the Wall Street Journal. The next morning after explaining what had happened and asked once again for the local paper received the USA Today. Don't eat in the Hotel, the restaurant in the Hotel was terrible we should have known, on a Friday night we were there with three other people the place was empty. Finally none of the staff were quite sure when the fitness center closed, we asked three different people and got three different answers. when checking in in the middle of helping us the phone rang and the person told us excuse me and started helping the person on the phone instead of putting them on hold and continuing to help us I found that to be odd. It is always the little things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Light Rail system it is simple and affordable no need for a taxi. We used it to go everywhere we went (airport, hotel, Mall of America, Metro Dome)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NewYork
Oct 13, 2009

My favorite hotel in MSP!

I have stayed in MSP several times, and this by far is my favorite hotel. Having complimentary coffee delivered to your room each morning was wonderful. Beautiful hotel, wonderful service...Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TAH
Business
Mpls, MN
Oct 12, 2009

Great Hotel

Love the location. Very nice hotel. Accomodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mission American Kitchen - GREAT food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Illinois
Sep 28, 2009

Beautiful rooms and excellent service

Fairly close to the Metrodome. Hotel and rooms were very nice. Do some research on the parking though. When we checked in we were told to park in the Capella tower and it would only be $5 each time we left. However, we checked out on Monday and had to pay $44. Very frustrating as the parking garage across the street was only $20 for 24 hours! The room was extremely clean and the bathroom was HUGE. Could have done without putting the robe away every night from the turn down service but the Godiva chocolates made up for it! Only complaint would be that there is no mini fridge but I knew that when I booked it. And, the parking issue. You cannot get ice yourself, you need to call the front desk and they will deliver an ice bucket to your room if you need extra. They do fill the ice bucket in the room each evening with the turn down service which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

IF planning a visit to the Mall of America, check into the the light rail. Inexpensive and easier than driving. Also, check out Psycho Suzys (not too far away) for a different dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Music Mama
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 28, 2009

Gem in Minneapolis

The hotel staff was great and the service was personal. My room was huge, the bathroom even bigger with separate mini-rooms for the shower and toilet. There was even a TV by the jacuzzi. So luxurious and quiet. I'll stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mis
Business
RIce Lake, WI
Sep 28, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

My husband and I were in town for a wedding a few blocks from the hotel. We parked in the parking ramp right below the hotel, which was listed The Grand Hotel Minneapolis website as one of the preferred ramps with perfect directions on how to get there and where to go once inside. The hotel was beautiful and the rooms were great. Everything you could have wanted was brought right to your room. The staff is extremely friendly. I was a little worried that our room was small, being that we were in a room facing the interior, but it ended up being perfect. The only thing I regret is not taking the hotel up on its complimentary fitness center access. It is an amazing facility. I can't wait for our next trip Downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you would want to experience in downtown Minneapolis is just a few short blocks away; bars, clubs, theaters, art, , Metrodome, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casusal
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 1, 2009

Grand Hotel, Minneapolis

The location was great, but we were not informed that the streets around the hotel were under construction, and some closed. Consequently, the main entrance to the hotel was closed and access was from a side street which was not marked well. As first timers to Minneapolis, it was rather frustrating. This is the second time this year I've selected a hotel through Orbitz, only to get there and find construction that I was not informed of ahead of time. The room itself was great, a nice big bathroom and a very comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WI
Aug 31, 2009

The name says it all!

The only problem I had was that I booked my hotel room last minute on Orbitz.com and when I checked into my hotel a few hours later, it hadn't shown up on their system yet. So my checking account was charged the amount of the hotel room from orbitz.com, the same amount from the Grand Hotel and the additional $100 for incidentals. So here I am, 3 days later I am waiting for one of the hotel room charges and the $100 incidental charge to be dropped from my bank account.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Murray's Steak House was fantastic! The bartender at the Grand Hotel recommended it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supercandlemaker
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 21, 2009

Nice rooms!

We came here for our wedding night. We didn't get in until late and left late morning to catch a flight. So we weren't there very long. But we were impressed by the staff we talked to when we checked in and checked out. Our room was also really nice and spacious! It would be nice if the bathrooms had hair dryers for guests to use. Also, it would have been nice if there was a complimentary breakfast like many hotels provide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Outstate, MN
Aug 3, 2009

"Great anniversary weekend"

In the middle of downtown Minneapolis, so many things to do. Twin's game one night, Guthrie Theatre the next night. Many great restaurants within walking distance. Good location even though major construction was going on on the downtown streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just have comfortable walking shoes and restaurants abound.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top