$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 22, 2014

Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

3 stars
618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
97 reviews
was Good

Great price for the location. Staff was friendly and rooms were comfy. Building is connected to the... See full review

  • Rybrrrrrrr
  • Aug 31, 2014
Great!!

Perfect location and great confort. Unfortunatelly breakfast and internet are not incuded. See full review

  • lucazalu
  • Oct 14, 2013
Beautiful outdoor courtyard and prime downtown connection

Offering superb service and unrivaled amenities, the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis Downtown (Northstar) is a top choice for business and leisure guests. The hotel's prime location is within blocks of city treasures like the Walker Art Center, Nicollet Mall and the Guthrie Theatre. The AAA Three Diamond rated hotel scores especially high with business travelers for its ample event space and top-notch Business Center. Take advantage of the 24-hour fitness center, then unwind at the on-site Cafe Northstar fireplace lounge.

Highlights

  • Walking walking distance to area restaurants, entertainment and shopping
  • Connected on the seventh floor to the climate-controlled Skyway
  • Picturesque outdoor Skygarden open during Spring, Summer and Fall


Rooms

The Crowne Plaza's 222 luxurious guest rooms are dressed in a maple tones with sophisticated touches and plush beds. Rooms include high-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply), ample work desk and flat-screen TV. The pretty marble bathrooms include a multi-feature shower head, Renew Botanicals bath amenities and vanity mirror. Executive Club Level rooms at the downtown Crowne Plaza Minneapolis include exclusive access to the Executive Lounge, a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, cocktails and hors d'oeuvres.

Features

The contemporary fitness center offers state-of-the-art facilities with aerobic and anaerobic exercise equipment, resistance training machines and free weights.Reward a workout or start an adventurous day at the on-site Cafe Northstar. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Cafe Northstar offers casual dining and a cozy fireside eating area and bar. Located on the seventh floor, the restaurant is also connected to the Minneapolis Skyway. Or visit the Krona Bar and Grill for savory American Mediterranean cuisine and be sure to check out the bountiful wine list. The Crowne Plaza Minneapolis Downtown (Northstar) is within 2.5 blocks of two Light Rail stations, which can take visitors to virtually anywhere in the Twin Cities, including the Mall of America and MSP Airport.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (13.1 mi /21 km)

Attractions

  • Nicollet Mall (0.5 mi /0.8 km)
  • Target Center (0.5 mi /0.75 km)
  • Metrodome (0.9 mi /1.5 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Orchestra Hall (1 mi /1.7 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (1.1 mi /1.8 km)
  • Stone Arch Bridge and St. Anthony Falls (1.9 mi /3 km)
  • Mall of America (10.8 mi /17.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (11.1 mi /17.9 km)

Business

  • 12 conference rooms
  • Business Center features two computer workstations and printing capabilities

Hotel Map

44.9762 -93.2697
Nearby airports
Minneapolis Saint Paul International, (MSP), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.3 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 4 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 5 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5 mi

Dining

Cafe Northstar
Casual restaurant modeled in the style of a contemporary European Scandinavian restaurant.
Krona Lounge
Choose among a connoisseur's collection of spirits, a complete wine bar and more than 30 ales & beers in our Krona Lounge. Relax in the comfort of the newly appointed living room-style seating before a fireplace and enjoy the vibrant street scene as you s

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (97)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SA TX
Apr 22, 2010

Crowne Plaza, Mpls DWTN

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is near the new public transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Su K
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 19, 2009

Great price for downtown hotel

We booked on the Executive level so we had 24 hr access to the Executive Lounge which was very nice. The hotel is close to the light rail and skyway. The staff were very nice and helped with directions and recommendations. I was disappointed to find out that you do not get the same perks when you book on [...] compared to if you booked directly with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jul 26, 2009

Nice Central Spot

Good location, close to a lot of what Minneapolis has to offer (nice access to skyway). Lots of construction around and the noise came into the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ana_cutie05
Business
Vail, IA
Dec 1, 2009

Game Day getaway

We came up to the Viking football game. It was a very nice hotel but there was a party going on down the hall from our room. They were really loud. I didnt get much sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
May 27, 2009

Great Hotel

We were staying in Minneapolis for a wedding, and this was the best deal, by far, for any hotel located in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viking Mark
Business
Wauwatosa, WI
Dec 14, 2010

Very nice hotel, well located

Nice hotel, nice beds, great bathroom. Only downside was no free in room internet connection

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nicely located. Near downtown Minneapolis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TryingToCatchUpOnSleep
Business
Montevideo, MN
Mar 6, 2011

Nice facility, but NOISY

We were 'lucky enough' to be put on a floor that had several rooms reserved by a group of 20-25 year olds. The partying, door banging, loud TVs and music began at 10:30pm. I complained at 11:30, and 12:30, and 1:30am. At 3:00am, security was making the rounds but there was no way they were going to get control. My wife went down to the desk to inform them that we would not be paying for this room. FINALLY, they offered to move us to another floor, which we did...at 3:30am. Since we had to be up at 7:00 that was a MISERABLE night's stay. Mind you, I have no complaints about the hotel and rooms. They were very nice. But my complaint is that they would allow SEVERAL rooms on one floor to be reserved by young people. Go ahead and take their money, but then don't put an unassuming couple on the same floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to "Block E" restaurants and bars. Good if you want to go there, bad if you're on a floor full of 30-40 drunken 20-somethings. (The bars are open 'til 2:00am)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Let Kids Play
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Oct 30, 2010

Great business hotel, but...

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a conference. The room was beautiful. The breakfast was great. You had to pay for it. I also enjoyed the breakfast room service. Didn't love the dinner place--restaurant combined directly with a bar. After a long day of traveling, I wanted a quiet place to eat, not listen to the game. You can get to the Crowne Plaza through the skywalk. It is about a 15 minute walk. There are hotels that are closer. The major problem I had was that my computer was stolen out of my room. They are working hard to figure out who was in my room, but it was a lousy way to end a trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hells Kitchen, Brit's pub, a Mexican tapas place (can't remember the name), Bombay Place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tennis tony
Business
Honolulu, hi
Nov 10, 2010

Gr8t hotel

Great room. Good size, clean, perfect location to downtown attractions, target center and metronome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for every attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jayrdub
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 6, 2011

Quality Big City Hotel

My wife ran in the Minneapolis Marathon and the hotel was more than accommodating. The hotel recognized the special circumstances behind running in a marathon and allowed for a much later check out. The hotel is well within walking distance of everything that downtown has to offer, as well as being close to the excellent public transportation hubs. Hotel staff was very helpful and pleasant and the rooms are nice. I am recommending this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty to do and just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top