$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

3 stars
618 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
93 reviews
was Good

Great price for the location. Staff was friendly and rooms were comfy. Building is connected to the... See full review

  • Rybrrrrrrr
  • Aug 31, 2014
Great!!

Perfect location and great confort. Unfortunatelly breakfast and internet are not incuded. See full review

  • lucazalu
  • Oct 14, 2013
Downtown Minneapolis Hotel's Location is the Best Centered in the vibrant heart of downtown Minneapolis, our hotel's location, superb service and unrivaled amenities make the Crowne Plaza® Minneapolis - Northstar hotel the best. Corporate travelers appreciate our hotel's downtown Minneapolis location near major corporations. Being within 2.5 blocks of two light rail stations makes it easy to get to meetings anywhere in the Twin Cities. We're considered "The Place To Meet "thanks to 10,000 sq ft of unique event space, an excellent business center and an outstanding Crowne Meetings Director and staff. Minneapolis is home to world-class cultural icons like the Walker Art Center and Guthrie Theatre, plus 56 terrific museums. With professional teams playing at Target Field, Target Center and Xcel Energy Center, concert venues and cutting-edge shopping at Mall of America, there's truly something for each of our hotel's guests in downtown Minneapolis. And the climate-controlled, glass Skyway System connects you to everything from our hotel. No matter what brings you to the Twin Cities, our hotel's amenities make your downtown Minneapolis visit memorable. From the unique sleep perks of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage® Program to the sleek style of our Café Northstar, we're one-of-a-kind. Take advantage of the 24-hour fitness center, and then spend a relaxing hour or two by the fireplace in our lounge. We look forward to serving you!

Hotel Map

44.9762 -93.2697
Nearby airports
Minneapolis Saint Paul International, (MSP), 12.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Foshay Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Peavey Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Orpheum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Target Center: 0.4 mi
  • Minneapolis Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Target Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome: 0.6 mi
  • Mill City Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Guthrie Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Stone Arch Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Basilica of St. Mary: 0.8 mi
  • Minneapolis Sculpture Garden: 1 mi
  • Minneapolis Institute of Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Children's Theatre Company: 1.2 mi
  • American Swedish Institute: 1.4 mi
  • Weisman Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Minnesota: 1.9 mi
  • Williams Arena: 2 mi
  • Mariucci Arena: 2 mi
  • Lake of the Isles: 2.1 mi
  • TCF Bank Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Eloise Butler Wildflower Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Lakewood Cemetery: 3.3 mi
  • The Bakken Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Rose Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Lake Harriet Band Shell: 3.8 mi
  • Riverview Theater: 4 mi
  • Lake Harriet: 4.1 mi
  • Minnehaha Park: 5 mi
  • The Museum of Russian Art: 5 mi

Dining

Cafe Northstar
Casual restaurant modeled in the style of a contemporary European Scandinavian restaurant.
Krona Lounge
Choose among a connoisseur's collection of spirits, a complete wine bar and more than 30 ales & beers in our Krona Lounge. Relax in the comfort of the newly appointed living room-style seating before a fireplace and enjoy the vibrant street scene as you s

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pasadena, CA
May 27, 2009

Great Hotel

We were staying in Minneapolis for a wedding, and this was the best deal, by far, for any hotel located in downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MUFINALFOUR
Milwaukee, WI
May 25, 2009

Great Stay

Great location GREAT PRICE!!! Free upgrade as all king beds were reserved. Easy walk to everything downtown. Clean room, clean hotel. Recommended highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flippingfun
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 23, 2009

Stayed 4 nights

Excellent staff and service. Very clean. Not hard to get to but it is right in the heart of the activity and traffic in downtown Minneapolis. Parking is in a garage and that was hard to find the first night. Google map directions take you from airport to Hiawatha Road, which becomes another street (but the map didn't say that). So I got lost the first night, too. Always, always know your car color and exact location before leaving it for the first night. With a rental, I didn't and I couldn't find it in the a.m. The parking garage is old and a sort of maze inside. Since you were downtown, they provided earplugs which was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There were numerous dining places and you could get to them through the skywalk system (nice, if it's cold) by walking. Some were a really long ways off and as a woman alone, I didn't feel safe walking late at night through the skywalk. So I used hotel dining a lot. The food was good, but not great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 6, 2009

Value for the Dollar

The Crowne Plaza Hotel in downtown Minneapolis was a very pleasant discovery. We found the staff helpful and courteous (no surprise in a city that prides itself on being nice). However, on the night we checked in (a holiday), there was no doorman and no bellhop, which surprised me. I was impressed though to receive a call from the desk within 10 minutes of checking in to make sure everything was all right with our room. Additionally, I had a chance encounter on an elevator with a maintenance man who asked if everything was working properly in our room. He genuinely wanted to know and seemed ready to address any problems we might have. The restaurant was quite basic, though just fine for our needs (two breakfasts), and again, the staff was terrific. The hotel's access to the skyway system linking most of downtown Minneapolis together is a major plus in zero degree weather such as we encountered. I wish parking had been less expensive, but we did have in-and-out privileges which we used extensively. All in all, this hotel provides excellent value for the dollar and we would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All stores are connected via the skyway system, so one never needs to go outside amid the frozen tundra.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver
Nov 27, 2008

My review of Crowne Plaza Hotel MINNEAPOLIS-DWTN (NORTHSTAR)

The staff was very accomodating offering a late checkout and a friendly check in. The bartender was entertaining and the abmience very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
International Fal
Oct 12, 2008

My review of Crowne Plaza Hotel MINNEAPOLIS-DWTN (NORTHSTAR)

The hotel was easy to find, close to the Metrodome for football and baseball games. It is also within walking distance of Nicollet Mall and Hennipin for down town events and dining out. We will definitely consider the Crown Plaza the next time we go to a ball game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Calgary
Jun 15, 2008

Location, Location, Location

Crowne Plaza Hotel MINNEAPOLIS-DWTN (NORTHSTAR)is ideal for a stay. It is a clean and comfortable hotel that is situated right downtown. It's location to shopping and the downtown core are absolutely fantastic and I recommend it for anyone staying downtown Minneapolis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Mall is a must!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Proud Pappa
Business
Des Moines, IA
Feb 17, 2008

Parking & easy access

We found the parking and access through the skywalk system to be great. The staff was very attentive and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 8, 2007

Friendly, but not very accomadating.

The Crown Plaza was a nice hotel. How ever the room was not fully cleaned. Food was found through out the room. You could clearly smell smoke in the room. When I asked for some compensation the next morning none was given. I could not see myself going back to this hotel......I am at a lose why the room was in such bad shape and why nothing was done to make me feel better in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is with in walking distance and you can use the skywalk system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza MINNEAPOLIS NORTHSTAR DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 4, 2007

Friendly staff, beautiful hotel

This is a beautiful hotel, very clean very upscale. They staff was very helpful and friendly. It was also a great value. The rooms were beautiful and the beds very comfortable. We had not stayed in this area and were a bit apprehensive as to the parking but it was easy to get to and easy to get out of. We will stay here again next year and would highly recommend this hotel to anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything you could want for eating and shopping is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search