$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
615 2nd Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
224 reviews
great hotel

This was a clean, comfortable hotel. The staff was excellent and went out of their way to make our... See full review

  • Murph66
  • Jul 9, 2014
Pleasantly Surpirsed

I booked at this hotel because it was close to where my daughter's vb team was staying at. This... See full review

  • Serrot
  • Apr 28, 2014
Debonair Twin Cities hotel retains roots in Minneapolis
The Grand Hotel Minneapolis–A Kimpton Hotel, knows its roots. Once home to the historic Minneapolis Athletic Club, this modernized property retains its elegant upbringing through a recently completed makeover in late 2011.
The property boasts of a stylish interior highlighted by contemporary accents and a warm historic feel complete with warm Tuscan tones and plush rooms, some equipped with a fireplace, grand piano and four-poster bed. Modern comforts are also available through offerings like the lounge/restaurant at The SIX15 Room and access to the neighboring fitness club.

Highlights
  • Nightly wine reception hour
  • Complimentary use of in-room yoga accessories
  • Luxurious Presidential Suite includes a fireplace and grand piano

Rooms

The Grand Hotel's newly renovated 140 rooms vary in size, from 325 square feet to a palatial 3,500 square-foot Presidential Suite. All rooms include flat-screen televisions, MP3 docking stations, spacious marble bathrooms, complimentary use of in-room yoga accessories and an honor bar with gourmet and organic delicacies.

Features

Grand Hotel Minneapolis has received numerous awards, including the Top 500 Hotels of the World by Travel + Leisure and perennial AAA Four Diamond Awards. The perfect proximity is noteworthy, too. Connected to the iconic Minneapolis Skyway, the hotel enables guests to reach 69 blocks of downtown destinations from indoors. LifeSpa and Salon presented by LifeTime Fitness offers a full menu of revitalizing services.

Dining

Stop by The SIX15 Room for happy hour specials, light snacks or an easy nightcap. Patrons can also sample mouth-watering steaks and delectable sushi at the adjacent Rare Steak & Sushi.


Recreation

Guests of the Grand Hotel Minneapolis enjoy free access to the adjoining Life Time Fitness center.

The 58,000-square-foot club boasts an indoor pool with cloud mural ceiling, boxing, cycling and aerobics studios, running track, racquetball, handball and squash courts, steam room, sauna and more. Private yoga and Pilates sessions are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (12.5 mi/ 2.2 km)
  • Closest Light Rail: Government Plaza (.2 mi/ .3 km)
  • Minneapolis Skyway (connected)


Attractions
  • Minnesota Orchestra (.5 mi/ .75 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • Walker Art Center (1.3 mi/ 2 km)
  • Mall of America (10 mi/ 16 km)

Business
  • Business center with private offices and secretarial services

Hotel Map

44.9759 -93.2688
Nearby airports
Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport, (MSP), 12.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Lux Ste Roll In Showe
1 King Bed 570 sq ft, roll in shower indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Grand Suite King Bed Media Room
1 King Bed 725 sq ft, media room stereo deep soaking bathtub, mini bar, WiFi
Luxury Suite 1 Queen or King Par
1 King or Queen Bed 570 sq ft, parlor with queen sofa bed, mini bar, WiFi
Presidential Suite 1 King Bed
1 King Bed, 3500 sf, fireplace, dining room, living room top floor, kitchen
Accessible King Prem Roll In Shw
1 King Bed 450 sq ft, upper floors roll in shower, mini bar, WiFi
Queen Deluxe with 1 Queen Bed
1 Queen Bed 300 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Accessible King Deluxe Room
1 King Bed 325 sq ft, accessible bathtub indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
King Deluxe with 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 325 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Double Double Deluxe 2 Beds
2 Double Beds 350 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Queen Queen Deluxe 2 Beds
2 Queen Beds 350 sq ft, flat panel TV indoor club pool access, mini bar, WiFi
Atrium Premier King 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 400 sq ft, Atrium view deep soaking tub, mini bar, WiFi
Premier King with 1 King Bed
1 King Bed 450 sq ft, upper floors deep soaking tub, mini bar, WiFi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Sauna
Children's activities
Golf
Jogging track
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.1 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.3 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.9 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 4.9 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5 mi

Dining

SIX15 Room
SIX15 Room features small bites and hip happy hour specials. Open from 3pm to 1am Mon thru Sat and from 3pm to midnight on Sunday. Located at lobby level. Reservations not required. For more information visit www.six15room.com or call 612-288-8888

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (224)

Ratings and reviews for The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Murph66
Clinton, MS
Jul 9, 2014

great hotel

This was a clean, comfortable hotel. The staff was excellent and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The lobby bar had a great ambiance and also serves food, which we did not have an occasion to sample. The only thing I could complain about is there was no ice machine on the floors. Other than that, it was a great experiance. The convention center was within qwalking distance for most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kelly's Irish Bar and Grill is just around the corner. Food was good and reasonably priced and the staff there was very helpful and friendly.

Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Serrot
Mead, CO
Apr 28, 2014

Pleasantly Surpirsed

I booked at this hotel because it was close to where my daughter's vb team was staying at. This hotel was a great find. The staff was wonderful, even shared neat historical facts about the building and the room was great! Probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in at a hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ray James
Business
New York
Dec 9, 2013

Great business hotel experience

The gym was great, probably the nicest I have seen in a larger city...comfy, eclectic room and easy to use business center. The front desk was a big help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jake123
Minneapolis
Nov 16, 2013

Be cautious about staying here

We decided to stay at the Grand Hotel during a nice night out downtown. I have to say, I have stayed at a lot of "nicer" hotels, and I was less than impressed by this place. The first issue, was that I was running later than I had planned, so my girlfriend had ended up there before me. To my amazement, even though the room had been paid for in full, and they could have called to verify with me, they would not allow her to check into the room. Fine.. I could see because of security, how this could happen. Secondly, the main entrance to the hotel is situated on a bus lane, and the valet is situated almost half a block up around the corner. I originally ended up at the front of the hotel ( coming through the lane ) only to find out, that I had to go all the way around the corner to drop my car. Keep in mind, you will pay $32.00 / night... I knew this going in. I got checked in, to the room, and dressed and ready for dinner. Called for our car about 15 min early from our room. Came to the lobby, and the car was not there. Walked up the street to valet, and they were less than helpful about getting our car. He checked through every key, and said.. well.. you key is not here ( with ticket in hand ) Finally radioed to his associate and it was on the way. We walked back to the main door, and waited another 20 min for the car to arrive. Still no car, I was more than irritated so I went to the front desk. Finally after about 10 min at the front desk, the car arrived. The valet apologizing for the delay. Now to mention we were 20 min late for our dinner reservations. The restaurant got us in, and it was a great dinner up the street. Back to the hotel with no problems, but still had to drop off our car up the street when we were back. I talked to the front desk, and they were refunding our valet for the trip. This made me more tolerable to the situation, and I have to say, the bar staff in the lobby were great. My mood was changing. The room was small, and nothing special. Reviews were right to get an upgraded room if you stay, as you, like us will have a view of a concrete wall. Morning came, went to get our car, and the valet voice mail was full. He called me back in about 5 min, and was on our way. My option is for the price, you can find much better, with much better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ended up at Manny's Steakhouse. Our first time there, and we were impressed

Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amber2205
Chicago, IL
Nov 4, 2013

Beautifully done hotel, great service

This hotel has the perfect combination of modern amenities & charm. The rooms are beautifully decorated and so is the lobby. Didn't try the restaurant or spa though. Great location, within walking distance from light rail, downtown restaurants, stone arch bridge and shopping. Would visit here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Mill City Museum & Stone Arch Bridge have great views!

Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steven Hebert
Lafayette, LA
Oct 22, 2013

Great Location in Minneapolis

About the only reason I don't give this hotel perfect marks is for the lack of in room coffee makers but everything else is what I have come to expect from a Kimpton Hotel. Great Job and thank you. I do have to say that my wife and I are not dog lovers, at all, so the "dog friendly" environment and the ride in the elevator with a very large german shepard puts us off, but we knew this was part of the deal from experience. We not longer have to ask about a non smoking room but will start asking about a non pet room, sorry, just not our taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Key's restaurant, local comfort food, excellent

Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
4 Ladies on Vacation
Charlotte, NC
Oct 15, 2013

Needs Improving

Booked 2 rooms 3 months before we travelled and when we checked in we were on different floors. I asked to be on the same floor the staff said all rooms were booked up and that was the only option. We were not given keys to the mini bar at check-in and had to go back to the front desk to get them. The same evening we were looking for a good restaurant and were told about some close by but the desk clerk did not even mention the steak house in the hotel. The next day my niece drank half of a sprite from the mini bar and found out it had been expired for 6 months. We found 5 more items in her room and 10 items in our minibar that were expired. We called the front desk and they gave us a $25 room service credit, but when we checked out, I had to remind them to use it on my bill. This hotel is clean and in a nice location, but overall the staff, the amenities, and the service were well below expectations. I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlwaysFlyingSomewhere
Phil, PA
Jul 29, 2013

Grand is Grand but not perfect

They've done a grand job at the Grand and the hotel is beautiful. Only minor complaints - the rooms are New Yorkish - I kept having to turn sideways to get between the bedpost and where the wall jut outs but overall the rooms are nice. The amenities add up fast - so stay away from the mini-bar. Overall the Grand really specializes in service - with one important exception; the bar/bartender. When this guy is ready to go home, he closes. No matter if it's an hour before bar time and there are a dozen people (and the desk tells you the bar is open until 1) this buy is closing down. Further he is rude and condescending. Hotel management really needs to spank the bartender - but otherwise the service is impeccable. Would recommend, at least if you don't care about the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RBHKHH
Waterloo, IA
Jul 8, 2013

Fantastic Birthday Getaway

We were greeted by a very friendly hotel staff. All of our questions were answered and we found the upgrade to a King bed a very pleasant and appreciated surprise. We will definitely be a guest in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Great movies at the Independant theaters in Uptown!!

Review of The Grand Hotel Minneapolis a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rita and Dave
Chicago
Jun 18, 2013

Just Fine

Excellent location - Very attentive and friendly staff - Nicely decorated - Fun bar area and bartender -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top