$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

3 stars
618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
93 reviews
was Good

Great price for the location. Staff was friendly and rooms were comfy. Building is connected to the... See full review

  • Rybrrrrrrr
  • Aug 31, 2014
Great!!

Perfect location and great confort. Unfortunatelly breakfast and internet are not incuded. See full review

  • lucazalu
  • Oct 14, 2013
Downtown Minneapolis Hotel's Location is the Best Centered in the vibrant heart of downtown Minneapolis, our hotel's location, superb service and unrivaled amenities make the Crowne Plaza® Minneapolis - Northstar hotel the best. Corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's downtown Minneapolis location near major corporations. Being within 2.5 blocks of two light rail stations makes it easy to get to meetings anywhere in the Twin Cities. We're considered "The Place To Meet "thanks to 10,000 sq ft of unique event space, an excellent business center and an outstanding Crowne Meetings Director and staff. Minneapolis is home to world-class cultural icons like the Walker Art Center and Guthrie Theatre, plus 56 terrific museums. With professional teams playing at Target Field, Target Center and Xcel Energy Center, concert venues and cutting-edge shopping at Mall of America, there's truly something for each of our hotel's guests in downtown Minneapolis. And the climate-controlled, glass Skyway System connects you to everything from our hotel. No matter what brings you to the Twin Cities, our hotel's amenities make your downtown Minneapolis visit memorable. From the unique sleep perks of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® Program to the sleek style of our Café Northstar, we're one-of-a-kind. Take advantage of the 24-hour fitness center, and then spend a relaxing hour or two by the fireplace in our lounge. We look forward to serving you!

Hotel Map

44.9762 -93.2697
Nearby airports
Minneapolis Saint Paul International, (MSP), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.3 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 4 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 5 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5 mi

Dining

Cafe Northstar
Casual restaurant modeled in the style of a contemporary European Scandinavian restaurant.
Krona Lounge
Choose among a connoisseur's collection of spirits, a complete wine bar and more than 30 ales & beers in our Krona Lounge. Relax in the comfort of the newly appointed living room-style seating before a fireplace and enjoy the vibrant street scene as you s

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 93
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katherine in Virginia
Business
Northern Virginia
Jul 12, 2014

Great hotel except for the noise

The Crown Plaza was great in all ways but one, and I don't think there is much they can do about it. The walls are thin and the doors are not soundproof. You can hear everything that is being said in the halls and you can even hear talking and other noises from the guest rooms on either side. I knocked on the wall to get the two young women next door to me to stop talking loudly late at night. Fortunately, everyone settled down by about 11:30, but light sleepers would probably be miserable here. It's really too bad, because the room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the location was excellent and the price was good. But I doubt I will stay here on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

H*ll's Kitchen has fabulous breakfasts! Try their homemade peanut butter, which is served like a condiment. Yummy! I loved it so much, I bought a couple of jars to take home. (I had to use an asterisk because my initial attempt was rejected for "profanity," LOL!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C.F. Susie
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jun 2, 2014

A pleasant business trip

Appreciated the fact that they have a gym and a business center (with free printing). Close to most of the hotels/offices at downtown Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hen House is a safe choice during weekends while nothing else opens. Nice service, adequate food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lucazalu
Business
Campbell, CA
Oct 14, 2013

Great!!

Perfect location and great confort. Unfortunatelly breakfast and internet are not incuded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
student for life forever
Business
Detroit, Michiagn
Nov 20, 2012

Great room in a perfect location

This hotel was located in a perfect spot in downtown Minneapolis. It was close to many of the restaurants and close to the light rail so travel to and from the airport was very easy. Hotel staff was awesome and gave some great recommendations of places to see and to eat. I would recommend anyone stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Let Kids Play
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 30, 2010

Great business hotel, but...

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a conference. The room was beautiful. The breakfast was great. You had to pay for it. I also enjoyed the breakfast room service. Didn't love the dinner place--restaurant combined directly with a bar. After a long day of traveling, I wanted a quiet place to eat, not listen to the game. You can get to the Crowne Plaza through the skywalk. It is about a 15 minute walk. There are hotels that are closer. The major problem I had was that my computer was stolen out of my room. They are working hard to figure out who was in my room, but it was a lousy way to end a trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hells Kitchen, Brit's pub, a Mexican tapas place (can't remember the name), Bombay Place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 21, 2010

Crowne Plaza

Super friendly staff. I was able to extend check-out so I could receive a phone interview in my room. Very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Sak's Outlet Shop!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
May 25, 2010

Comfortable Business Trip

Hotel was comfortable; Minneapolis is a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ocasional Minnisotan
Business
Greater Philadelphia, PA
May 23, 2010

Crowne Plaza Northstar a Disappointment

This was my third stay and will be my last. Elevators require room keys which are incredibly easily demagnetized. [...] includes breakfast, but on Saturday staff was totally overwhelmed and couldn't handle demand. Had to eat elsewhere, although desk offered to refund money for voucher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is just south of the Nicolette Mall, which has wonderful outdoor dining starting just two to three blocks north. Also walking distance from Target Field.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimiG
Business
Westland, MI
Apr 16, 2010

Great hotel, terrible internet service

The hotel was fine and the staff friendly and accommodating. The internet service was terrible, you have to pay Eco-stream $9.95 per day their billing worked flawlessly but I spent 3 calls and over 90 minutes on the phone with their tech support, missed my deadline for entering orders and still had no service or credit issued. I stayed on Executive Floor, was awakened at 2:45 AM by a drunk woman pounding on doors and yelling in the hall. None of these things were the fault of the local staff who were very friendly. I would probably stay here again except for the terrible internet service,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Ed
Business
New Jersey
Apr 9, 2010

Very Nice

Nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search