$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
615 2nd Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
138 reviews
Gorgeous.

Beautiful venue. The fitness center is top notch, it will make you WANT to work out... which we... See full review

  • sannvan
  • Nov 18, 2014
Great place to stay

My daughter spent night an was very satsatisfied for the cleanliness service and ammenities See full review

  • Mr.TB
  • Oct 12, 2014
Debonair Twin Cities hotel retains roots in Minneapolis
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis–A Kimpton Hotel, knows its roots. Once home to the historic Minneapolis Athletic Club, this modernized property retains its elegant upbringing through a recently completed makeover in late 2011.
The property boasts of a stylish interior highlighted by contemporary accents and a warm historic feel complete with warm Tuscan tones and plush rooms, some equipped with a fireplace, grand piano and four-poster bed. Modern comforts are also available through offerings like the lounge/restaurant at The SIX15 Room and access to the neighboring fitness club.

Highlights
  • Nightly wine reception hour
  • Complimentary use of in-room yoga accessories
  • Luxurious Presidential Suite includes a fireplace and grand piano

Rooms

The Grand Hotel's newly renovated 140 rooms vary in size, from 325 square feet to a palatial 3,500 square-foot Presidential Suite. All rooms include flat-screen televisions, MP3 docking stations, spacious marble bathrooms, complimentary use of in-room yoga accessories and an honor bar with gourmet and organic delicacies.

Features

Grand Hotel Minneapolis has received numerous awards, including the Top 500 Hotels of the World by Travel + Leisure and perennial AAA Four Diamond Awards. The perfect proximity is noteworthy, too. Connected to the iconic Minneapolis Skyway, the hotel enables guests to reach 69 blocks of downtown destinations from indoors. LifeSpa and Salon presented by LifeTime Fitness offers a full menu of revitalizing services.

Dining

Stop by The SIX15 Room for happy hour specials, light snacks or an easy nightcap. Patrons can also sample mouth-watering steaks and delectable sushi at the adjacent Rare Steak & Sushi.


Recreation

Guests of the Grand Hotel Minneapolis enjoy free access to the adjoining Life Time Fitness center.

The 58,000-square-foot club boasts an indoor pool with cloud mural ceiling, boxing, cycling and aerobics studios, running track, racquetball, handball and squash courts, steam room, sauna and more. Private yoga and Pilates sessions are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (12.5 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • Closest Light Rail: Government Plaza (.2 mi/ .3 km)
  • Minneapolis Skyway (connected)


Attractions
  • Minnesota Orchestra (.5 mi/ .75 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Walker Art Center (1.3 mi/ 2 km)
  • Mall of America (10 mi/ 16 km)

Business
  • Business center with private offices and secretarial services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Lux Ste Roll In Showe
1 King Bed 570 sq ft, roll in shower indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Grand Suite King Bed Media Room
1 King Bed 725 sq ft, media room stereo deep soaking bathtub, mini bar, WiFi
Luxury Suite 1 Queen or King Par
1 King or Queen Bed 570 sq ft, parlor with queen sofa bed, mini bar, WiFi
Presidential Suite 1 King Bed
1 King Bed, 3500 sf, fireplace, dining room, living room top floor, kitchen
Accessible King Prem Roll In Shw
1 King Bed 450 sq ft, upper floors roll in shower, mini bar, WiFi
Queen Deluxe with 1 Queen Bed
1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Accessible King Deluxe Room
1 King Bed 325 sq ft, accessible bathtub indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
King Deluxe with 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 325 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Double Double Deluxe 2 Beds
2 Double Beds 350 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Queen Queen Deluxe 2 Beds
2 Queen Beds 350 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Atrium Premier King 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 400 sq ft, Atrium view deep soaking tub, mini bar, WiFi
Premier King with 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 450 sq ft, upper floors deep soaking tub, mini bar, WiFi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.3 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.9 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5 mi

Dining

SIX15 Room
SIX15 Room features small bites and hip happy hour specials. Open from 3pm to 1am Mon thru Sat and from 3pm to midnight on Sunday. Located at lobby level. Reservations not required. For more information visit www.six15room.com or call 612-288-8888

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mis
Business
RIce Lake, WI
Sep 28, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

My husband and I were in town for a wedding a few blocks from the hotel. We parked in the parking ramp right below the hotel, which was listed The Grand Hotel Minneapolis website as one of the preferred ramps with perfect directions on how to get there and where to go once inside. The hotel was beautiful and the rooms were great. Everything you could have wanted was brought right to your room. The staff is extremely friendly. I was a little worried that our room was small, being that we were in a room facing the interior, but it ended up being perfect. The only thing I regret is not taking the hotel up on its complimentary fitness center access. It is an amazing facility. I can't wait for our next trip Downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you would want to experience in downtown Minneapolis is just a few short blocks away; bars, clubs, theaters, art, , Metrodome, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casusal
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 1, 2009

Grand Hotel, Minneapolis

The location was great, but we were not informed that the streets around the hotel were under construction, and some closed. Consequently, the main entrance to the hotel was closed and access was from a side street which was not marked well. As first timers to Minneapolis, it was rather frustrating. This is the second time this year I've selected a hotel through Orbitz, only to get there and find construction that I was not informed of ahead of time. The room itself was great, a nice big bathroom and a very comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WI
Aug 31, 2009

The name says it all!

The only problem I had was that I booked my hotel room last minute on Orbitz.com and when I checked into my hotel a few hours later, it hadn't shown up on their system yet. So my checking account was charged the amount of the hotel room from orbitz.com, the same amount from the Grand Hotel and the additional $100 for incidentals. So here I am, 3 days later I am waiting for one of the hotel room charges and the $100 incidental charge to be dropped from my bank account.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Murray's Steak House was fantastic! The bartender at the Grand Hotel recommended it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
supercandlemaker
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 21, 2009

Nice rooms!

We came here for our wedding night. We didn't get in until late and left late morning to catch a flight. So we weren't there very long. But we were impressed by the staff we talked to when we checked in and checked out. Our room was also really nice and spacious! It would be nice if the bathrooms had hair dryers for guests to use. Also, it would have been nice if there was a complimentary breakfast like many hotels provide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Outstate, MN
Aug 3, 2009

"Great anniversary weekend"

In the middle of downtown Minneapolis, so many things to do. Twin's game one night, Guthrie Theatre the next night. Many great restaurants within walking distance. Good location even though major construction was going on on the downtown streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just have comfortable walking shoes and restaurants abound.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Aug 3, 2009

twins fan

great location from the twins game, room very clean!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mdm
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 2, 2009

Very comfortable and classy hotel

Very accomodating and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the parking garage recommended by staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bishop H.
Business
Richmond VA
Jul 27, 2009

Great Hotel in MN

The Grand Hotel is wonderful luxury hotel located downtown MN. It is near several businesses, restaurants, and Nicolett Mall. It's fitness room is unprecidented for a hotel, with a huge indoor pool with lanes, tanning beds, full basketball and racket ball courts, more equipment than my own personal gym, a great spa, and terrific customer service. Standard rooms are quite nice, but due to the hotel's location the view can be horrible....sometimes revealing only a big building when you look out the window. However, premium rooms (spcially the corner rooms) are well worth the money. They are spacious, with plenty of windows for a view overlooking the heart of the city (if that's what you like)...and the upgraded bathrooms with sunken tubs, seperate shower (That has HUGE dual shower heads) dimming lights, small TV in the wall, and beautiful counter tops are to DIE for. The turn down service is great, and the customer service was terrific. The spa offers a variety of services from massages, to body wraps, etc. They are a little pricey. The ambiance is great. However, if you're not into the dark, dim, woodsy feel, this may not be the hotel for you. At 6:00 pm (even during the summer months), they dim the lobby light. With the dark wood that is pervasive throughout the hotel, and the low lights, you can hardly read a thing. It tends to be TOO dark in there. The phone service is pretty bad...the phones (though cordless) are cheap and often misfunction. They charge you a buck for local and 800 calls. For the money that the rooms cost, this is not good. It was great to come in my room at the end of a long day and find my luxury bathrobe laid out on my bed, with all the lights in my room and in the bathroom dimmed. There was classical music playing on the great sounding radio in the room...and of course, house cleaning had cleaned my room to perfect and left rich chocolates (in different flavors) each night...definitely the hotel fir for kings and queens (: Truly the hotel to stay in if you like luxury in the city! I'd go back any day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do your studying about places to eat before you get there...there are plenty of places within walking distance....you can even take the sky walk to get from building to building without ever having to go out side---but it is confusing-- and there are so many choices. Great restuarants in that area tend to be a bit pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IL
Jul 23, 2009

Grand Hotel- Construction

As a business traveler, I use rolling luggage. Because there was no valet, I parked in a garage in the same building- not too bad, but getting to the hotel from the interior of the parking garage wasn't that intuitive. I walked around the block tugging two bags. Then, when I arrived, I had to drag my bags up a flight of stairs entering the hotel- no ramp. I confirmed with the hotel that the parking garage accepts credit- surprise... they don't! There are a number of stairs throughout the facility with no ramp option. I was upgraded to the 15th floor and was very pleased with the generosity. However, when I stepped off the elevator, I faced yet another flight of stairs... Really?!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bismarck
Jul 13, 2009

Very warm for downtown!

My wife and I just had a weekend getaway to watch the Twins play the Whitesox!! The hotel was with in walking to the Metrodome and we enjoyed the location downtown. Everything was within walking distance... Had a great time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top