$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

3 stars
618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
95 reviews
was Good

Great price for the location. Staff was friendly and rooms were comfy. Building is connected to the... See full review

  • Rybrrrrrrr
  • Aug 31, 2014
Great!!

Perfect location and great confort. Unfortunatelly breakfast and internet are not incuded. See full review

  • lucazalu
  • Oct 14, 2013
Beautiful outdoor courtyard and prime downtown connection

Offering superb service and unrivaled amenities, the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis Downtown (Northstar) is a top choice for business and leisure guests. The hotel's prime location is within blocks of city treasures like the Walker Art Center, Nicollet Mall and the Guthrie Theatre. The AAA Three Diamond rated hotel scores especially high with business travelers for its ample event space and top-notch Business Center. Take advantage of the 24-hour fitness center, then unwind at the on-site Cafe Northstar fireplace lounge.

Highlights

  • Walking walking distance to area restaurants, entertainment and shopping
  • Connected on the seventh floor to the climate-controlled Skyway
  • Picturesque outdoor Skygarden open during Spring, Summer and Fall


Rooms

The Crowne Plaza's 222 luxurious guest rooms are dressed in a maple tones with sophisticated touches and plush beds. Rooms include high-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply), ample work desk and flat-screen TV. The pretty marble bathrooms include a multi-feature shower head, Renew Botanicals bath amenities and vanity mirror. Executive Club Level rooms at the downtown Crowne Plaza Minneapolis include exclusive access to the Executive Lounge, a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, cocktails and hors d'oeuvres.

Features

The contemporary fitness center offers state-of-the-art facilities with aerobic and anaerobic exercise equipment, resistance training machines and free weights.Reward a workout or start an adventurous day at the on-site Cafe Northstar. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Cafe Northstar offers casual dining and a cozy fireside eating area and bar. Located on the seventh floor, the restaurant is also connected to the Minneapolis Skyway. Or visit the Krona Bar and Grill for savory American Mediterranean cuisine and be sure to check out the bountiful wine list. The Crowne Plaza Minneapolis Downtown (Northstar) is within 2.5 blocks of two Light Rail stations, which can take visitors to virtually anywhere in the Twin Cities, including the Mall of America and MSP Airport.

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (13.1 mi /21 km)

Attractions

  • Nicollet Mall (0.5 mi /0.8 km)
  • Target Center (0.5 mi /0.75 km)
  • Metrodome (0.9 mi /1.5 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Orchestra Hall (1 mi /1.7 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (1.1 mi /1.8 km)
  • Stone Arch Bridge and St. Anthony Falls (1.9 mi /3 km)
  • Mall of America (10.8 mi /17.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (11.1 mi /17.9 km)

Business

  • 12 conference rooms
  • Business Center features two computer workstations and printing capabilities

Hotel Map

44.9762 -93.2697
Nearby airports
Minneapolis Saint Paul International, (MSP), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.3 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 4 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 5 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5 mi

Dining

Cafe Northstar
Casual restaurant modeled in the style of a contemporary European Scandinavian restaurant.
Krona Lounge
Choose among a connoisseur's collection of spirits, a complete wine bar and more than 30 ales & beers in our Krona Lounge. Relax in the comfort of the newly appointed living room-style seating before a fireplace and enjoy the vibrant street scene as you s

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IHP
North Dakota
Nov 22, 2010

Great staff, clean room, but...

The hotel staff were all so nice and helpful and the rooms were clean, despite the hallway outside the room having a really weird, bad smell. Luckily it didn't go into the room at all. The noise level at this hotel, though, is crazy. Due to its prime location it was very busy and party central- you know its bad when you receive earplugs on your bed when you arrive. However, I do have to say that the staff took care of any issues immediately! So its a good place to stay if you don't have an issue with noise. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Katherine in Virginia
Business
Northern Virginia
Jul 12, 2014

Great hotel except for the noise

The Crown Plaza was great in all ways but one, and I don't think there is much they can do about it. The walls are thin and the doors are not soundproof. You can hear everything that is being said in the halls and you can even hear talking and other noises from the guest rooms on either side. I knocked on the wall to get the two young women next door to me to stop talking loudly late at night. Fortunately, everyone settled down by about 11:30, but light sleepers would probably be miserable here. It's really too bad, because the room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the location was excellent and the price was good. But I doubt I will stay here on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

H*ll's Kitchen has fabulous breakfasts! Try their homemade peanut butter, which is served like a condiment. Yummy! I loved it so much, I bought a couple of jars to take home. (I had to use an asterisk because my initial attempt was rejected for "profanity," LOL!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eagan, MN
Aug 7, 2011

Good location, not great rooms

Went to Twins game and enjoyed downtown nightlife. Trip was good oveall. Room spelled old/smoker's room We were given a handicap room, shower was very awkward. We were travelling as a couple and received 2 double beds instead of a king. Not the greatest for comfort Did like that they provided linen spray on for you to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to most fun night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
allentown,pa
Jan 19, 2010

Nice hotel besides water pressure

Overall a very nice hotel. Only complaint was the shower water pressure. Pressure was near a trickle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of fun nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Twin Cities Visitor
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 10, 2009

A Fine Centrally Located Place to Stay

The hotel was centrally located for what we wanted. The bed was very comfortable. Wifi wasn't free, but there was a free business center with internet. Weekend parking was reasonably priced at $11/night. Really, if you want a pleasant place to sleep while you spend the day exploring the Twin Cities, this was a good choice. Very close to Nicollete Mall, which was handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Feb 22, 2010

About what we expected

We have always wanted to go to the Mall of America. We chose a downtown hotel because we thought there would be more to do. The hotel met our expectations. Rooms were very nice perhaps a little smaller than I expected. The beds were extremely comfortable and the shower was top notch. As you would expect in mid-February, not many guest so it was quite. Overall, we were satisfied with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Skyway system is very convenient but for first time users it can be confusing. It took us a couple of tries to get our bearings. For those of you who do not know the "Skyway" is a system of walkways that connect the various buildings in downtown Minneapolis. Also, I don't know if it was because it was winter but the little walk in restaurants around our hotel closed after lunch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laker Lover
Sioux Falls, SD
Feb 3, 2013

Laker's Getaway

The Crowne was the perfect location to attend our event at Target Center. We were able to get to the target center without going outside. Anita at the front desk was very helpful with a map of the skywalk and telling us what time it closed at night. The front desk will also provide you a ticket so parking is only $11 per night at the hotel. The room was comfortable, the walls seemed somewhat thin, but we didn't have too many noise issues (on 15th floor). The bar in the looby was a nice place to hang out before and after the game with nice food and drinks. Very cozy with the fireplace. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the skywalk to get around!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Travel Mom and Dad
Minneapolis, mn
Sep 21, 2014

Below Average Stay

Average. Was expecting a wow experience. Hotel is dated, bathroom was old...fixtures, tile, overall design....bathroom was also dirty, calking around everything was excessive like it was covering something. The room itself had a funny smell...very musty almost moldy. We decided to stay at this property vs another down the street and honestly we made a mistake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iowan mom on niteout
Iowa
Feb 10, 2014

Good location don't expect much.

Booked a cheap room so I'm not disappointed. Thin walls, no hot tub or pool. Staff helpful. Room service prompt and courteous. If needed cheap room would do again - nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ocasional Minnisotan
Business
Greater Philadelphia, PA
May 23, 2010

Crowne Plaza Northstar a Disappointment

This was my third stay and will be my last. Elevators require room keys which are incredibly easily demagnetized. [...] includes breakfast, but on Saturday staff was totally overwhelmed and couldn't handle demand. Had to eat elsewhere, although desk offered to refund money for voucher.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is just south of the Nicolette Mall, which has wonderful outdoor dining starting just two to three blocks north. Also walking distance from Target Field.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top