$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

3 stars
425 South Second Street, 425 South Second Street, Minneapolis, MN 55401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
78 reviews
great stay

Great family hotel. The rooms are great with the kitchens. The waterpark was a hit with the... See full review

  • rez runner
  • Jun 4, 2013
Better than Home

After a long day of travel, the staff at this hotel handled my problems and made me comfortable... See full review

  • MinnieHaHa
  • Apr 5, 2013
Treat yourself to an unforgettable stay at the Residence Inn Depot, located in the beautiful Mississippi River Front District. As part of the historic Milwaukee Road Train Depot, our hotel melds old world charm with modern technology. Take in the natural sights as you walk, run, or bike on the Stone Arch Bridge, enjoying the mighty Mississippi as it comes alive at Saint Anthony Falls. Include a visit to one of the many cultural attractions, such as The Guthrie Theater, the Mill City Museum, or the MacPhail Center. We'll provide all of the amenities to keep you comfortable while you live it up in this unique area of downtown.

Hotel Map

44.9803 -93.2616
Area served
Minneapolis
Nearby airports
Minneapolis-St Paul International Airport, (MSP), 8.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Fire place
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Mill City Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.7 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Target Field: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 1.3 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.5 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Target Center: 0.7 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Target Field: 0.9 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 1.3 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1.5 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.6 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.6 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.6 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Williams Arena: 1.7 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.7 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.6 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 3.1 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 3.9 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 4.1 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 4.1 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 4.2 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.5 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 5 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5.3 mi

Dining

Charley's Grill
sandwiches, burgers, salads, soup, daily specials
Stone Arch Bar at the Depot (Cocktail Lounge)
Casual Lounge and Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Odonnell
NY
May 20, 2014

Great location for family getaway

A great value for a family. Such a great location only a short walk to anything we needed. (Market, coffee house, museum riverside, ice cream, metro, restaurants.....) the water park should be included and the elevators were slow. The buffet breakfast is included and having full kitchen was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is in walking distance no need for a car. Also try the Segway tour human on a stick great time for all

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Funnygirl times two
Fergus Falls, MN
Apr 24, 2014

Pre Easter Getaway

We really enjoyed the closeness to the St. Anthony's Falls area! Just a short distance to some MN History! Also, a quick peek into the Guthrie Theatre is a must! The kitchenette in our room was perfect for our family as well as the water park! I would definitely recommed a stay here! I know we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rez runner
Bemidji, MN
Jun 4, 2013

great stay

Great family hotel. The rooms are great with the kitchens. The waterpark was a hit with the children. Hotel staff were very professional. The breakfast was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MinnieHaHa
Business
Maryland
Apr 5, 2013

Better than Home

After a long day of travel, the staff at this hotel handled my problems and made me comfortable quickly. The hotel is very comfortable and full of conveniences. I was able to walk to every place I needed to go. The room and hotel made working remotely very convenient. I cannot wait to go back for R&R at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the turn to cross the bridge into the quaint part of town where great effort has been invested in keeping the original archetecture. The walk, the view and the food are well worth it

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Momma Baby 22
Cloquet, MN
Mar 6, 2013

One night stay for a wedding

Did not get to enjoy anything at the hotel as we stayed for 1 night just for a wedding reception we were attending close by. Because of the location it was great for us. But I was not happy that I was not informed about having to pay additional for parking upon paying already 112.00 after tax for a 1 night stay at the hotel. I paid an additional 15.00 for 1 night of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meyouthem
Business
Centennial colorado
Dec 22, 2012

Good value.

Close to my customers office. Easy to get to from the light rail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa an Accountant
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Dec 22, 2012

Week long business trip

The room was as advertised, clean and comfortable. Location is great, breakfast was decent and the staff was very polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Langhorne
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 13, 2012

Just okay

Nothing horrible. But nothing special either, and the whole place felt a bit dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EAK9
San Francisco, CA
Dec 10, 2012

Great Hotel in Downtown Minneapolis

This is the second time we've stayed here at the Residence Inn at The Depot. It's a lovely hotel, well maintained, with pleasant staff and great offerings, including complimentary breakfast, fitness facility and easy parking (albeit with an extra charge). Both of our stays were fabulous, and I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a high-quality, affordable option the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MTM Statue Watcher
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 30, 2012

Good value, good location

This was my second stay at this hotel. Suites provide adequate space and amenities are acceptable. The location is perfect for access to the MetroDome or the Guthrie Theater. My only complaint was the fake butter and fake syrup at the breakfast buffet. It left me with no breakfast options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Guthrie Theater!

Back to menu Return to top