$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

3 stars
View map of 618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
97 reviews
Excellent Outing to the Twins

We stayed overnight on 5-2-15 after a Twins game. The hotel was very conveniently located. Parking... See full review

  • Rochester55901
  • May 5, 2015
great night getaway

Great staff and they were able to check me in a few hours early which i really appreciated after a... See full review

  • Sarah T.
  • Apr 10, 2015

Offering superb service and unrivaled amenities, the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis Downtown (Northstar) is a top choice for business and leisure guests. The hotel's prime location is within blocks of city treasures like the Walker Art Center, Nicollet Mall and the Guthrie Theatre. The AAA Three Diamond rated hotel scores especially high with business travelers for its ample event space and top-notch Business Center. Take advantage of the 24-hour fitness center, then unwind at the on-site Cafe Northstar fireplace lounge.

Rooms

The Crowne Plaza's 222 luxurious guest rooms are dressed in a maple tones with sophisticated touches and plush beds. Rooms include high-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply), ample work desk and flat-screen TV. The pretty marble bathrooms include a multi-feature shower head, Renew Botanicals bath amenities and vanity mirror. Executive Club Level rooms at the downtown Crowne Plaza Minneapolis include exclusive access to the Executive Lounge, a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, cocktails and hors d'oeuvres.

Property features

The contemporary fitness center offers state-of-the-art facilities with aerobic and anaerobic exercise equipment, resistance training machines and free weights.Reward a workout or start an adventurous day at the on-site Cafe Northstar. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Cafe Northstar offers casual dining and a cozy fireside eating area and bar. Located on the seventh floor, the restaurant is also connected to the Minneapolis Skyway. Or visit the Krona Bar and Grill for savory American Mediterranean cuisine and be sure to check out the bountiful wine list. The Crowne Plaza Minneapolis Downtown (Northstar) is within 2.5 blocks of two Light Rail stations, which can take visitors to virtually anywhere in the Twin Cities, including the Mall of America and MSP Airport.

Highlights

  • Walking walking distance to area restaurants, entertainment and shopping
  • Connected on the seventh floor to the climate-controlled Skyway
  • Picturesque outdoor Skygarden open during Spring, Summer and Fall


Nearby attractions

  • Nicollet Mall (0.5 mi /0.8 km)
  • Target Center (0.5 mi /0.75 km)
  • Metrodome (0.9 mi /1.5 km)
  • Minneapolis Convention Center (0.9 mi /1.4 km)
  • Orchestra Hall (1 mi /1.7 km)
  • Guthrie Theatre (1.1 mi /1.8 km)
  • Stone Arch Bridge and St. Anthony Falls (1.9 mi /3 km)
  • Mall of America (10.8 mi /17.4 km)
  • Downtown St. Paul (11.1 mi /17.9 km)

Business

  • 12 conference rooms
  • Business Center features two computer workstations and printing capabilities

Transportation

  • Minneapolis-St. Paul International Airport (13.1 mi /21 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.3 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 4 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 5 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5 mi

Dining

Cafe Northstar
Located on the 7th FLoor with a full menu available for Breakfast and Lunch Daily . Casual restaurant modeled in the style of a contemporary European Scandinavian restaurant.
Krona Bar and Grill
Located on lobby level with afFull lunch and dinner menu available 7 days a week from 11am to Midnight featuring contemporary American Cuisine
Krona Lounge
Choose among a connoisseur's collection of spirits, a complete wine bar and more than 30 ales & beers in our Krona Lounge. Relax in the comfort of the newly appointed living room-style seating before a fireplace and enjoy the vibrant street scene as you s

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 8, 2007

Friendly, but not very accomadating.

The Crown Plaza was a nice hotel. How ever the room was not fully cleaned. Food was found through out the room. You could clearly smell smoke in the room. When I asked for some compensation the next morning none was given. I could not see myself going back to this hotel......I am at a lose why the room was in such bad shape and why nothing was done to make me feel better in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is with in walking distance and you can use the skywalk system.

Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 25, 2009

Terrible customer service

This hotel is full of hidden fees. They want to charge you for everything. We wanted a refridgerator, they wanted $25. For room service we were charged 17% gratuity AND a delivery fee. They also consider Sunday as a weekday so instead of getting charged $6 for parking ( the weekend rate) we were charged $20. When we asked to have our take- out warmed up, the staff member told us that we would sue them if the food was spoiled even though we only wanted it warmed up. Then when we had car problems and asked the front desk if they offer a service to jump our car, she told us that they do not offer it because we would sue them if something went wrong. This hotel was pretty, but surrounded in construction and had just aweful service. I wouldn't stay here again if I got paid to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
denver, co
Nov 23, 2009

No Points, elevator rumbles your room!

Found a great price through [...], but was told I couldn't accrue Priority Points due to the discounted rate. I was told I should have booked through them at a significantly higher cost to be eligible for points. Room was seriously discounted BUT there was a ton of construction (took forever to get out of the parking garage!!) and you could hear the elevator traverse like it was in the room with you. I was reluctant to complain due to the great rate, but no points on top of the lousy room really made the stay less than pleasurable. Wont be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
b_randi
Business
Winnipeg, Mb
Aug 15, 2009

SURPRISE! We're jackhammering ALL DAY!

After driving all night, we arrived with plans for a quick shower and a long nap before we hit the town. Unfortunatly, the hotels parking garage was undergoing some renovations, which entailed ALL DAY LONG JACKHAMMERING and went on until 6pm (Why didn't Orbitz warn us?). When we found out, we asked for a refund so we could move on and get some sleep at a quieter locale. However, according to the clerk, since we booked through Orbitz we were uneligable for any refunds! Great. We were stuck there, unable to rest and off to a very terrible start to our vacation. Thanks Crowne Plaza & Orbitz for screwing us royally. NEVER AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Daniellenchloe
Business
Mpls mn
Aug 26, 2013

night out with siblings

I booked a room with 2 double beds. upon checking in, the front desk talked so fast I had no idea that she said we had a room with just 1 king sized bed. Was very unimpressed with the lack of care for what I purchased online. For how much I paid for this room I should have gottensome kind of acknowledgement , refund of some sort or an apology. Probably will never stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr.TB
Business
Chicago
Oct 13, 2014

Room ok but bad service

We spent one night in the hotel, wen my daughter asked for some stuff the service person was not corteous. We was to give a 3 stars but for the service we are giving just 2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Iowan mom on niteout
Business
Iowa
Feb 10, 2014

Good location don't expect much.

Booked a cheap room so I'm not disappointed. Thin walls, no hot tub or pool. Staff helpful. Room service prompt and courteous. If needed cheap room would do again - nice location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laker Lover
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Feb 3, 2013

Laker's Getaway

The Crowne was the perfect location to attend our event at Target Center. We were able to get to the target center without going outside. Anita at the front desk was very helpful with a map of the skywalk and telling us what time it closed at night. The front desk will also provide you a ticket so parking is only $11 per night at the hotel. The room was comfortable, the walls seemed somewhat thin, but we didn't have too many noise issues (on 15th floor). The bar in the looby was a nice place to hang out before and after the game with nice food and drinks. Very cozy with the fireplace. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the skywalk to get around!

Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pottery
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Mar 30, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Very Nice room. We ordered a pizza to our room, and it came quick and was awesome!!! However, the room was very warm and we could not get it to cool down. Also, when they cleaned our room, they did most of it but never finished making the bed and giving us new towels either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Worth, TX.
Oct 6, 2009

Friend's Wedding

My wife and I went to Minneapolis for my friend's wedding last weedend. I read the reviews on the hotel before we booked it and it sounded nice. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Our room actually shared a wall with the elevator shaft, which sounded like rolling thunder the whole time. Another thing that wasn't cool was when we got our room service bill. We had room service twice on our stay. Nowhere on the menu our any literature does it say that there is a delivery charge. So I pretty much ended up tipping twice on both occasions. I explained to the front desk,while I was checking out, that my bill was atleast $30 more than it should be and that's when I first heard of the delivery charge. It probably wouldn't have bothered me if it wasn't such a surprise. I just wouldn't tip $30 for $30 worth of food. To top it off, the guy that delivers our food starts making comments. They were in regards to how loud the elevator is and what sexual sounds that it would drown out. [...] At the end of it all, the man at the front desk took off $7 to make our tab $81. That's it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the 112 Eatery and Rock Bottoms Micro Brewery. Both were great and highly recommended.

Back to menu Return to top