$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

3 stars
618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
99 reviews
Couldn't get any better

Close to metro rail, great food, skyway accessible, secure rooms, great room rates. See full review

  • Masoj
  • Dec 2, 2014
was Good

Great price for the location. Staff was friendly and rooms were comfy. Building is connected to the... See full review

  • Rybrrrrrrr
  • Aug 31, 2014
Beautiful outdoor courtyard and prime downtown connection

Offering superb service and unrivaled amenities, the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis Downtown (Northstar) is a top choice for business and leisure guests. The hotel's prime location is within blocks of city treasures like the Walker Art Center, Nicollet Mall and the Guthrie Theatre. The AAA Three Diamond rated hotel scores especially high with business travelers for its ample event space and top-notch Business Center. Take advantage of the 24-hour fitness center, then unwind at the on-site Cafe Northstar fireplace lounge.

Highlights

  • Walking walking distance to area restaurants, entertainment and shopping
  • Connected on the seventh floor to the climate-controlled Skyway
  • Picturesque outdoor Skygarden open during Spring, Summer and Fall


Rooms

The Crowne Plaza's 222 luxurious guest rooms are dressed in a maple tones with sophisticated touches and plush beds. Rooms include high-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply), ample work desk and flat-screen TV. The pretty marble bathrooms include a multi-feature shower head, Renew Botanicals bath amenities and vanity mirror. Executive Club Level rooms at the downtown Crowne Plaza Minneapolis include exclusive access to the Executive Lounge, a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, cocktails and hors d'oeuvres.

Features

The contemporary fitness center offers state-of-the-art facilities with aerobic and anaerobic exercise equipment, resistance training machines and free weights.Reward a workout or start an adventurous day at the on-site Cafe Northstar. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Cafe Northstar offers casual dining and a cozy fireside eating area and bar. Located on the seventh floor, the restaurant is also connected to the Minneapolis Skyway. Or visit the Krona Bar and Grill for savory American Mediterranean cuisine and be sure to check out the bountiful wine list. The Crowne Plaza Minneapolis Downtown (Northstar) is within 2.5 blocks of two Light Rail stations, which can take visitors to virtually anywhere in the Twin Cities, including the Mall of America and MSP Airport.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (13.1 mi /21 km)

Attractions

  • Nicollet Mall (0.5 mi /0.8 km)
  • Target Center (0.5 mi /0.75 km)
  • Metrodome (0.9 mi /1.5 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Orchestra Hall (1 mi /1.7 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (1.1 mi /1.8 km)
  • Stone Arch Bridge and St. Anthony Falls (1.9 mi /3 km)
  • Mall of America (10.8 mi /17.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (11.1 mi /17.9 km)

Business

  • 12 conference rooms
  • Business Center features two computer workstations and printing capabilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.3 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 4 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 5 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5 mi

Dining

Cafe Northstar
Located on the 7th FLoor with a full menu available for Breakfast and Lunch Daily . Casual restaurant modeled in the style of a contemporary European Scandinavian restaurant.
Krona Bar and Grill
Located on lobby level with afFull lunch and dinner menu available 7 days a week from 11am to Midnight featuring contemporary American Cuisine
Krona Lounge
Choose among a connoisseur's collection of spirits, a complete wine bar and more than 30 ales & beers in our Krona Lounge. Relax in the comfort of the newly appointed living room-style seating before a fireplace and enjoy the vibrant street scene as you s

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 99
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 25, 2009

Terrible customer service

This hotel is full of hidden fees. They want to charge you for everything. We wanted a refridgerator, they wanted $25. For room service we were charged 17% gratuity AND a delivery fee. They also consider Sunday as a weekday so instead of getting charged $6 for parking ( the weekend rate) we were charged $20. When we asked to have our take- out warmed up, the staff member told us that we would sue them if the food was spoiled even though we only wanted it warmed up. Then when we had car problems and asked the front desk if they offer a service to jump our car, she told us that they do not offer it because we would sue them if something went wrong. This hotel was pretty, but surrounded in construction and had just aweful service. I wouldn't stay here again if I got paid to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daniellenchloe
Business
Mpls mn
Aug 26, 2013

night out with siblings

I booked a room with 2 double beds. upon checking in, the front desk talked so fast I had no idea that she said we had a room with just 1 king sized bed. Was very unimpressed with the lack of care for what I purchased online. For how much I paid for this room I should have gottensome kind of acknowledgement , refund of some sort or an apology. Probably will never stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Twin Cities Visitor
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 10, 2009

A Fine Centrally Located Place to Stay

The hotel was centrally located for what we wanted. The bed was very comfortable. Wifi wasn't free, but there was a free business center with internet. Weekend parking was reasonably priced at $11/night. Really, if you want a pleasant place to sleep while you spend the day exploring the Twin Cities, this was a good choice. Very close to Nicollete Mall, which was handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kp81
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 7, 2009

Nice hotel, but nothing fancy.

At 5AM, we were woken up by the people next door (walls were paper thin). Carpets were dirty. Service was good though - not a great hotel, but an okay hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SA TX
Apr 22, 2010

Crowne Plaza, Mpls DWTN

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is near the new public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ana_cutie05
Business
Vail, IA
Dec 1, 2009

Game Day getaway

We came up to the Viking football game. It was a very nice hotel but there was a party going on down the hall from our room. They were really loud. I didnt get much sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viking Mark
Business
Wauwatosa, WI
Dec 14, 2010

Very nice hotel, well located

Nice hotel, nice beds, great bathroom. Only downside was no free in room internet connection

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nicely located. Near downtown Minneapolis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tennis tony
Business
Honolulu, hi
Nov 10, 2010

Gr8t hotel

Great room. Good size, clean, perfect location to downtown attractions, target center and metronome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for every attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
May 7, 2010

"Unbeatable location for the price"

Enjoyed our stay, room didn't get cleaned by 4 when we returned to our rooms for the night. Cleaned up for dinner went out and still no house keeping came. Other than that it was a pleasant trip and room, 3 1/2 star I've stayed at 5 star Hotels. Would come back though. Came to see Daughter graduate from College from Southern California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Masa was a foody's heaven for the pallet. couldn't get enough of their amazing flavors. 5 star Chef there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Willmar
Nov 3, 2009

excellent location for dining & shopping

we were able to check in 1 hour earlier so we could get early dining and then get to the Gopher football game

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top